Customer Reviews


105 Reviews
5 star:
 (74)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


63 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super Scott does it again!
I've been using Lightroom ever since it first came out, and have upgraded to every new version. With each new incarnation of Lightroom Scott Kelby produces a new version of the Adobe Lightroom book for Digital Photographers, so of course, I buy each one as it comes out. Why? Because each new version has something the previous one didn't have, and each of Scott's books...
Published on 21 May 2012 by Black Tent

versus
28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Landscape photographers may be disappointed
I purchased Lightroom 4 about two months ago and was impressed with the software and its capabilities. Having read the reviews of this book I decided to purchase a copy and eagerly awaited its delivery in order to try and improve my editing skills further. I agree with other comments that it is light and "chatty", but in my mind it is too light and therefore superficial...
Published 21 months ago by A. Turner


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

63 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super Scott does it again!, 21 May 2012
By 
Black Tent "zareeba" (Stockton-on-Tees, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've been using Lightroom ever since it first came out, and have upgraded to every new version. With each new incarnation of Lightroom Scott Kelby produces a new version of the Adobe Lightroom book for Digital Photographers, so of course, I buy each one as it comes out. Why? Because each new version has something the previous one didn't have, and each of Scott's books covers the new and/or improved features. However, there's much, much more to each book than simply a run-down of new features. Scott Kelby is one of those writers who is able to approach familiar subjects and give them a new spin. So although there is a considerable overlap with his previous Lightroom books (after all, it's basically the same program with improvements), he takes a fresh look at every module in Lightroom. I read it from cover to cover as soon as I received it, and realised that I hadn't been getting as much out of Lightroom as I could have done.

As usual, Scott doesn't go into the whys and wherefores of every feature; he sensibly leaves that to authors like Martin Evening, whose Lightroom and Photoshop books are packed full of technical info,which is very useful once you've mastered the basics, but daunting for the beginner and even for more experienced Lightroom/Photoshop users. Instead, Scott's approach is the same in his other books (I don't know how the guy finds time to write all those books and do all the other things he does): he talks to his readers as if he were giving them a lesson in person. He never makes assumptions about his readers' levels of knowledge, but he doesn't talk down to them either. Some readers are put off by his jokey intros to each chapter, but I enjoy them (as Scott says, they are a bit of light relief which enables the reader to clear the brain for the chapter to come) and, after all, if you don't like the intros, don't read them!

If you've used Lightroom before, you can dip into this book wherever you like, but for beginners I'd really recommend starting at the beginning - as I say, I'd used Lightroom for years and still found I learned a lot even from the chapters that cover the initial basics of Lightroom. I'd recommend it to anyone using Lightroom 4, whether beginner, intermediate, or experienced.

Oh, and by the way - Lightroom 4 itself rocks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Technical, Personal and Fun, 12 Jun 2012
By 
Robert R. Hallsworth "Bob Hallsworth" (Sandhurst, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Scott Kelby has a sense of humour and so suits me very well indeed. He freely admits that those without one might wish to skip the preface to each chapter, which is designed to give you a break and make you smile, which it does. (For me)
The book is well laid out and whilst most of Scott's books can be dipped into, he recommends that you take the journey from front to back. Good advice, because a lot of what comes later is helped by setting Lightroom up properly in the first place.
His style is relaxed and informative, but is based on his personal experience as a photographer and he frequently gives tips on the way he personally works.
All in all a good read, as well as a technical book on Lightroom. For me it covers all the bases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars With Scott Kelby as the author you cannot go wrong, 8 July 2012
By 
Andy_atGC (London UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Scott Kelby is one of the most capable and most often-seen named authors of photographic instructional titles. Sometimes he writes alone, sometimes with others and whatever the subject, you can be certain of one thing - he knows his subject! In addition to the imprint of its publishers, it also includes another for Scott Kelby's company, KelbyTraining, as it is substantially based upon one of Scott's distributed courses. In addition to his many books, some of which are updates from earlier titles due to version updates - as is this, he also is an instructor on the same subjects. He gives live tuition and is to be seen on many CBT CD & DVD courses. I don't know how he find the time to do all that and still photograph.

Lightroom is one of the several software programs that are designed to perform workflow operations on RAW files, and it is the de facto standard for the PC user, that is of use to those who use RAW or RAW with JPG image format options in their camera. RAW is not really a format in the sense that JPG is a format, as all JPG files need to comply with a standard but RAW simply means unformatted and unprocessed and is likely to vary between the different camera manufacturers. If you own a Nikon camera that offers RAW, its files will be quite different from one using a Canon, Pentax or any other. You cannot interchange them or open them in whatever software is provided with your camera unless it is designed to do so, and most are not! Sometimes, the manufacturer of a camera may provide an older version of Lightroom, a modified version of it, or another such as Silkypix that does the same job in a slightly different way.

If a camera of any brand is able to shoot in RAW its manufacturers will supply some software to view and work on those files, but it may be of limited functionality and usually limited to whatever brand of images it was designed for. Lightroom is a broad-range software able to work with files of many different origins so that you can mix Canon images with Nikon, Pentax, Sony etc. It has a wider range of features than most of its competitors and has a reputation which is deserved for its ability to extract the best possible performance out of the files it works with. It can correct imbalances in colour, lighting, exposure, dynamic range and more. But to get the best from it, it needs a standardised regime in order to get the best results and the book includes the concept of a specific recommended workflow. Lightroom is a complex software that needs to be correctly configured and used for best results. You may need a book such as this, and there are or will be many other books that do more or less the same job. This is one of the best available choices. I bought a copy of the immediately previous version on behalf of and for use by a small group of photographers who use it for their co-operative work.

