Customer Reviews


322 Reviews
5 star:
 (252)
4 star:
 (44)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hard drive replacement
I have recently bought this 128GB Sandisk Pulse SSD earlier this year, the intended use was to replace the stock SATA II hard drive in an Acer 3810TZ laptop. All of which I have done now and what a difference! from the power on button to desktop screen after all passwords is now done in less than 40 seconds, applications run faster and the lag effect has all gone,...
Published on 23 Mar. 2013 by Volkrin

versus
65 of 75 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not a fast ssd but good value for what it is
I bought one of these to upgrade my old pc before giving it to my brother.

It definitely speeds up boot times from the old 7200rpm WD Black caviar HDD, though not hugely, and it is of course completely quiet in operation. Also it is good value for a SSD of this size. Less than fifty pence per GB!

However, when it comes to actual operation such as...
Published on 4 Oct. 2012 by Mr P


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hard drive replacement, 23 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have recently bought this 128GB Sandisk Pulse SSD earlier this year, the intended use was to replace the stock SATA II hard drive in an Acer 3810TZ laptop. All of which I have done now and what a difference! from the power on button to desktop screen after all passwords is now done in less than 40 seconds, applications run faster and the lag effect has all gone, battery life is now much improved as well. This is a perfect example of the use of an SSD, you will not regret it!

How did I do it?
I used the OEM version of Windows 7 on the laptop and backed up the software as you would to create your rescue discs, did a clean install on to the SSD and this was done without even burning any DVD discs.

1. Run your laptop and use your browser to search for and install the 30 day free version of Virtual CD, this allows you to mount a virtual DVD burner. Read the instructions, but basically you create a blank virtual DVD and mount it in the virtual burner.
2. Run from your start button the Acer folder> Recovery> Acer recovery program > Create factory default disc. Follow the instructions, but first of all look to see how large the recovery data files are (mine was 8.5GB)
3. Go back to Virtual CD, go and create a new blank ISO DVD disc, but change the size of the disc to a larger capacity (I did 13.4GB ish) Since it's virtual you can custom select a larger disc more than 4.7GB, this way it's all done in one step. Mount the disc into the virtual DVD burner
4. Now go back to the recovery program, select the DVD burner/disc that is now available and run the Create factory default disc process.
5. Now you need to prepare a suitable USB flash drive (I used a 16GB) You need to specifically create a bootable USB drive, follow the instructions on Maximum PC How to create a bootable USB, only format the USB drive to NTFS and not FAT32.
6. Go to your newly created Backup Virtual DVD and mount the disc into the virtual CD drive, from Start > Computer open the disc to view all the folders and files, select all, copy the entire contents to your newly prepared bootable USB drive.
7. Hardware, now your nearly there! Shut down your laptop and follow your Laptop / SSD instructions to replace the hard drive with your new SSD.
8. Now before you boot only have your newly prepared USB connected, go to the Bios (hitting F2) and go to the boot priority and change it to USB HDD as priority 1. Also make sure your set to run the SSD in AHCI mode, not IDE. Save your Bios settings and allow the re boot to commence
9. Follow all the instructions and it should re install the OEM version of Win 7.
10. Once completed don't forget to change your Bios boot priority back to the SSD as priority 1 and not the USB

I followed various tutorials on YouTube as well, but don't go for all this in one go, do it in stages it take hours! But as I can testify you can reinstall your backup OEM software without using DVD's or having to buy an optical drive just for the job. Other tips as well for an SSD are to disable SuperFetch, indexing and defragmentation; these all give the SSD a hard time and reduce life expectancy. If your SSD has software tools, these may be dealt with for you, if not just search your web browser for simple instructions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing!, 12 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SanDisk SDSSDP-064G-G25 SSD SATA III 2.5 Inches up to 475 MB/s read - 64 GB (Personal Computers)
if u haven't got one of these yet i wouldn't hesitate! using this drive as a boot disc is the best bit of kit i have bought for any of my pc's. I highly recommend these hard drives!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value fast Linux OS drive, 11 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SanDisk SDSSDP-064G-G25 SSD SATA III 2.5 Inches up to 475 MB/s read - 64 GB (Personal Computers)
Model: 64GB
Using this as an OS drive for our home Debian linux system. Replaced Seagate HDD.

# READ SPEED
# dd if=test of=/dev/zero
(419 MB) copied, 0.923452 s, 454 MB/s

# WRITE SPEED
# dd bs=4M count=100 if=/dev/zero of=test
(419 MB) copied, 2.63172 s, 159 MB/s

-- A few suggestions for SSD optimization on debian/linux --
# /etc/fstab
# Disable access time. Enable Trim support and Sync all data and metadata every 10minutes
/dev/sda1 / ext4 noatime,discard,commit=600 0 1

# Install Ramlog
# Stores /var/log into memory and saves to disk on reboot
apt-get install ramlog

More here: https://wiki.debian.org/SSDOptimization
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 7 seconds isn't fast enough??, 6 April 2013
By 
D. Makin - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SanDisk SDSSDP-064G-G25 SSD SATA III 2.5 Inches up to 475 MB/s read - 64 GB (Personal Computers)
I've just installed this as an internal SSD for my computer (primarily used for gaming) and i felt the need to write in response to those who have reported a 'lack of speed'. From power on to 'good to go' it takes about 7 seconds for a full windows 7 bootup, how much quicker do you want it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as any SSD, but READ FIRST, 20 Feb. 2014
I installed this on a Macbook pro and speeds are fine if you install TRIM Enabler. No compatibility or installation issues.

One caveat though, which is not well-known enough:
Write speeds will be VERY LOW if you are running the drive to almost full capacity. As this drive is only 128GB, it is foreseeable that a lot of people will be hovering around the 120-125GB mark, keeping a few GB free. If you do this, you will get terrible, bursty write speeds. i.e. 10MB...wait two seconds, another 10MB...wait one second 5MB. So on average around 3-4MB/s, which is unusable. For me, it meant if I was downloading or installing something, the system would be very unresponsive, as a modern OS expects better speeds.

So if you're thinking, "I use a XXXGB harddrive, but I think I can make do with 128GB", unless you can make do with 110GB (and that is in base 10, Windows will report it as 122GB and hence, you make do with 104GB), you should go for a larger size.

A well-known caveat which applies to this drive and all SSDs as of today:
Writing lots to the SSD will shorten its life. For most people, they won't be affected, but if your work entails a lot of writing, you may find in less than 5 years, you'll need to replace this. For example, if you work with different large video files every day, a hard drive is more suitable, though if it is a desktop PC, you can have both - just use the hard drive for saving your large files, but install your OS on the SSD.

As long as you understand the caveats, I would highly recommend the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good value, 20 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this ssd is a good budget ssd that will be perfect for most people
it's not the fastest ssd on the market but good value for money
i installed this on my early 2011 macbook pro , boot up time is just 14.5 seconds compared to 55 seconds with my old hdd
apps load much faster and almost instant on web browsing
i get 510 read speed and 365 write wich is a big improvement over my old hard drive
upgrading to a ssd is the best upgrade you can do to speed up your computer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice budget drive with great read speed., 21 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this drive for my laptop. I did not expect much for this, but when i benchmarked it.
It showed whopping 479MB/s read speed. Write speed was a bit disappointment being only 189MB/s. But the read speed is the one that really matters. My laptop now boots to Linux Mint desktop in 12s when it took almost 40s with regular HDD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 75 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not a fast ssd but good value for what it is, 4 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought one of these to upgrade my old pc before giving it to my brother.

It definitely speeds up boot times from the old 7200rpm WD Black caviar HDD, though not hugely, and it is of course completely quiet in operation. Also it is good value for a SSD of this size. Less than fifty pence per GB!

However, when it comes to actual operation such as running anti virus scans I was surprised to see it was about the same speed as my old HDD. This is because the Random read/write performance is not very good (for an SSD).

You will see in the info on the product that amazon provides, random read/write speeds of 8k/2k. Compare this to a fast SSD of 83k/39k - 10 times faster!! (these speeds taken from the sandisk Extreme SSD). For many operations random read/write speeds are much more important than the sequential speeds.

So, in summary. good value if you want a silent hardrive that is somewhat faster than a traditional HDD.

But - if you want to really notice a huge difference get a fast SSD, the extra twenty quid is money well spent.

Which is why I have ordered a Samsung 830 to replace this one, I'm not giving my brother a PC that I'm disappointed with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant upgrade for ageing laptop!, 9 Sept. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SanDisk SDSSDP-064G-G25 SSD SATA III 2.5 Inches up to 475 MB/s read - 64 GB (Personal Computers)
OK, this is not for those looking for the very best. It looks really cheap and plastic compared to the sleek Samsung 830 I bought at the same time and probably doesn't perform in the same benchmark league either. Nor are there any accessories of any type in the box. Frankly, I don't care about the numbers, all I am worried about is the real world results.

I bought it to try and revive a 6-7 year old Toshiba Satellite Pro L20 with a Centrino single core 1.73Ghz processor running XP Home and a SATA 1 40Gb hard drive. The laptop hardly got used because it just took too long to boot - easily 10-15 minutes, and was extremely sluggish after that.

I've been toying with the idea of trying an SSD and when the Sandisk 64gb appeared in the Amazon flash sale, I thought I would give it a go. On connecting to the computer with the USB to SATA cable supplied with the Samsung, I was concerned to see no recognition of the SSD. I then tried my Windows 7 desktop and realised it needed to be initialised before formatting so I let Windows 7 do the honours. (From numerous comments on the web, I understand Windows 7 does a better job of formatting an SSD than XP so this is the preferred option).

Back to the laptop and I downloaded the free version of Macrium Reflect to clone the hard drive. After 3 attempts, this did not work so I then tried the EaseUS Disk Copy Freeware. On installation, this prompted the creation of a boot CD which then needs the computer to be restarted and enter the boot menu at POST (press F12 immediately after starting the computer) and select boot from CD/DVD drive. EaseUS fired up and cloned the disk without a problem and the resulting cloned SSD worked perfectly. Note that the transfer rate over USB2 was around 1.2GB per minute - do the maths and you will see that this is a long process and is a real nuisance if it has to be repeated.

I wasn't expecting much, but frankly I am amazed. From pressing the start button to Internet Explorer open and responsive now takes exactly 60 seconds. Everything seems to happen quicker. I am sure we will be using the laptop a lot more for quick online research from now on. I can't say how reliable this will prove to be, especially in the XP environment as I have only had it installed for a couple of weeks - time will tell.

As an aside, I then put the Samsung 830 into my son's Dell with Intel C2D and running Vista expecting similar results, but was slightly underwhelmed. It is a little quicker to react, but the improvement is nowhere near as dramatic. I needed the Free EaseUS Partition Manager to reduce the size of the partition to be cloned in this case and also found EaseUS Disk Copy Freeware did not work, but Macrium Reflect did! Reducing the partition was a long process, in my case nearly 2 hours. The system reported over 52,000 files to be moved and when it took 5 minutes to move the first 10, I started to worry, however it did get quicker as it went along.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok for a Budget SSD, 25 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was very impressed at first as this was my first SSD. But just after 11 mouths of use I had to RMA it, as it started to cause constant BSOD and freezing. Thumbs up to SanDisk for their no hassle RMA process. I received a brand new replacement within a few weeks from the initial RMA request. I would probably go with Kingston HyperX 3k for my next SSD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews