Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars97
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£7.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 March 2003
Too many people write this film off, claiming its the weakest of all Kevin Smith films....and I still don't know why! Admittedly, one of the central characters, TS, is feeble but that is made up for by the presence of Jason Lee as Brodie. Brodie is hilarious as a selfish, sega loving, bad boyfriend and attaches great importance to 'the mall' as well as Stan Lee's comics.
Kids getting caught in the escalator, making Brodie's fears come true, Silent Bob and Jay attacking the Easter bunny and getting attacked by dozens of kids in return, Ben Affleck as an anally obsessed store manager (wearing a hideous Burtons-style suit), its full of memorable and hilarious moments.
Like 'Clerks' the film really is about nothing, and maybe it does dwell a little on serious relationships and self obsession (TS irritates as well as somehow managing to be a superficial character in the film).
Don't compare it to Clerks or Chasing Amy, its just different!...
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2003
Kevin Smith's second flick in the New Jersey Chronicles series, was commercially slaughtered by critics and movie-goers alike. This in my opinion is totally unfair and unjust. Mallrats is a very funny story about love and relationships and stink-palming!(You'll have to watch it) Jason Lee as Brodie give a stunning performance alongside Jeremy London as T.S.And, of course, the second coming of Jay and Silent Bob, forever trying to outwit mall security guard LaFours (who, allegedly, has two kills). Also, without Mallrats we may never have seen the visually superb Chasing Amy. If you haven't seen the film I strongly recommend it to you as well as Clerks, Chasing Amy, Dogma and Jay and Silent Bob Strike Back. Although the Region 2 DVD has hardly any extras, just a trailer and scene access, the movie alone is worth this purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2006
This was Kevin Smith's follow-up to his innovative and critically acclaimed debut, the ultra-low budget Clerks, and is not really in the same league as some of Smith's other films. Mallrats is the second of five films to feature the characters Jay and Silent Bob (Bob being played by Smith himself) and centres on the attempts of two friends to win back the affections of the girlfriends who have just dumped them. The film is set almost entirely in The Mall, and within the culture of people who hang around the Mall aimlessly (the "Mallrats" of the title). Mallrats is a comedy and it's pretty light stuff, but it is quite funny and features the unique and somewhat stylised dialogue that is Smith's trademark. Also, it has Jason Lee in it, which makes it worth watching on that basis alone...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2015
I can`t believe this was a cinema flop

It is one of the best movies I have seen its very Nerdy/Geeky and you can not take it seriously but it is a lot of silly fun and it will put a grin on your face

I can't remember if I saw this one on tape or on the big screen I think it was tape and promise it is a good film

The cast is a collection of at the time soon to be stars an some who had made it but it runs more like clerks then Dogma it sort of creeps up on you with the comedy the writing and the direction are as we will see a progress but the basic element of keep it light keep it fun is on the money
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2000
When you begin to watch this movie you do not really know what to expect unless you have seen Clerks aswell. You will get into it straight away and will not be able to leave until the end of the film and even then you will want to watch it all again. An amazing film full of great humour and classic scripting. The 'Jedi Mind Trick' is running all the way to the end of the film and as a climactic ending which completes the film. The actors are amazingly funny as are the female cast. This is a story of teenagers who want to live in a comic book world trying to deal with very real life situations in their own special way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 October 2006
Kevin Smith is the foremost film maker to make use of what's become known as 'Geek Chic'. In the eighties geeks were an underground sort of subculture, but in the last 10 to 15 years people have begun to stand up and admit to their previously secret Star Trek addiction or the massive comic book collection. Smith takes these characters away from the glasses-wearing spotty weakling stereotype and begins to portray them as the intelligent, slightly obsessive and generally witty people they are.

And I imagine that by now you've guessed that I too am a geek!

If you want to know if you'll like 'Mallrats', simply ask yourself; Do you read comic books? Do you like Star Wars? Do you love in-jokes? Did you ever spend time just finding ridiculous things to do with your mates? Do you like to see the guy get the girl? And does the idea of a mute wearing a Batman costume crashing into a girls' changing room amuse you? If you answer yes to any or all these questions then watch it.

'Mallrats' is the essence of cult film making and, as such, really won't appeal to everybody. I, however, thought it was hilarious and I think Smith's cleverest element is how well he captures the irrelevant rubbish guys will discuss at length when they're bored (the argument about the Food Court jumps to mind).

Long live Jay and Silent Bob.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2002
I first saw Mallrats a few years ago on a sky movie channel since then I have searched high and low to find it on DVD finally I need search no more I have found the holy grail.
So, the movie would never be considered worthy of an oscar but there is more to a movie than exceptional acting. Some performances are very good Jason Lee (Brodie) is arguably the most hilarious out of the cast including such luminaries as Joey Lauren Adams, Ben Affleck and Claire Forlani before they reached their present day highs. Oh and those two characters that have graced every Kevin Smith movie to date Jay and Silent Bob add a few laughs in what is one of their major roles in any of Smith's films (with the exception of Dogma and Jay and Silent Bob stike back).
The only suspect acting is that of Jeremy London who Smith, quite rightly, savaged for such an inept performance.
The plot is not very original girl dumps boy, boy mopes about, boy thinks of way to win her back and a cheesy Blind Date rip off gameshow. Mallrats is not the most structured of movies but it is the dialogue and the Jay and Silent Bob slapstick that makes this film hilarious and is why I have searched for so long for this movie.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2000
While not as subversive as Clerks nor as obviously offensive to everyone as Dogma, Mallrats is a teen comedy just like the ones that John Hughes did in the eighties, but with Smiths trademark pop culture references and post Farrelly brothers Juvenile humour to make it a very enjoyable and easygoing evenings watch with the guys or the love of your life. From the hilarious voiceover at the start to the episode of Blind Date from Hell ending, you will laugh and wince at the exploits of two great heroes of modern man, Jay & Silent Bob! Snootchie Bootchies!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2000
to be short, i find this to the best of the new jersey quartet from kevin smith, although clerks is more cerebral and basic, and is viewed by many critics as being his best piece of work, i must disagree. on a pure entertainment level this surpasses all others, brodie is a comic character of rare intelligence, and with the greater role of jay and silent bob here, there appears to be an increased level of humour , not only in the script, but also amongst the cast.
although clerks, chasing amy and dogma are all good films, this is a great film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2002
I first saw "Mallrats" approximately one year ago on t.v and was blown away. To this day the plot and character detail continues to astound and entertain. "Mallrats" introduced me to all of Kevin Smith's work(for the uneducated out there, Kevin Smith is a genius)and i am now a proud owner of many videos, dvds and, best of all, comic books(vital!!)
"Mallrats" features a brilliant young cast of virtually unknowns(Shannen Doherty and Ben Affleck being the exceptions) and a rocking soundtrack. You are now probably wondering, "Why only 4 stars?" and the reason is that this edition of the dvd is very dissappointing as there is absolutely no extras or anything to differenciate this release from the vhs version.
Still, don't let that put you off from getting this landmark release - I promise you won't regret it, would I lie to you?
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)