Lightroom 4 includes a number of changes from version 3 and there are a few operational or procedural changes, hence the need for this revision. Much of the text will be that from prior versions as there is no advantage to reinventing the wheel. Changes are made where needed but much is unchanged.

The book includes a number of screen captures, as it always has and it is Kelby's practice whatever the title. In some titles, he uses images from a Mac when most users probably have PCs, but he is far from alone in that practice. It does not usually matter but it does sometimes confuse if the PC and Mac version of something is a little too disparate. Fortunately, you will not have that problem here.

Much of the book is written in a procedural form, starting at Step #1 and progressing forwards from there, chapter by chapter and one subject at a time. Its 15 chapters start from importing images from either the memory card on which are first held, from hard drive are other media into the software's library, and includes local and global corrections through eventually to exporting the images, probably into Photoshop. Its final chapter concerns itself with the author's recommended workflow system.

The book is very well-written, as is expected from this author, is informative and instructive but without being over-complex. He covers the ground very thoroughly and misses nothing. It may not be the largest book on the subject in terms of page numbers but it is hard to anything major that it misses. At the back of the book is an interesting an potentially useful extra, a grey card (not grey scale) that can be used to help with exposure assessment but very much more so for colour balance. If you can get the image's light greys to match in tone with the card, you are likely to exclude any colour imbalances or colour shifts due to mixed lighting or from other causes.

This is a book which you may wish to read through once for an overall view and then again more slowly for a better understanding of the software, one feature or aspect at a time. You cannot go very wrong in buying any book published by New Riders. They may be less established than other imprints but I have yet to find a really poor book that bears their name. You cannot go wrong with anything from Scott Kelby, either. The combination is just about unbeatable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great book...online training better, 21 Jun 2012
By 
M. Long (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Read on for the best tip, i promise....this is a good book and one of the leading books for Lightroom users. It's reasonably easy to follow and pictures etc.

However I urge you to also use his training online at kelbytraining.com. You can buy a month or year and the Lightrooms course (five on lightroom 4 of around 2 hours each, taking you through the main steps) is excellent. Kelby doesn't teach it, one of his experts does. There are hundreds of courses, but for this one alone it's brilliant and simple to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Landscape photographers may be disappointed, 11 Oct 2012
By 
A. Turner "SnowyT" (Plymouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I purchased Lightroom 4 about two months ago and was impressed with the software and its capabilities. Having read the reviews of this book I decided to purchase a copy and eagerly awaited its delivery in order to try and improve my editing skills further. I agree with other comments that it is light and "chatty", but in my mind it is too light and therefore superficial in parts. It gives an extensive overview of libraries and organisation but it lacks detail on the developing, and here it often explains how but not always why. As a landscape photographer (mainly) I was looking forward to guidance on two functions/tools in particular. Firstly, the defringing tool and secondly the graduated filter. I had been playing around with the defringe settings and found I could eliminate or accentuate fringing of certain colours but I wasn't sure how I was doing it. In the book, however, chromatic aberration and defringing is relegated to two small paragraphs on page 261. Moreover, the author has reported erroneous and misleading information and instructions (e.g. there is no "all edges" function under the "manual" panel). Likewise, there is very little information on the graduated filter (p226). The author exemplifies its use with a picture of blue sky and wispy clouds - in landscape photography, you are not likely to graduate a blue sky! I had been learning how to apply multiple grad filters at different angles and at different points on the image, and to use them to selectively remove noise, sharpen, desaturate, enhance detail in shadows... Imagine my disappointment when the author gives one simple and rather inappropriate illustration of graduation. In short, this book is good as a general reference guide but, as a landscape photographer, I was found wanting and wonder whether self-teaching and use of resources on the web may have been a better option.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ok for a absolute beginner, thats all, 27 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I also found the author to be too full of his own self importance, also a large section of Lightroom (web modules) has been missed out and has to be downloaded for the authors website. I suggest anyone who wants to learn about Lightroom look elsewhere
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No 1 as usual, 30 July 2012
By 
K. J. Pepper "film dude" (nottingham england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is as always a must to buy, Scott Kelby has triumphed again, easy to follow and understand. Whether you like the guy's style or not he knows his stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lightroom 4 for Digital Photographers, 14 Oct 2012
By 
M. Heathcote (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Adobe Photoshop Lightroom 4 is a superb package but is quite complex to get the best out of it. I found this book a great help in finding my way around to the extent that it is almost essential. My only criticism, so far, is that it would help to include a list of the keyboard shortcuts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Practical, 23 July 2012
The book is very practical and makes you go from a layperson to a confident user in short time. Kelby kept his humour at minimum, so his jokes shouldn't be problem. If you feel you need more in-depth knowledge, try Adobe Photoshop Lightroom 4 - the Missing FAQ - Real Answers to Real Questions Asked by Lightroom Users.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too chatty and jumps about, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Adobe Photoshop Lightroom 4 Book for Digital Photographers (Voices That Matter) (Kindle Edition)
To a novice of Lightroom I found the book difficult to follow in a logical sequence, As a Brit I find American writing quite infuriating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews