Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just one word : WONDERFUL
Convince yourself and go buy it.
The combination Muddy Waters - The Rolling Stones is excellent.
Excellent quality of sound and image.
What a big surprise if you compare it with that ugly bootleg
that was circling for years now.
Just wonderful.
Published on 10 July 2012 by Wim Callens

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Singer, Not The Song???
Would that I could go down to my local blues club and see a stageful of legends jamming away to themselves and the audience. Other than the playing, and we'll come to that in a minute, this is hardly spontaneous stuff: cameras, the Stones bringing their own guitars, and none of that "what the hell key is this one in???" that usually accompanies blues jams ... The Rolling...
Published on 3 Dec 2012 by S. Whitney


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just one word : WONDERFUL, 10 July 2012
By 
Wim Callens (Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At The Checkerboard Lounge Chicago 1981 [DVD] [2012] [NTSC] (DVD)
Convince yourself and go buy it.
The combination Muddy Waters - The Rolling Stones is excellent.
Excellent quality of sound and image.
What a big surprise if you compare it with that ugly bootleg
that was circling for years now.
Just wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just awesome, 12 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At The Checkerboard Lounge Chicago 1981 [DVD] [2012] [NTSC] (DVD)
I bought this DVD purely because the Rolling Stones were performing and I am so glad I did. This is an awesome show from Buddy Guy's Club. To see the great Muddy Waters and Buddy Guy perform their music was wonderful. I am now a fan of the blues and will be looking for music of this genre to add to my vast musical collection. A real "must see" show. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dreams are made of this, 1 Sep 2012
By 
G. M. Maciver (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At The Checkerboard Lounge Chicago 1981 [DVD] [2012] [NTSC] (DVD)
A great variety of musicians and the fact that the gig was clearly pre-arranged doesn't diminish the authenticity of the chemistry on stage. Ronnie's concentration clearly shows that there hadn't been much, if any, rehearsal: but not a wrong note struck. Jagger doesn't play a significant part in the DVD and that is as it should be: but his performance is also excellent.

Reviewers who complain that this was not a spontaneous jam session should consider how a fan of the blues, introduced to the genre by the Brian Jones inspired Stones would feel seeing such a performance. I was lucky enough to see the Stones with Brian but a dream come true would be to attend an event such as this: small venues is what the greatest rock and blues band do best and the environment the blues belongs in. An added bonus is the involvement of the 6th original Stone on the piano. Ian Stewart was the glue that held these wayward troubadours together and his playing is, as always, flawless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesone ! a piece of blues history - good picture and sound at last !, 22 July 2012
By 
Derick Carneiro (Melbourne- Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live At The Checkerboard Lounge Chicago 1981 [DVD] [2012] [NTSC] (DVD)
If you a Muddy Waters / Rolling Stones / pure blues fan....then this is it ! was worth the wait !To see so many blues greats on the same small stage jamming is pure musical bliss !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good shot..!!, 12 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At The Checkerboard Lounge Chicago 1981 [DVD] [2012] [NTSC] (DVD)
Good quality, exciting content. A strange, amazing night in a foggy bluesy club, that shows children playing with their father. Keith & Ron swimm in well known waters, anyway what else we're supposed to do..? Watch & Listen. Great..!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 30 Mar 2013
By 
A. Jones "dogsbody" (lincolnshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
apart from the whole thing being set up it is a damn good session and introduced me to some new guitarists who were backing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Live at the Checkerboard Lounge Chicago DVD 2012, 5 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At The Checkerboard Lounge Chicago 1981 [DVD] [2012] [NTSC] (DVD)
Everything I expected. Good sound and picture quality. The line-up absolutely great. The atmosphere of the gig was really caught on camera. Muddy at his best with his proteges The Rolling Stones doing the backing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 28 July 2012
This review is from: Live At The Checkerboard Lounge Chicago 1981 [DVD] [2012] [NTSC] (DVD)
Muddy Waters and the Rolling Stones performing live and now in great quality of picture and sound. You would either have to have a pathological dislike of the blues or just not understand both these legendary acts at all to not love this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Singer, Not The Song???, 3 Dec 2012
By 
S. Whitney "lilacmoonbeam" (Stoke, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live At The Checkerboard Lounge Chicago 1981 [DVD] [2012] [NTSC] (DVD)
Would that I could go down to my local blues club and see a stageful of legends jamming away to themselves and the audience. Other than the playing, and we'll come to that in a minute, this is hardly spontaneous stuff: cameras, the Stones bringing their own guitars, and none of that "what the hell key is this one in???" that usually accompanies blues jams ... The Rolling Stones, in their Brian Jones, pre-fame days, would have signed their souls away for a session like this ... and who knows, the fact that this DVD exists might well indicate they did. But was it worth it???

Well, maybe for them in that they played onstage with Muddy Waters it was worth it ... maybe for the lucky bods in the audience it was worth it ... but for us now??? I can't help but think it was one of those occasions that you really had to be there ... Like a lot of these things, and I've taken part in many rambling blues jams over the years, what sounded fantastic when you did it doesn't sound so great the next day ... or 30 or so years on. It's pretty mediocre stuff rendered stellar only by who it is. Sure most of the musicianship is good, Keith plays some lovely solos and Honest Ron Wood performs his usual collection of bum notes, but if this was Rambling Orange Peel And the Crusty Blues Guys from down the road, you wouldn't give it a second listen.

Given all the names involved, this is definitely a case of its being less than the sum of its parts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 30 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At The Checkerboard Lounge Chicago 1981 [DVD] [2012] [NTSC] (DVD)
i did not order this ! lol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live At The Checkerboard Lounge Chicago 1981 [DVD] [2012] [NTSC]
Live At The Checkerboard Lounge Chicago 1981 [DVD] [2012] [NTSC] by Muddy Waters & The Rolling Stones (DVD - 2012)
£13.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews