Customer Reviews


1,133 Reviews
5 star:
 (891)
4 star:
 (131)
3 star:
 (46)
2 star:
 (21)
1 star:
 (44)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


144 of 151 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Importance of Using the Correct Battery for the Job
CREE Q5 3W Led 350 Lumens mini Flashlight Zoomable Torch AA

There does seem to be some confusion in the review pages about the batteries this torch will accept. It is designed to operate on a single 3.7V battery - available as rechargeable or one-use lithium ion. The control circuit of the torch is designed to extend battery life by continuing to deliver the...
Published 8 months ago by Wells

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great torch if you get a working one...
Bought this small but bright torch to use as a handle bar mounted front bike light.

For the price the torch is solidly built however it seems to be a lottery as to whether you end up with a working item. Due to delivery issues I ended up buying two torches from two sellers. They are from different manufacturers which could account for the QC issues. So for...
Published 2 months ago by lammie


‹ Previous | 1 2114 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

144 of 151 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Importance of Using the Correct Battery for the Job, 24 Jun. 2014
This review is from: CREE Q5 3W Led 350 Lumens mini Flashlight Zoomable Torch AA (Sports)
CREE Q5 3W Led 350 Lumens mini Flashlight Zoomable Torch AA

There does seem to be some confusion in the review pages about the batteries this torch will accept. It is designed to operate on a single 3.7V battery - available as rechargeable or one-use lithium ion. The control circuit of the torch is designed to extend battery life by continuing to deliver the correct current to the LED even when the battery is running out. Normally you would change the battery when the light begins to dim, but the control circuit keeps the torch running normally even when the voltage delivered by the battery has dropped considerably.

Think out of the box now - if you put a lower voltage battery in the torch, the control circuit will still compensate and try to keep the torch running at normal brightness. A standard AA battery is physically interchangeable with the 14050, but has a voltage of 1.5V for disposable or 1.2V for rechargeable These voltages are only a fraction of the 3.7V the torch is designed to run on, but the control circuit still manages a good light output from the LED despite that.

I have tested two of these torches side by side, one with a 3.7V Li-ion battery and the other with a 1.2V Ni-MH battery. Measuring lumen output is most definitely a laboratory job, but working on the basis of long experience in illumination and lighting, my estimate is that the output with the 3.7V battery was about ten times greater than with the 1.2V battery. Subjectively that would make the 3.7V beam approximately three times brighter.

Don't forget, however that at 3.7V the light output is truly astounding and at 1.2V it is still a very respectable output. Think of the torch as a versatile tool - works OK with straightforward AA's but really shows its capabilities at 3.7V.

So, before complaining it is dim, think of what batteries you are using - don't blame the torch if you are using AA's, it is doing a very good job of giving you light with a very deficient power source. Upgrade to 3.7V batteries and see what you have really got for your money.

One very serious word of warning, particularly if you are using it at 3.7V - do not shine it into people's eyes, even from quite a long way away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


71 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbeatable performance per pound, 15 Sept. 2013
This review is from: CREE Q5 3W Led 350 Lumens mini Flashlight Zoomable Torch AA (Sports)
I have several torches. Some are more elegant (these cheap Chinese makers do like a chunky bit of industrial metal for some reason!) Some are brighter... and heavier, and take more batteries. But none offer such a convenient and powerful package, overall. Torches are a bit like cameras... the best one is the one you have with you when you need it, and at this price you can afford to have a torch anywhere you might need it.

Being able to focus the beam makes this very useful. The wide angle is bright enough to provide good illumination over a small work area, or dimly light up a room, and the tight beam -- while square and LED-shaped -- is very bright over a very small area, and offers good throw over a distance.

Clearly it's not going to replace the various super-powered torches you can buy for very reasonable prices these days, but this pocketable beast is now my go-to torch. In an ideal world I'd trim some of the weight off the chunky case, but it'd be rude to complain for this money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great torch if you get a working one..., 19 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CREE Q5 3W Led 350 Lumens mini Flashlight Zoomable Torch AA (Sports)
Bought this small but bright torch to use as a handle bar mounted front bike light.

For the price the torch is solidly built however it seems to be a lottery as to whether you end up with a working item. Due to delivery issues I ended up buying two torches from two sellers. They are from different manufacturers which could account for the QC issues. So for future buyers:

- Working [unbranded] torch - ordered from UK DIRECT
- Non-working [branded] torch - ordered from UKEOL (refunded given)

As a cyclist, this is a great little torch and the strobe affect makes you much more visible but I can only rate this 2.5/5 due to the reliability issues.

Edit:- word of caution, during use the body runs quite hot to the touch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its a cracker, 25 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CREE Q5 3W Led 350 Lumens mini Flashlight Zoomable Torch AA (Sports)
Best little torch I have ever owned. Very surprised that they can produce something of this quality and performance at the price. I was so impressed I bought another one as they are so cheap you may as well have the convenience of having one in the house and one in the car.
I haven't tried it with the bigger 3.7 v battery and wont be rushing to do so as the performance with the AA battery is superb. I like that it is chunky and feels well made.
If you want a cheap high performing torch buy this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Light on your pocket !!, 9 Mar. 2014
By 
Antoine Camilleri - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: CREE Q5 3W Led 350 Lumens mini Flashlight Zoomable Torch AA (Sports)
This well constructed flashlight is an awesome deal! It sports a newer 3W Q5 LED meaning that it will produce the same brightness a 7W LED does (around 350 lumen) while still retaining great battery life.

Given its diminutive size it is amazing how bright this torch is!

Thanks to the zoom function you could either have a spotlight beam or a wide floodlight effect. I find this feature particularly useful when going for a stroll at night. I set it to maximum aperture, thus covering a wide field of view. If I need to focus the beam on a certain area, a gentle push on the torch head will narrow the beam thus providing more throw.

At this price, this torch is really one of the best bargains available.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the best torch I have ever bought, 11 Sept. 2014
This review is from: CREE Q5 3W Led 350 Lumens mini Flashlight Zoomable Torch AA (Sports)
This is the best torch I have ever bought! Ive dropped it thousands of times at work and still works perfect! It's light to carry and is really bright. It's brilliant highly recommend it! It's definitely a bargin buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 14 Aug. 2014
This review is from: CREE Q5 3W Led 350 Lumens mini Flashlight Zoomable Torch AA (Sports)
Looks good but doesn't work, at all....waste of money but not worth sending back
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I have no hesitation in recommending this torch, 10 Sept. 2014
By 
A Smile and a Wave (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CREE Q5 3W Led 350 Lumens mini Flashlight Zoomable Torch AA (Sports)
I bought my first of these torches from the seller cheap4uk earlier this year and was so impressed that I ordered three more. Delivery was only ten days on the first torch but took about three weeks on the second order although they did arrive safely in the end and I am happy with the seller. The torches themselves look as they appear in the photos but do not have the branding on them - all of mine just have a blank space instead of the writing.

As actual torches they are amazing products at this price level and I find it incredible that they can be produced and shipped around the world at such a low cost. I already owned a couple of expensive LED torches LED Lenser P7 Professional Torch (Black) - Test It Pack which I was happy with but couldn't resist trying this one when I saw what was on offer and have no regrets. Although they don't perform quite as well as the more expensive brand they don't fall far short and I have no hesitation in recommending them. On holiday this summer we took a couple of them for walking at night in unlit areas and they proved to be invaluable; they are light enough to carry and small enough to fit in pockets but are still easily bright enough to see and be seen by passing vehicles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worked for 3 minutes and then began flickering. Didn't ..., 21 Nov. 2014
By 
T. Mukherjee "Tap" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CREE Q5 3W Led 350 Lumens mini Flashlight Zoomable Torch AA (Sports)
Worked for 3 minutes and then began flickering. Didn't get it wet or anything. By the time I had attached it to the bike it was dead. Thrown in the bin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not great for carol singing, 18 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CREE Q5 3W Led 350 Lumens mini Flashlight Zoomable Torch AA (Sports)
Stopped working after 5-7 minutes. Not great for carol singing. I waited weeks for it to arrive from Hong Kong so definitely not happy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2114 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews