Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A solid grounding in PHP and MySQL
First to answer the obvious question; will this book turn you into a PHP and MySQL ninja? Well, no. That's not in any way to say that it's a bad book just that it's being oversold by the title. What it will do is give you a solid grounding in both PHP and MySQL in a readable and easy to digest manner. Perhaps a more accurate title would be something like "PHP and MySQL:...
Published on 5 July 2012 by renaissance geek

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Still getting there - haven't had enough time to review fully.
Published 26 days ago by Kevin Greene


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A solid grounding in PHP and MySQL, 5 July 2012
First to answer the obvious question; will this book turn you into a PHP and MySQL ninja? Well, no. That's not in any way to say that it's a bad book just that it's being oversold by the title. What it will do is give you a solid grounding in both PHP and MySQL in a readable and easy to digest manner. Perhaps a more accurate title would be something like "PHP and MySQL: Yutz to User" though that doesn't have quite the same ring to it!

Anyway, with that gripe out of the way onto the book. The contents are pretty much as you would expect; a guide to installation, an introduction to using the technologies and then a project based approach to using the PHP and MySQL in anger. Coverage of MySQL is, I think, somewhat more comprehensive than that of PHP but given that it is a much more compact and focused piece of software that is only to be expected. You do get good coverage of some of the more useful and important parts of PHP such as regular expressions and session management along with the basics and also a rather nice chapter on structured programming. I particularly appreciated the fact that object oriented programmed wasn't put forward as the one true way for building structured software, as it so often is, and that procedural programming with a library of functions got a look in. It's personal bias I know but for object oriented programming I prefer to use a language designed in an OO manner from the ground up. On the MySQL side you get pretty much everything you might need from a primer in relational database design up to some fairly advanced areas such as database replication and backed up with appendices of MySQL syntax and functions. There's no similar appendix of PHP syntax and functions, but as PHP runs to thousands of functions it's no great surprise.

So overall is this a good book? Well yes; it's well written, engaging and covers the basics of PHP pretty well and of MySQL very well. Is it every book you will need to get your PHP and MySQL ninja blackbelt? No, but then no book ever will be. While you could pick up PHP & MySQL Novice to Ninja having never programmed before you might struggle a little bit. It's probably most appropriate for those who have dabbled in a bit of programming, understand the basics of variables, functions et al and would like to move into the world of PHP and MySQL.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction, 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PHP & MySQL: Novice to Ninja, 5th. Edition (Build Your Own Database Driven Website Using PHP & MySQL) (Kindle Edition)
Love this book. Covers a lot of ground in a very conversational style that is easy to follow. Teaches readers the right way to structure code rather than the quickest way to get the same result; a really important difference in my view. I will happily invest in more from this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PHP & MySQL: Novice to Ninja, 5th. Edition (Build Your Own Database Driven Website Using PHP & MySQL) (Kindle Edition)
I generally don't review books, either I don't have the time or the do what it says on the tin. But this book gives more than just a tutorial flow. It provides useful links, hints and tips throughout the pages. The author's style of writing is easy to understand and with each coding lesson allows you time and space to experiment.

All in all a great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice Book, 25 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very easy to understand the concept and I like Kevin Yank books.
I bought this for a prenet and they really liked it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Want to learn php & mySQL? Start here, 6 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the 5th update to this book by Kevin Yank. I have the 1st and 3rd.

I do not by any means consider myself an expert in either topic, rather that I can get by creating database driven applications that I need.

What the book does is quite simple, it walks you through the setup of a local testing area on your home pc or laptop. You do not need the internet at to follow the book. It then takes you through the stages of building a website to store jokes, in effect you are building a website that allows jokes to be entered, edited and so on.

It is very hands on and get's you straight into the detail without any long winded introduction which we all hate right?

It's easy to follow and Kevin has a good style, he appreciates you are probably nervous about new languages and writes in very friendly style.

What you should appreciate though is that this book is about getting you in quickly and learning, the end result being a completed project. Just bear in mind that these days things like interenet security are more important than ever, the book is not going to teach you advanced techniques and once you have finished the book there is still a lot to learn. Not that I am trying to scare you, just point out that in this kind of area there is always more to learn.

PHP release updates fairly often so you need to pay attention to what they are changing and how it may impact your code.

Definately worth the read if you are looking to get into this area. Get it now whilst it is at it's most up to date position.

Don't forget to visit sitepoint.com who publish the book, there is a huge forum, lots of tutorials and more to help you out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 29 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Still getting there - haven't had enough time to review fully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews