Customer Reviews


106 Reviews
5 star:
 (75)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


63 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super Scott does it again!
I've been using Lightroom ever since it first came out, and have upgraded to every new version. With each new incarnation of Lightroom Scott Kelby produces a new version of the Adobe Lightroom book for Digital Photographers, so of course, I buy each one as it comes out. Why? Because each new version has something the previous one didn't have, and each of Scott's books...
Published on 21 May 2012 by Black Tent

versus
28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Landscape photographers may be disappointed
I purchased Lightroom 4 about two months ago and was impressed with the software and its capabilities. Having read the reviews of this book I decided to purchase a copy and eagerly awaited its delivery in order to try and improve my editing skills further. I agree with other comments that it is light and "chatty", but in my mind it is too light and therefore superficial...
Published 22 months ago by A. Turner


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars ...as impenetrable and obscure as Lightroom itself!, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is NOT for beginners or for those among us who struggle with simple computer terminology and functions. Despite the claim that the book will guide the user along a clear and logical path through Lightroom, unless that user/reader has at least a working knowledge of computers and their associated terminology, then expect to be disappointed.

I have no doubt that a more computer-literate user will entirely disagree with me - but I speak for the computer "disenfranchised" among us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just what you need, 29 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A typical high quality book from Scott Kelby (I've owned previous versions of this book, plus others of his). Contains all the information you need to get the most out of Lightroom, and you'll almost certainly discover things you didn't know the software is capable of. I much prefer Scott's style (you can skip the American humour at the beginning of each chapter) to that of Martin Evening's tedious prose.
The Adobe Photoshop Lightroom 4 Book for Digital Photographers (Voices That Matter)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars priceless !, 26 Jun 2012
By 
S. Harrington - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
brilliant book,extremely well thought out. it is like having scott kelby with you ! very easy to follow, and not to techie either. buy it ,you will learn how to do what you want,with somebody beside you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Adobe Photoshop Lightroom 4, 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hard to follow this book not for beginers ,seems to be for pro users got lost at the start of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It could have had 4 and a half stars, 21 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well worth the money. Very glad I purchased this book. Really easy reading. Well organised and worth reading chapter by chapter as advised by the author. From the way to importing and organising your storage of images through to suggestions about tweaking your photos, jumping into Photoshop, presenting and printing your work and a final chapter on workflow, Scott Selby (with some humour but mostly easily understood explanations) delivers great knowledge and advice about coping with "Lightroom 4". If as a newcomer to "Lightroom" as I am you should really read it twice as the second time around more things stick as you become familiar with the software. If you do not have a copy yet then you should buy one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars O.K!, 29 Mar 2013
By 
Evan C. L. Thomas (Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not really up to the standard of their previous publications (and I have several), so I was rather disappointed with this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loghtroom, 13 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The best Lightroom book I Have read so fare. It is easy to follow the instructions. It covers all the subjects, that I - and I guess most photographers need to know about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for learning Lightroom, 17 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had never used Lightroom before, and having decided to invest in the software I thought I would buy this book in order to learn how to get the best from it. I'm usually someone who just picks things up and plays with them until I've figured it out, so it felt a bit strange learning from a book.

My experience has been very positive - the layout and structure of the book makes it easy to get into and there are lots of simple examples to work through (it's very well illustrated as you would expect). The photos used as examples in the book are available from Kelby's website so you can step through the exact same steps. Personally, I just used my own photos with similar characteristics.

I really like how Kelby gives his own tips as you go through, so rather than being bombarded with theory, he sticks to the salient points and tells you what he, as an expert would recommend. His style is fun and conversational. For example, with the Web module, he points out that it is pretty crappy and that he will not bother trying to explain it in the book because no professionals would use it and Adobe have not improved it for a long time (there are chapters available online for this if needed). Also, you will not come away from reading the book without finding out your porn star name (although if you are already a porn star you probably already know this)

In conclusion, I wasn't sure when I bought this book whether buying something that costs a significant % of the price of the product it is about would be a good idea. However, I am really glad that I did - it's already helped me to get some great results (photography is my hobby, not a money maker) and to organise my collections much better. If you're in the same position of wanting to get to grips with the powerful, complex tool that is Lightroom 4, I really recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Resource, 27 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Adobe Photoshop Lightroom 4 Book for Digital Photographers (Voices That Matter) (Kindle Edition)
If you are not that experienced with Lightroom 4 or want a good reference book then this is perfect.You can look up specific guidance in the contents and it will set out clearly what to do with very useful advice as to the best way to use the software. Its well written with some humour and lots of practical advice that works and makes sense.Pricey as are all such books but this is worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Read, Now I'm An Expert, 19 July 2012
By 
Andrew Collett (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like Kelby's books. Okay, they are a bit flowery, but I find them easy to read and they do tell me how to do the things I want to do. They tell me how to do things I didn't know I coould do too! I cannot compare with others, but for me this book has been a good investment - as recommended by my cousin. Thanks mate!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews