Customer Reviews


262 Reviews
5 star:
 (89)
4 star:
 (51)
3 star:
 (36)
2 star:
 (32)
1 star:
 (54)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TEN Stars. Is this the most magnificently absurd film ever made ?
I wasn't drunk, honest.

Read the packaging for the description.

And giggle yourself into a stupor. The Sarah Palin-esque President. The second Generation NAZIs thinking they bring peace. The United Nations spoof. So many figures and caricatures lampooned.

Doctor Strangelove for a new generation, perhaps ? I know, not in that league for...
Published on 11 Nov 2012 by harpoon guns to 'safe', please

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars De-albiniser?...
In the last moments of World War II, a secret Nazi space program evades destruction by fleeing to the Dark Side of the Moon.

During 70 years of secrecy, the Nazis construct a gigantic space fortress shaped like a Swastika.

Not Forgetting a massive armada of flying saucers.....

Here in the Uk, this movie was only supposed to be showing for...
Published 9 months ago by Mr. Corey S. Newcombe


‹ Previous | 121 22 2327 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish, 28 Nov 2012
This review is from: Iron Sky [DVD] (DVD)
Do not waste your money on this DVD. When I saw it and read what the story was about, it sounded really good so I decided to buy (£7.00). Once I had watched it, I was glad I only spent a few pounds on this DVD. Take my advice do not bother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars fell for the hype, 16 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Iron Sky (Blu-ray + Digital Copy) (Blu-ray)
Well I think it was the fact that it was only at the cinema for one day but I jumped in with both feet. Iron Sky is one of the most stupid films I have ever seen. The story is bad the acting is bad. The special effects are actually pretty good but that doesn't save this at all. Simply I dont get it Nazi's on the moon taking over Earth and all they need are smart phones. You can get round many things in movies but this is too much. It touches on some pretty potentially sore subjects and not in a delicate way.
In closing wait for this to appear late at night on some obscure channel on sky t.v cause it really is not worth buying. Good effects but everything else is just too bad. Next time I'll leave it a while before I buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed the movie, even though it was not what I expected, 4 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Iron Sky (Blu-ray + Digital Copy) (Blu-ray)
I expected a straight out comedy playing to the stereotype of the Nazis, and while I got some of that, there was much more going. I expect it to become one of those cult movies, savoured for years to come. In one case I thought the actor cast in a main role was less than suitable. The very end of the movie was surprising and I thought poignant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's much better than you would expect it to be!, 3 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Iron Sky [DVD] (DVD)
Nizies from the moon. Can there be any more random ridiclousness that suprisingly turns out to be actually a really decent dvd. Suspend reality and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Delusione......in(aspettata)!, 20 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Iron Sky (Blu-ray + Digital Copy) (Blu-ray)
Che dire, ho seguito la nascita del film si può dire da 2 anni a questa parte, apparentemente l' idea sembrava buona, forse dovuto anche al fatto che i trailers messi in rete evidenziano.....soltanto le uniche seguenze esaltanti, o tali, di tutto il film. Dopo averlo visto, certo la lingua originale non aiuta, il mio giudizio è di tanto amaro in bocca per quello che poteva essere. I successo del film è dato molto dal lavoro di diffusione fatto da Timo e co. Un B movie ispirato a Tarantinoe poco più.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nazis on the moon, 16 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Iron Sky [DVD] (DVD)
Expected to be disappointed but found this film funny and entertaining, could have been better but I was engrossed watching Iron Sky and thought it worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 14 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Iron Sky [DVD] (DVD)
Ok, enjoyably daft
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars You'll love it or loathe it - I'm the latter., 22 Aug 2012
By 
Barry Ayton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Iron Sky (Blu-ray + Digital Copy) (Blu-ray)
This movie is an unfortunate miss-match of ideas.

The idea of a Nazi base on the moon is good, the semi-steampunk settings, the gritty grungy feel to the base - these all work well together and give you a feeling of an enjoyable movie.

Then they go and stuff it all up with stupid jokes that don't work, a redneck president who high-fives her second in command, a token cliché Negro who "talks the talk".
Then they have a woman, who has been brought up in a totally fascist environment, turn against the establishment and her fiancée.. as if!

The story has been written by a five year old, with a five year old's viewpoint of Negro street-speak and male-female relationships.
The acting ranges from OK to extremely hammy. It's difficult to say much about this - I feel that the script is so ludicrously moronic that I might be harsh in judging the actors; for e.g. the Negro actor is so pathetically hammy BUT that might be the way he's been told to act it (if so, the director needs to be banned from film making).

At the start of the movie they have an Apollo-style landing module delivering the Negro astronaut to the moon. By the end of the movie the Earth's nations suddenly all have Star Wars-style spaceships, complete with missiles and laser cannons.

The Nazi scientist inject the Negro astronaut with an "Albiniser" drug (which turns him white - albino.. albiniser.. get it?) - OK a stretch of imagination to think that they might have a few darker throwbacks in their Aryan purity..
BUT - and this is a big BUTT - why the hell would the scientist also have a "DE-albiniser".. Why would they want to take away the whiteness of their patient.
Also, please, bear in mind that when the black astronaut arrives they all act like they have NEVER seen a black man (including the 'wipe the skin to see if the colour comes off' and the "What's wrong with your skin" things) - so WHY would they have a drug for whitening dark skin or one to darken white skin?

This movie had SO much potential - if they'd JUST played it as a straight space-action-war movie it would have been completely enjoyable. Maybe not ground breaking and stellar but certainly 3-4 stars worth.
As it is, this is not even worth the cost of a blank DVD to pirate and copy the movie.
It is pathetic, childish, moronically acted and scripted. The 'jokes' are completely un-funny and the actions of people in the story are disconnected and out of sync with what they would be doing in the situation they are in (as i mentioned above with the Nazi girl). The US president acts like a trailer-trash redneck sheep-botherer - supposed to be funny, but it's just childish (hence the "written by a five year old" comment I made).

The fact that it has a great steam-punk style and the Nazi base and spaceship effects/models are better than average is NOT enough to pull this movie out of the sewer, where it belongs. If anything, these great settings and effects are highlighting just how bad the rest of the movie, acting and directing, are.

Don't waste 90-odd minutes of your life on this excrement. Do outside and watch clouds, walk along the beach, watch the grass grow, ANYTHING... anything.. just don't watch this crap!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not for me, 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Iron Sky (Blu-ray + Digital Copy) (Blu-ray)
Don't bother, first five minutes good the rest awful storyline music and acting terrible, Worst movie seen in a long time. A definite marmite film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars don't buy this rubbish, 3 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Iron Sky [DVD] (DVD)
I have a varied taste in films and will give most a fair airing. I read the reviews on this and thought "wow" must give this a try. I had a feeling after just 10 minutes it was going to be a load of old tosh ... and I was right. Complete waste of money and have given it away to charity for some one else to waste their money, but at least it will be going to a good cause.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 121 22 2327 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Iron Sky (Blu-ray + Digital Copy)
Iron Sky (Blu-ray + Digital Copy) by Timo Vuorensola (Blu-ray - 2012)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews