Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Right Way to Reach the Roof of Africa
This is a superb book that contains all of the relevant material to ensure you have the best possible chance of reaching the summit of Kili. Tailored so as to be useful to experienced trekkers and those new to the pursuit, this book was invaluable on our trip. Packed with pre-departure tips and advice it ensured that we left fully prepared and aware of what awaited us...
Published on 18 Mar 2006

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A reasonanble guide which is well illustrated
I've not finished reading so might upgrade the rating if I come across useful insights. It's a small pocket format which I liked and will plan to take and plan to finish reading on the flight out. The photographs are very interesting as are the details around the routes. I skipped all the details on flights which seemed out of date anyway. The moon charts were out of date...
Published 6 months ago by Mad Dog Law


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Right Way to Reach the Roof of Africa, 18 Mar 2006
By A Customer
This is a superb book that contains all of the relevant material to ensure you have the best possible chance of reaching the summit of Kili. Tailored so as to be useful to experienced trekkers and those new to the pursuit, this book was invaluable on our trip. Packed with pre-departure tips and advice it ensured that we left fully prepared and aware of what awaited us. Useful information regarding each of the routes and contact details of agencies in the UK and Tanzania mean you can book in advance and do so safely. Once on the mountain the day-by-day descriptions of the routes are clear and concise and the mapping provided is excellent. Although we trekked the fairly frequently walked Machame Route, the book also contains detailled descriptions of the most often used path, the Marangu Route, as well as all of the less well known alternative routes. Background sections on Kilimanjaro's history, development and flora and fauna helped to bring our trip vividly to life as we tackled the ascent and provided a genuinely broad appreciation of the mountain. Colourful asides relating to the early pioneers who raced to be first to the top and their traumas put our own struggles in perspective and provided excellent inspiration. All in all, a superb overview and an essential piece of kit during our climb. You can't ask for anything more, so don't leave home without it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A GOOD READ, 15 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
bought this book as a gift for my brother. On a recent hospital stay read the entire book and started planning his trip to Kilimanjaro! Found it very informative
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was a perfect Christmas present for someone who is planning a Kilimanjaro trip - so much information and tips and just the right size for taking whilst travelling. Very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent & very Concise., 24 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although i bought the book as a present,i did flick through it!!. And thought what a wonderful book if i was doing such an adventure,which the recipient is. He's an inspiration to one & all & to know that my book will be accompanying him,a small part of me will be there too. 95% of any journey is preparation & the author spell out in plain English everything necessary for a safe hassle free trip. Would recommend for anyone doing a similar adventure!!. (Hope you're listening Bilbo!!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A reasonanble guide which is well illustrated, 6 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've not finished reading so might upgrade the rating if I come across useful insights. It's a small pocket format which I liked and will plan to take and plan to finish reading on the flight out. The photographs are very interesting as are the details around the routes. I skipped all the details on flights which seemed out of date anyway. The moon charts were out of date as well only listed for 3 years. It would have been more helpful to provide a link to the source data as a reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Kilimanjaro review, 5 Feb 2006
As a lifetime trekker in his fifties who regularly uses Cicerone Guides here in Britain I was expecting great things of the Cicerone Guide to Kilimanjaro but as a friend warned me as soon as Cicerone moves away from its native shores the standards seem to drop. At the end of reading I had learnt nothing practical that I hadn't already been told about from my tour company and as a Scot I wish I hadn't spent fifteen pounds on it! I now know THAT IT'S NOT ESSENTIAL THAT YOU NEED A BOOK but if you want to get one look for something better than this.Come on Cicerone you can do better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value, 18 Dec 2009
By 
D. Charnley "Reviewer" (Liverpool UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was looking for a small reference book for my daughter who is travelling to Kilimanjaro next year. The book is excellent and full of good advice. It also gives lots of cultural background information which she'll find useful on her trip. Its small enough to take along on the trip and I think its an excellent buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kilimanjaro at its best, 25 Dec 2005
By A Customer
I have several different books on Kilimanjaro and this has to be the best. Alex Stewart covers everything you will ever want to know about getting up this mountain along with the flora, fauna, history, facts and is honest about what dangers there are or can be. This is the copy I will use for my next trip there because there is no better book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb08ec9e4)

This product

Only search this product's reviews