Customer Reviews


215 Reviews
5 star:
 (154)
4 star:
 (52)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a perfect Christmas read xXx
My favourite book of 2011 was easily Meet me at the Cupcake Cafe by Jenny Colgan. The storyline left you all warm and fuzzy inside and the characters seemed to play on your mind for weeks after finishing the book so imagine my delight when sorting out our Christmas book when I am told Jenny Colgan is releasing a Christmas book and not just any Christmas book but back with...
Published 23 months ago by realovesbooks

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not my favourite Christmas read...
I love nothing more than a good Christmas book and try to cram as many in as possible! I do own 'Meet me at the Cupcake Cafe' but haven't got round to reading it - I really don't like to read books out of order but decided to start this as it was a Christmassy read. At the start of the book there is a little description of the previous book, which gets you up to...
Published 21 months ago by C. Rucroft


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a perfect Christmas read xXx, 25 Oct 2012
By 
realovesbooks (South east London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Christmas at the Cupcake Cafe (Kindle Edition)
My favourite book of 2011 was easily Meet me at the Cupcake Cafe by Jenny Colgan. The storyline left you all warm and fuzzy inside and the characters seemed to play on your mind for weeks after finishing the book so imagine my delight when sorting out our Christmas book when I am told Jenny Colgan is releasing a Christmas book and not just any Christmas book but back with our characters who we know and love!

Issy Randall, proud owner of The Cupcake Cafe, is in love and couldn't be happier. Her new business is thriving and she is surrounded by close friends, even if her cupcake colleagues Pearl and Caroline don't seem quite as upbeat about the upcoming season of snow and merriment. But when her boyfriend Austin is scouted for a possible move to New York, Issy is forced to face up to the prospect of a long-distance romance. And when the Christmas rush at the cafe - with its increased demand for her delectable creations - begins to take its toll, Issy has to decide what she holds most dear. This December, Issy will have to rely on all her reserves of courage, good nature and cinnamon, to make sure everyone has a merry Christmas, one way or another . . .

This is the first sequel Jenny Colgan has released and what a hit this is going to be. Meeting back with all of our favourite characters it doesn't take long to fall into step with their lives a year on. Even if you didn't get to read the authors previous book you will still be able to read this as a standalone book as at the beginning of the book the author gives us a brief summary of the first book so don't hesitate and pick this one up ( and the first one whilst you are at it ;-)

This book is oozing with festivity with decorations, present buying and wrapping and that lovely Christmas dinner for all to enjoy this will definitely get you in the Christmas spirit. The storyline focuses more on the characters lives and relationships now rather than the cafe but don't threat we are still treated to many mouth watering recipes throughout the book! I loved that the book was a mystery right the way through never quite knowing how things will pan out.

I was hoping for a different ending for Pearl but that is just me being a hopeless romantic. I do wonder if this is the last we will see of these characters I personally feel as though there are still a few things not tied up so I am hoping that we may have a book 3 looming!

The cover of this book is beautiful and festive with its wintery blue colour theme which seems to be very popular this year and has an added touch of Christmas objects around the border but yet the book still has the signature Jenny Colgan look to it.

Looking for something warm and cosy to wrap up and read this Christmas then Christmas at the Cupcake Cafe is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars delicious, 8 Jan 2013
After reading meet me at the cupcake cafe, Christmas at the cupcake Cafe was a complete MUST read, and I was not disappointed. I LOVE The Cupcake Cafe, and if Caroline finds herself a new rich man, I'd work there in a stir of a mixer :) Would Love love love a follow up, in 2014 or so .. Valentines at the Cupcake Cafe ... just image the recipies .. x x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not my favourite Christmas read..., 9 Dec 2012
By 
C. Rucroft "The little bookworm" (North Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I love nothing more than a good Christmas book and try to cram as many in as possible! I do own 'Meet me at the Cupcake Cafe' but haven't got round to reading it - I really don't like to read books out of order but decided to start this as it was a Christmassy read. At the start of the book there is a little description of the previous book, which gets you up to speed.

The story follows Issy and her friends as she prepares to celebrate Christmas. She owns the cupcake cafe and is relatively happy with her life, having met Austin and his brother Darney. That is until Austin goes to New York... There is a nice balance between all the characters lives - Pearl and her little boy, Louis, Caroline and her divorce.

This book just really lacked something for me. I found it rushed at times and there wasn't as much of the cupcake cafe as I would have liked. It didn't give me the Christmassy feeling I expect from a Christmas book.

The recipes were of no interest to me as I cannot stand buttercream, but I did read them. Colgan came across as quite bossy in them - do this, don't do this. It just annoyed me. I do agree with another reviewer that these would have been better at the back of the book as they were distracting and they broke up the flow of the story.

All in all, not bad but I have read better Christmas books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Happiness, Joyful and Magical, 22 July 2014
"Christmas at the Cupcake Cafe" is the first sequel to be writen by Jenny Colgan, it is set about a year after her story called "Meet Me at the Cupcake Cafe."
The story follows a young girl named Issy Randall, who is the owner and baker at the cupcake cafe. The cafe is based in London, which Issy runs with her best friends; Pearl and Caroline. Issy also has a boyfriend called Austin who is looking after his younger brother after their parents passed away.
In Christmas at the Cupcake Cafe, Issy is excited about the upcoming season, that is Christmas.
Issy's Gramps is one of the best bakers and she loved to cook with him when she was little, which lead her on to opening Cupcake Cafe. Pearl also works at the cupcake cafe and has a son called Louis, who she raises on her own but Louis father does drop by from time to time to spend time with him. Caroline was married but now is divorcing her husband whilst still working in the cupcake cafe.
Issy's Boyfriend Austin is the local bank manager who has a little brother called Darny. He has had to raise his brother after there parents died.
This Christmas at the cupcake cafe is going to experience a lot of new and exciting things. there will be laughter, happiness, fulliment and most of all cupcakes.
If I had to sum this story up in three words they would be Happiness, Joyful and Magical.
When reading this story I found myself getting into the christmas spirit (even though it is only November) as it is everything you want in a book. It is one of the best christmas books I have read and will definitely read it again.
What made the story even better was the recipes that were included in the book, I will be definitely be making the recipes to enjoy over the christmas season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Christmas read, 30 Dec 2013
By 
Welsh Annie (Wetherby) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas at the Cupcake Cafe (Kindle Edition)
Just finished and loved this one. It features all the characters we met and loved in Meet Me At The Cupcake Cafe, and although it's over two years since I read that one it was wonderful to spend time in their company again. But don't worry if you haven't read the first book - there's an introduction to tell you a bit about the characters, then you can jump straight in.

Issy's Cupcake Cafe - started a year ago - is now a roaring success. Her life is coming together nicely too - she's living very happily with banker Austin and has been accepted totally by his younger brother Darny, one of the most realistically drawn difficult young teens I've come across in some time. Everything's pretty perfect until Austin gets an offer of a job in New York, an offer he really can't refuse and which solves a few problems with Darny and his schooling. But, if he accepts, what will Issy do? She's fought hard to make a success of the cafe, and she's surrounded by the very best of friends and helpers.

The central story is a major "will she, won't she", but the story is really enhanced by the wider cast of characters. Helena now lives in Issy's former flat with her doctor husband and all-consuming child from hell - some of the images from her life are really, really funny. Pearl and lovely little Louis feature heavily - her constant shortage of money, her relationship with Louis' father and her yearning for the constantly present postman. As before, Caroline is an absolute tour-de-force - with her murderous thoughts towards her philandering ex-husband, her fashion mistakes and her discovery that family life can be more rewarding than a spotless showhouse lounge. Issy's mother Marian/Miriam is wonderful too - enjoying her unconventional lifestyle and finding unexpected common ground with Darny.

This is an unashamedly Christmassy book - full of the smells, tastes and sparkle. It's poignant, funny and joyful in turn, an absolute pleasure to read, and sprinkled with recipes that you'll yearn to try. I read it in bursts during a family Christmas, and it really was quite perfect. Heavily recommended to all - do add it to your reading list for next year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant Christmassy story with recipes for you to try!, 26 Oct 2012
By 
Megan ReadingInTheSunshine (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
I love Jenny Colgan's novels, and I especially loved Meet Me At The Cupcake Cafe, which is the book before this one. But don't panic if you haven't read it, as Christmas At The Cupcake Cafe can be read as a standalone, and what is even better is that Jenny herself has written an authors note at the beginning which lists the important characters and sums up their current situation/what went on in the last book. So if you haven't yet had the chance to read the first book, or like me, you are always grateful of a little reminder, then have no fear because Jenny brings you right up to speed so that you start the story knowing exactly what is going on with each character. Brilliant!

I thoroughly enjoyed this one from Jenny Colgan - It is Christmassy, it is fun, it is festive, and it makes you fall in love with baking all over again. I loved that throughout the book, there are many recipes provided, such as gingerbread, mince pies, cookies and cupcakes. I'm going to be honest, I did feel very hungry throughout (it might be wise to make sure you perhaps have a chocolate bar to read this with!), and as well as looking forward to re-reading such a fabulous book, I am also very excited about trying out all of these recipes and getting stuck in with some baking!

I really liked the main characters in the book, I easily warmed to them, and I honestly can't fault a single character - they were all very well developed throughout the story and I felt as though I knew them as well as if they were my best friends. I liked that as readers we saw things from the perspectives of each character, and I loved how no character was the same. For example, the three wonderful ladies at the Cupcake Cafe - They were all so different with their own worries and contrasting personalities, but put together in a Cafe, made the best of friends. I LOVED the character of Issy especially, she really stood out for me even more so in this book, and I very much enjoyed my time with her. Louis, Pearl's son, was absolutely adorable and his parts always put a smile on my face.

This is one of my favourite books that I have read recently, and it has been raining here so I've spent my time inside curled up with Christmas At The Cupcake Cafe, and it has definitely brightened my week! It left me with a warm glowing feeling, and since reading it I have not stopped talking about it! Christmas At The Cupcake Cafe is the perfect treat for readers, it is comforting, it is exciting and it is filled with Christmassy goodness!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book to read, 29 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas at the Cupcake Cafe (Kindle Edition)
What a fantastic book to read, although I absolutely love anything that is written by Jenny Colgan what a brilliant author she is and I was not disappointed with this book. I thoroughly loved this book and was written so well you really got to know the characters in it. I don't like to give into lots of details about a book as I think it can spoil it for some people but honestly you will not be disappointed with this book and its easy to read, in fact putting it down is the issue - sheer brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good follow up, 31 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas at the Cupcake Cafe (Kindle Edition)
Really good follow up book from 'Meet me at the Cupcake Cafe'. I know this is a Christmas read and I have read it in summer but it really does not make a difference. It was lovely catching up with Izzy and her colleagues. Izzy's business has gone from strength to strength and she has decisions to make regarding her private life with her boyfriend Austin. Really good read and would love another follow up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas at the Cupcake Cafe (Kindle Edition)
Really seem to be enjoying all her book's. Great sequel to "meet me at the cupcake cafe" looking forward to reading more of jenny Colgan books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Christmas at the Cupcake Cafe
£5.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews