Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars crying shame
I sometimes wonder why some bands who clearly have no talent sell millions of records and others who show touches of genius don't. Ride did it their own way and maybe thats why they never even made it into the catorgary of also rans, when they had so much talent. Back in 1990 however, following the release of this album I believed ride had it in them to conquer the...
Published on 30 May 2002

versus
4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It's a bit of thin cardboard
I like this album,always have,when it came out.Use to have it on CD,in a proper CD case.Bought it again,only to find it's a bit of cardboard,like what you get free with the Sunday Papers.They call it Digibox,but it's just a thin bit of cardboard.Though the music is fine
Published 15 months ago by Andy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Priceless excellence!, 1 Jan 2002
This review is from: Nowhere (Audio CD)
Shoe Gazing does not come any more hardcore than this.. If you like dreamy guitar based music then you had better check this out! the price tag is worth it just for "Vapour Trail", "Taste" and "Dreams Burn Down" alone!! A timeless classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Masterpiece, 29 May 2002
This review is from: RIDE-NOWHERE (Audio CD)
It's hard in deciding which RIDE album is better: NOWHERE or GOING BLANK AGAIN. I think it comes down to the fact that if it wasn't for NOWHERE then GBA wouldn't exist. NOWHERE is the defining shoe-gazing album. It is at times loud, melodic, and agressive. What more can one say: a CLASSIC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Creation classic, 4 Oct 2003
By 
Ted Maul "Ted Maul" (Cowsick) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Nowhere (Audio CD)
Ride's debut album 'Nowhere' is easily the equal of Oasis' Definitely Maybe, Primal Scream's 'Screamadelica' and Teenage Fanclub's 'bandwagonesque'- it's that good. An essential purchase, and an album that should really have featured in all those 'best albums of the 90s' lists of a few years ago. a towering achievement. The bonus tracks are great,too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 2 Jun 2013
This review is from: Nowhere (Audio CD)
Definitely Ride's finest hour and with the excellent Today Forever EP tacked on the end you can't go wrong with this release. The production is immense with some great guitar noises and effects, the songs are beautiful too and Andy and Marks vocal harmonies work really well together.

Sadly it was all downhill from here and in the mid-nineties when shoegazing went out of fashion the band were doomed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Look no further!, 25 May 2003
By 
Thomas J Kelly (Cambridge, Cambridgeshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Nowhere (Audio CD)
With one album, Ride have completely held my musical attention hostage. I'd never heard of Ride until their guitarist, Andy Bell, joined Oasis as the bassist, but on hearing this album along with OX4 The Best of Ride I sit and wonder why i couldn't have discovered the band earlier.
Ride's style is so unique in that appears to fuse a lot of jangly sixties-style psychedelia (with a major nod to The Byrds) with a more modern distorted rock sound. Songs such as the title track 'Nowhere' are great experiments with musical noise and hypnotising vocal melodies. Alternatively songs such as 'In A Different Place' and the timeless 'Vapour Trail' seem to propel your mind into a different dimension with their gentle melodies and beautiful lyrical allusions.
lyrics.
For those who appreciate the best music, here's THE album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius, 27 Nov 2000
By 
Mr. N. Doron (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: RIDE-NOWHERE (Audio CD)
Nothing much to say except for if u do not own this album then get it ASAP because it is absolutely brilliant. Beautiful, energetic and just brilliant. a true masterpiece
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It's a bit of thin cardboard, 7 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nowhere (Audio CD)
I like this album,always have,when it came out.Use to have it on CD,in a proper CD case.Bought it again,only to find it's a bit of cardboard,like what you get free with the Sunday Papers.They call it Digibox,but it's just a thin bit of cardboard.Though the music is fine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Still overrated...let it go., 16 Mar 2007
This review is from: Nowhere (Audio CD)
Personally I bought Fall when it was released and then the two previous EPs. When Nowhere came out I shared the creeping disappointment of many. The freshness and drive of the first three EPs was not matched and the debut long player, despite having several high points, fell when it should have flown.

As time passes Nowhere sounds increasing like a genre piece sitting comfortably with so many other scene makers of the time: Chapterhouse; Slowdive; Moose et al. Sadly it wears it's influences to openly. Nowhere, indeed Ride, would not exist without The Byrds and My Bloody Valentine, two seminal and unique bands. Nowhere is derivative in way that the EPs transcended. This album simply fails to fulfil the bands early promise and Kaleidoscope, Paralysed and Vapour Trail fail to elevate it and prevent it being assigned to the pigeon hole of early nineties shoe gazing melodrama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nowhere
Nowhere by Ride (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews