Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars crying shame
I sometimes wonder why some bands who clearly have no talent sell millions of records and others who show touches of genius don't. Ride did it their own way and maybe thats why they never even made it into the catorgary of also rans, when they had so much talent. Back in 1990 however, following the release of this album I believed ride had it in them to conquer the...
Published on 30 May 2002

versus
4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It's a bit of thin cardboard
I like this album,always have,when it came out.Use to have it on CD,in a proper CD case.Bought it again,only to find it's a bit of cardboard,like what you get free with the Sunday Papers.They call it Digibox,but it's just a thin bit of cardboard.Though the music is fine
Published 21 months ago by Not as we know it


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Ok, 13 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nowhere (Ogv) [VINYL] (Vinyl)
A classic album from my youth and would recommend it to any indie fan. Good quality vinyl and worth the amount paid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 1990 shoegaze jewel, 15 Mar. 2013
By 
Patrick Struik "starlightspacelab" (Borsbeek, Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nowhere (Audio CD)
I saw them live on Pukkelpop way back then - i guess it was 1991 i do not recall anymore and i have the original CD on Creation but i had to buy this one too seen i adore this shoegaze debut. I do not have their other releases as this one stands out and as a whole i love My Bloody Valentine more as my absolute favourite shoegaze band but this one is a killer must have for people who want to discover the shoegaze sound. A true jewel with only highlights, no lesser tracks but off course Vapour Trail still stands out as sing-along tune. A must have and at this Amazon.uk price a bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Priceless excellence!, 1 Jan. 2002
This review is from: Nowhere (Audio CD)
Shoe Gazing does not come any more hardcore than this.. If you like dreamy guitar based music then you had better check this out! the price tag is worth it just for "Vapour Trail", "Taste" and "Dreams Burn Down" alone!! A timeless classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great album which, 14 Sept. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nowhere (Audio CD)
A great album which, I'm ashamed to admit, I'd forgotten all about. Transport your mid-40s self back 20'years and wallow in a spot of shoe gazing. A fantastic reminder of early 90s life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Masterpiece, 29 May 2002
This review is from: RIDE-NOWHERE (Audio CD)
It's hard in deciding which RIDE album is better: NOWHERE or GOING BLANK AGAIN. I think it comes down to the fact that if it wasn't for NOWHERE then GBA wouldn't exist. NOWHERE is the defining shoe-gazing album. It is at times loud, melodic, and agressive. What more can one say: a CLASSIC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Creation classic, 4 Oct. 2003
By 
Ted Maul "Ted Maul" (Cowsick) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Nowhere (Audio CD)
Ride's debut album 'Nowhere' is easily the equal of Oasis' Definitely Maybe, Primal Scream's 'Screamadelica' and Teenage Fanclub's 'bandwagonesque'- it's that good. An essential purchase, and an album that should really have featured in all those 'best albums of the 90s' lists of a few years ago. a towering achievement. The bonus tracks are great,too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Sept. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nowhere (Audio CD)
My stepdaughter made sure I liked them (birthday and Xmas pressies) but still great for all that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 2 Jun. 2013
This review is from: Nowhere (Audio CD)
Definitely Ride's finest hour and with the excellent Today Forever EP tacked on the end you can't go wrong with this release. The production is immense with some great guitar noises and effects, the songs are beautiful too and Andy and Marks vocal harmonies work really well together.

Sadly it was all downhill from here and in the mid-nineties when shoegazing went out of fashion the band were doomed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Look no further!, 25 May 2003
By 
Thomas J Kelly (Cambridge, Cambridgeshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Nowhere (Audio CD)
With one album, Ride have completely held my musical attention hostage. I'd never heard of Ride until their guitarist, Andy Bell, joined Oasis as the bassist, but on hearing this album along with OX4 The Best of Ride I sit and wonder why i couldn't have discovered the band earlier.
Ride's style is so unique in that appears to fuse a lot of jangly sixties-style psychedelia (with a major nod to The Byrds) with a more modern distorted rock sound. Songs such as the title track 'Nowhere' are great experiments with musical noise and hypnotising vocal melodies. Alternatively songs such as 'In A Different Place' and the timeless 'Vapour Trail' seem to propel your mind into a different dimension with their gentle melodies and beautiful lyrical allusions.
lyrics.
For those who appreciate the best music, here's THE album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius, 27 Nov. 2000
By 
Mr. N. Doron (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: RIDE-NOWHERE (Audio CD)
Nothing much to say except for if u do not own this album then get it ASAP because it is absolutely brilliant. Beautiful, energetic and just brilliant. a true masterpiece
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nowhere
Nowhere by Ride (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews