Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Double Bill
Well, Renown have managed it again. A good Double Bill of unpretentious, professional thrillers from the British "B" stable of the 50's and 60's. OUT OF THE FOG has a good plot and several surprises (not least of which is a witty John Arnatt) and, what I found to be, a really suspensful climax. The 2 leads won't make your heart leap, but Susan Travers eventually (you will...
Published on 7 Aug 2012 by A. W. Wilson

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars out of the fog.
old movie ok.
Published 4 months ago by Dennis


Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Double Bill, 7 Aug 2012
By 
A. W. Wilson - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Out of the Fog / Radio Cab Murder (DVD)
Well, Renown have managed it again. A good Double Bill of unpretentious, professional thrillers from the British "B" stable of the 50's and 60's. OUT OF THE FOG has a good plot and several surprises (not least of which is a witty John Arnatt) and, what I found to be, a really suspensful climax. The 2 leads won't make your heart leap, but Susan Travers eventually (you will see what I mean), does make quite an impression (of one kind or another, you decide) as Police Sergeant. Actually I warmed to her by the end. RADIO CAB MURDER has one of my least favourite actors, Jimmy Hanley, but, I confess he too won me over. Another decent plot and good direction moves this caper thriller along nicely (It is a "B" movie tho, so it isn't "Riffifi" (again, watch the film), and it's good to see Sam Kydd in an important role. Lana Morris fails to excite me, tho I am sure Ronnie Waldman would knock me into the middle of next week were he alive. Sonia Holm has a bigger showier role as a "bad" girl. It's quite tough for the time (1954) and in one scene Hanley actually "nuts" one of the villains! I enjoyed both these films, and they are both in good condition - picture and sound. Highly recomended to Renown followers and lovers of Br "B" films (Actually us fans aren't doing too badly now with Renown and Best of British and now the Edgar Wallace films!! I've ordered mine.) Do get this one and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good British supporting double bill..., 3 Sep 2012
By 
C. FULLER (Brixham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Out of the Fog / Radio Cab Murder (DVD)
Out of the Fog is a rare film as I do not think it has ever been shown on UK television. Directed by Montgomery Tully for Grand National in 1962 this stars 2 lesser known actors David Sumner and Susan Travers but does have a number of well known faces such as John Arnatt; James Hayter; Jack Watson plus the bonus of Renee Houston and George Woodbridge adding the character parts. The film is a different slant on criminals released from jail and being helped to go straight. Good copy both picture and sound. Made at Twickenham and has a running time of approx 68 minutes.
Radio Cab Murder dates from 1954 and is directed by Vernon Sewell and on land this time for a change. It has the popular stars Jimmy Hanley and Lana Morris holding the whole story together both action wise as well as romantically. Plenty of location filming and made at Nettlefold studios and approx 70 minutes running time. A good clean print with clear sound. A superior double bill from Renown.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rather good viewing, 28 Nov 2012
By 
Ms. Nicola J. Booth "Nicola" (Guildford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out of the Fog / Radio Cab Murder (DVD)
Rather good viewing, excellent transfer to DVD of all aspects of these 2 films. Never seen them on the TV myself. Pleased with these gems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good British B-movie double bill, 26 July 2013
By 
Colin Smith (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out of the Fog / Radio Cab Murder (DVD)
This is an entertaining pair of vintage black & white B-movies with good picture & sound quality, which should please fans of the genre. There are no extras or subtitles.

An Eternal Films production, OUT OF THE FOG (1962) is for me the pick of the two. The movie opens with George Mallon (David Sumner) being released from prison. A brusque with a chip-on-his-shoulder angry young man & two-time loser, Mallon begins his rehabilitation at the hostel/halfway house run by Daniels (James Hayter). Getting a job as a furniture van driver, Mallon quickly becomes the prime suspect in the case of a serial killer who targets blondes when the moon is full (with not a werewolf in sight!) with Supt Chadwick (John Arnatt) and young police officer, June Lock (Susan Travers) setting the baited trap which hopefully will trap the killer.

More a character study than out and out crime tale, the focus stays firmly on Mallon's agitated character, as the movie effectively builds up to a pretty tense and satisfying climax. Good performances all round with solid support coming from the likes of familiar character actors such as Michael Ripper & George Woodbridge. Written & directed by low budget B-movie specialist, Montgomery Tully, this is one of the prolific director's finest hours (68 minutes to be precise!)

Produced at Nettlefold studios in 1954, RADIO CAB MURDER stars Jimmy Hanley as Fred Martin, a reformed criminal turned taxi driver going undercover to help the police catch a gang of safe robbers by offering his talents as a safecracker to the gang. Eventually things start to go wrong, with Martin left high & dry with the gang after a mix-up which sees the police staking out the wrong bank. With his wholesome on-screen image, Hanley does well in his role, with Lana Morris also featuring as Martin's ever-helpful cab dispatcher and love interest. Amongst the nefarious gang, Sonia Helm stands out as a rather cool & calculating femme fatale. Writer/director Vernon Sewell's story is well paced, IMO a notch down on the accompanying movie but still a very entertaining 70-minute crime tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Out of the Fog, 22 Mar 2013
By 
Mr. John Thompson "john80c" (Otley,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out of the Fog / Radio Cab Murder (DVD)
2 nostalgic films of the 50s with a familiar cast including the late great Frank Thornton. Very good plots for both and both well acted.Glad I bought them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Acting, 23 Feb 2014
By 
Kitty (East Sussex) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out of the Fog / Radio Cab Murder (DVD)
These old films are really worth watching if you would like to look back to a bygone age.
The acting is brilliant along with the clothes and almost quaint speech. Though the stories
are quite simple, they are very powerful in the way they command your attention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars double bill, 17 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out of the Fog / Radio Cab Murder (DVD)
good quality sound and picture for what are "B" films from an era when cinemas showed a supporting film with the advertised main feature,the acting is very good and it has that repeatable quality to them,very good throughout...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars out of the fog., 15 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out of the Fog / Radio Cab Murder (DVD)
old movie ok.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Out of the Fog / Radio Cab Murder
Out of the Fog / Radio Cab Murder by Vernon Sewell (DVD - 2012)
£14.33
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews