Customer Reviews


770 Reviews
5 star:
 (563)
4 star:
 (109)
3 star:
 (42)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (38)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


55 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbeatable performance per pound
I have several torches. Some are more elegant (these cheap Chinese makers do like a chunky bit of industrial metal for some reason!) Some are brighter... and heavier, and take more batteries. But none offer such a convenient and powerful package, overall. Torches are a bit like cameras... the best one is the one you have with you when you need it, and at this price you...
Published 12 months ago by Andrew McP

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It is not 350 lumen but much less maybe 150 lumen is a fairer assessment ?
I was impressed with this ,it works from one AA battery and offers three modes. Bright, less bright and strobe. I did not get an attachment to fit this product to my bike which may well have been a more sensible idea. Whilst living in a streetlighted area this would be ideal but to go for long rides through unlit roads maybe not ideal for this. ~ I also have a SERFAS 250...
Published 5 months ago by Damian Toole


‹ Previous | 1 277 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

55 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbeatable performance per pound, 15 Sep 2013
This review is from: CREE Q5 3W Led 350 Lumens mini Flashlight Zoomable Torch AA (Misc.)
I have several torches. Some are more elegant (these cheap Chinese makers do like a chunky bit of industrial metal for some reason!) Some are brighter... and heavier, and take more batteries. But none offer such a convenient and powerful package, overall. Torches are a bit like cameras... the best one is the one you have with you when you need it, and at this price you can afford to have a torch anywhere you might need it.

Being able to focus the beam makes this very useful. The wide angle is bright enough to provide good illumination over a small work area, or dimly light up a room, and the tight beam -- while square and LED-shaped -- is very bright over a very small area, and offers good throw over a distance.

Clearly it's not going to replace the various super-powered torches you can buy for very reasonable prices these days, but this pocketable beast is now my go-to torch. In an ideal world I'd trim some of the weight off the chunky case, but it'd be rude to complain for this money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MR, 9 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CREE Q5 3W Led 350 Lumens mini Flashlight Zoomable Torch AA (Misc.)
Great product for the price. But it is not 350 LM!! I am using this light as replacement to 90LM Topeak Front bicycle light which was stolen. At first I thought this light will beat Topeak light because it is stated to be 350LM. I was feeling comfortable cycling on unlit roads with topeak so I thought CREE light will be great improvement. But after I received it and tested I saw that 90LM Topeak was brighter. But Topeak light is £45 which makes this cheap Chinese light unbeatable in price/performance range. I am using it few month so far and it got some heavy rain as well. It never failed! Worth to mention if you use it a lot than better to use rechargeable batteries. After 1 hour of using you can see the light gets dimmer. I always have another charged battery for swap.
I gave 5 stars for this CREE light because you won't find anything so well performing and bright for 3-4 pounds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Importance of Using the Correct Battery for the Job, 24 Jun 2014
This review is from: CREE Q5 3W Led 350 Lumens mini Flashlight Zoomable Torch AA (Misc.)
CREE Q5 3W Led 350 Lumens mini Flashlight Zoomable Torch AA

There does seem to be some confusion in the review pages about the batteries this torch will accept. It is designed to operate on a single 3.7V battery - available as rechargeable or one-use lithium ion. The control circuit of the torch is designed to extend battery life by continuing to deliver the correct current to the LED even when the battery is running out. Normally you would change the battery when the light begins to dim, but the control circuit keeps the torch running normally even when the voltage delivered by the battery has dropped considerably.

Think out of the box now - if you put a lower voltage battery in the torch, the control circuit will still compensate and try to keep the torch running at normal brightness. A standard AA battery is physically interchangeable with the 14050, but has a voltage of 1.5V for disposable or 1.2V for rechargeable These voltages are only a fraction of the 3.7V the torch is designed to run on, but the control circuit still manages a good light output from the LED despite that.

I have tested two of these torches side by side, one with a 3.7V Li-ion battery and the other with a 1.2V Ni-MH battery. Measuring lumen output is most definitely a laboratory job, but working on the basis of long experience in illumination and lighting, my estimate is that the output with the 3.7V battery was about ten times greater than with the 1.2V battery. Subjectively that would make the 3.7V beam approximately three times brighter.

Don't forget, however that at 3.7V the light output is truly astounding and at 1.2V it is still a very respectable output. Think of the torch as a versatile tool - works OK with straightforward AA's but really shows its capabilities at 3.7V.

So, before complaining it is dim, think of what batteries you are using - don't blame the torch if you are using AA's, it is doing a very good job of giving you light with a very deficient power source. Upgrade to 3.7V batteries and see what you have really got for your money.

One very serious word of warning, particularly if you are using it at 3.7V - do not shine it into people's eyes, even from quite a long way away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Light on your pocket !!, 9 Mar 2014
By 
A. Camilleri - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: CREE Q5 3W Led 350 Lumens mini Flashlight Zoomable Torch AA (Misc.)
This really is an awesome deal! The torch uses the latest 3W Q5 LED meaning that it will produce the same brightness a 7W LED does (around 350 lumen) while still retaining great battery life.

The tiny torch really packs in some punch. It really is amazing how bright this tiny torch is!

Thanks to the zoom function you could either have a spotlight beam or a wide floodlight effect. I find this feature particularly useful when going for a stroll at night. I set it to maximum aperture, thus covering a wide field of view. If I need to focus the beam on a certain area, a gentle push on the torch head will narrow the beam thus providing more throw.

At this price, this torch is really one of the best bargains available.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It is not 350 lumen but much less maybe 150 lumen is a fairer assessment ?, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CREE Q5 3W Led 350 Lumens mini Flashlight Zoomable Torch AA (Misc.)
I was impressed with this ,it works from one AA battery and offers three modes. Bright, less bright and strobe. I did not get an attachment to fit this product to my bike which may well have been a more sensible idea. Whilst living in a streetlighted area this would be ideal but to go for long rides through unlit roads maybe not ideal for this. ~ I also have a SERFAS 250 lumen (rechargable light) which is phenomenal. ~ Yet that cost far more. This cree torch is only three and a half inches long by an inch width is well constructed (anodized) it is also fitted with a very strong clip that makes it ideal for clipping on a waist band of trousers or belt. The switch to operate is at opposite end to the light incremental touches operate the modes . You can increase or decrease the aperature on front for lighting a larger area or more condensed area. For the money a quality product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Scratched my ipad! :(, 11 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this case and the quality of the material is amazing but the rotating mechanism has scratched a nasty black circle onto my ipad and I have therefore stopped using it which is a real shame because I was really happy with this when it came considering the price, postage and delivery time, the rotating mechanism almost looked as if it was missing a piece or something and maybe that's why I've ended up with a scratched ipad, either way, it's great just watch out that the rotating mechanism doesn't scratch the back of your ipad!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars light and bright, 21 Jun 2013
This review is from: CREE Q5 3W Led 350 Lumens mini Flashlight Zoomable Torch AA (Misc.)
About the width of your palm, and the thickness of your thumb, this solid little torch throws out a powerful beam.

You narrow and widen the beam by sliding the hood, which lies naturally between your thumb and forefinger, so is easy to do with one hand.

At its widest it forms a broad soft moonlight glow - interesting for use with night photography - while at its narrowest it illuminates things up to about 100m.

Several others have mentioned the image of the chip appearing as you narrow the beam, which is a little disconcerting.

A great little torch for camping or - with some elastic bands or wire - as an emergency bike light.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice case/cover, 17 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Arrived very quickly, lovely colour red, nice to carry around. I would buy this product again as a present as it is excellent value and looks good. I only gave 4 stars because when standing the Ipad up it has 'slipped' out of the groove a couple of times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I pad case !, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Looked in the shops but cases were expensive and not very nice. Ordered this as a stand-in until I found a better one, however, how shocked was I when it came !!! Looks great, fits really well, overall,very happy with this !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bargain, 15 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought for my wife as she wanted a case which would enable the IPad to stand. This works perfectly; as good as those cases many times dearer. My wife also loved the bright red colour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 277 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews