Customer Reviews


594 Reviews
5 star:
 (463)
4 star:
 (73)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (21)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


62 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbeatable performance per pound
I have several torches. Some are more elegant (these cheap Chinese makers do like a chunky bit of industrial metal for some reason!) Some are brighter... and heavier, and take more batteries. But none offer such a convenient and powerful package, overall. Torches are a bit like cameras... the best one is the one you have with you when you need it, and at this price you...
Published 13 months ago by Andrew McP

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It is not 350 lumen but much less maybe 150 lumen is a fairer assessment ?
I was impressed with this ,it works from one AA battery and offers three modes. Bright, less bright and strobe. I did not get an attachment to fit this product to my bike which may well have been a more sensible idea. Whilst living in a streetlighted area this would be ideal but to go for long rides through unlit roads maybe not ideal for this. ~ I also have a SERFAS 250...
Published 5 months ago by Damian Toole


‹ Previous | 1 260 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

62 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbeatable performance per pound, 15 Sep 2013
This review is from: CREE Q5 3W Led 350 Lumens mini Flashlight Zoomable Torch AA (Misc.)
I have several torches. Some are more elegant (these cheap Chinese makers do like a chunky bit of industrial metal for some reason!) Some are brighter... and heavier, and take more batteries. But none offer such a convenient and powerful package, overall. Torches are a bit like cameras... the best one is the one you have with you when you need it, and at this price you can afford to have a torch anywhere you might need it.

Being able to focus the beam makes this very useful. The wide angle is bright enough to provide good illumination over a small work area, or dimly light up a room, and the tight beam -- while square and LED-shaped -- is very bright over a very small area, and offers good throw over a distance.

Clearly it's not going to replace the various super-powered torches you can buy for very reasonable prices these days, but this pocketable beast is now my go-to torch. In an ideal world I'd trim some of the weight off the chunky case, but it'd be rude to complain for this money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Importance of Using the Correct Battery for the Job, 24 Jun 2014
This review is from: CREE Q5 3W Led 350 Lumens mini Flashlight Zoomable Torch AA (Misc.)
CREE Q5 3W Led 350 Lumens mini Flashlight Zoomable Torch AA

There does seem to be some confusion in the review pages about the batteries this torch will accept. It is designed to operate on a single 3.7V battery - available as rechargeable or one-use lithium ion. The control circuit of the torch is designed to extend battery life by continuing to deliver the correct current to the LED even when the battery is running out. Normally you would change the battery when the light begins to dim, but the control circuit keeps the torch running normally even when the voltage delivered by the battery has dropped considerably.

Think out of the box now - if you put a lower voltage battery in the torch, the control circuit will still compensate and try to keep the torch running at normal brightness. A standard AA battery is physically interchangeable with the 14050, but has a voltage of 1.5V for disposable or 1.2V for rechargeable These voltages are only a fraction of the 3.7V the torch is designed to run on, but the control circuit still manages a good light output from the LED despite that.

I have tested two of these torches side by side, one with a 3.7V Li-ion battery and the other with a 1.2V Ni-MH battery. Measuring lumen output is most definitely a laboratory job, but working on the basis of long experience in illumination and lighting, my estimate is that the output with the 3.7V battery was about ten times greater than with the 1.2V battery. Subjectively that would make the 3.7V beam approximately three times brighter.

Don't forget, however that at 3.7V the light output is truly astounding and at 1.2V it is still a very respectable output. Think of the torch as a versatile tool - works OK with straightforward AA's but really shows its capabilities at 3.7V.

So, before complaining it is dim, think of what batteries you are using - don't blame the torch if you are using AA's, it is doing a very good job of giving you light with a very deficient power source. Upgrade to 3.7V batteries and see what you have really got for your money.

One very serious word of warning, particularly if you are using it at 3.7V - do not shine it into people's eyes, even from quite a long way away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Light on your pocket !!, 9 Mar 2014
By 
Antoine Camilleri - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: CREE Q5 3W Led 350 Lumens mini Flashlight Zoomable Torch AA (Misc.)
This really is an awesome deal! The torch uses the latest 3W Q5 LED meaning that it will produce the same brightness a 7W LED does (around 350 lumen) while still retaining great battery life.

The tiny torch really packs in some punch. It really is amazing how bright this tiny torch is!

Thanks to the zoom function you could either have a spotlight beam or a wide floodlight effect. I find this feature particularly useful when going for a stroll at night. I set it to maximum aperture, thus covering a wide field of view. If I need to focus the beam on a certain area, a gentle push on the torch head will narrow the beam thus providing more throw.

At this price, this torch is really one of the best bargains available.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars light and bright, 21 Jun 2013
This review is from: CREE Q5 3W Led 350 Lumens mini Flashlight Zoomable Torch AA (Misc.)
About the width of your palm, and the thickness of your thumb, this solid little torch throws out a powerful beam.

You narrow and widen the beam by sliding the hood, which lies naturally between your thumb and forefinger, so is easy to do with one hand.

At its widest it forms a broad soft moonlight glow - interesting for use with night photography - while at its narrowest it illuminates things up to about 100m.

Several others have mentioned the image of the chip appearing as you narrow the beam, which is a little disconcerting.

A great little torch for camping or - with some elastic bands or wire - as an emergency bike light.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I have no hesitation in recommending this torch, 10 Sep 2014
By 
A Smile and a Wave (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CREE Q5 3W Led 350 Lumens mini Flashlight Zoomable Torch AA (Misc.)
I bought my first of these torches from the seller cheap4uk earlier this year and was so impressed that I ordered three more. Delivery was only ten days on the first torch but took about three weeks on the second order although they did arrive safely in the end and I am happy with the seller. The torches themselves look as they appear in the photos but do not have the branding on them - all of mine just have a blank space instead of the writing.

As actual torches they are amazing products at this price level and I find it incredible that they can be produced and shipped around the world at such a low cost. I already owned a couple of expensive LED torches LED Lenser T7 Tactical Torch (Black) - Test It Pack which I was happy with but couldn't resist trying this one when I saw what was on offer and have no regrets. Although they don't perform quite as well as the more expensive brand they don't fall far short and I have no hesitation in recommending them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CREE Q5 3W Led 350 Lumens mini Flashlight Zoomable Torch AA (Misc.)
I've been disappointed with compact torches in the past. I'm pleased with this one, however.
It requires just one AA battery (I'm using a rechargeable). Nice bright light. Just the job for walking home through my village at night which is a bit short on street lamps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant little torch, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CREE Q5 3W Led 350 Lumens mini Flashlight Zoomable Torch AA (Misc.)
This is great, bought it to look at dark engine bays and electrical compartments and is hard wearing and rugged. Has 3 modes too which can be adjusted by pressing the switch lightly. Run with a good quality aa battery for best results!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Luke Skywalker had one I reckon!, 18 Oct 2013
By 
Daisy's Dad (Liverpool,England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CREE Q5 3W Led 350 Lumens mini Flashlight Zoomable Torch AA (Misc.)
For something so small,cheap and excellently constructed it was well worth the price if only as an ornament.
But crikey,does it work!
I don't know how it works but I've never owned a torch with such a powerful beam irrespective of its size...amazing.
Don't make the mistake of buying one like I did though...buy half a dozen..for the car,your brother's Christmas present and anyone else you know who would possibly need a torch.
Incredible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars have paid ten times more for a torch that isn't half as good as this one, 12 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CREE Q5 3W Led 350 Lumens mini Flashlight Zoomable Torch AA (Misc.)
Didn't expect to much from this little torch when I ordered it as for the price it seemed cheap, "boy was I wrong", all metal casing, zoomable as described and bright, have paid ten times more for a torch that isn't half as good as this one. Would highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It is not 350 lumen but much less maybe 150 lumen is a fairer assessment ?, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CREE Q5 3W Led 350 Lumens mini Flashlight Zoomable Torch AA (Misc.)
I was impressed with this ,it works from one AA battery and offers three modes. Bright, less bright and strobe. I did not get an attachment to fit this product to my bike which may well have been a more sensible idea. Whilst living in a streetlighted area this would be ideal but to go for long rides through unlit roads maybe not ideal for this. ~ I also have a SERFAS 250 lumen (rechargable light) which is phenomenal. ~ Yet that cost far more. This cree torch is only three and a half inches long by an inch width is well constructed (anodized) it is also fitted with a very strong clip that makes it ideal for clipping on a waist band of trousers or belt. The switch to operate is at opposite end to the light incremental touches operate the modes . You can increase or decrease the aperature on front for lighting a larger area or more condensed area. For the money a quality product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 260 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

CREE Q5 3W Led 350 Lumens mini Flashlight Zoomable Torch AA
£1.99
Usually dispatched within 2 to 3 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews