Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent
In the words of 'Artrocker'

Singles for the week starting 28 May!Public Service Broadcasting
The War Room EP
(Test Card Recordings)
* * * * *

Here's something you don't get every day. Public Service Broadcasting have been granted access to British propaganda films from the World War 2 era, and they've sampled them, slapped echo on...
Published on 28 May 2012 by Ms. L. Cruickshank

versus
2 of 30 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nothing new here
Sampling WW2 speeches seems like a recent invention but The Men They Couldn't Hang 'The Crest' as a twelve inch was far superior to this in both content and musical competancy. It also worked back in 87' because many more of the original people who fought against a war of aggression were alive, and there would have been hell to pay had they got it wrong. In the face of...
Published on 17 Jun 2012 by K. A. Hollingsworth


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent, 28 May 2012
By 
Ms. L. Cruickshank "music lover" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The War Room (MP3 Download)
In the words of 'Artrocker'

Singles for the week starting 28 May!Public Service Broadcasting
The War Room EP
(Test Card Recordings)
* * * * *

Here's something you don't get every day. Public Service Broadcasting have been granted access to British propaganda films from the World War 2 era, and they've sampled them, slapped echo on them, and whacked then in the middle of a digitally groovy post rock epic! Zoiks Scooby.
Luckily this two piece are smart and propulsive enough to give this idea legs. 'If War Should Come' shows off their dance chops, but also feeds emotionally off the narrative of the samples - as we're first told: "No one in this country wants war!" to a tentative and nervous build up, then blown away by a climactic guitar hailstorm, which pulls away to reveal the melancholy revelation; "I have to tell you now, this country is at war."
From here we're thrown into the atmosphere of the Blitz ("Soon the nightly battle of London will be on") to the broadly sci-fi breakbeats of 'London Can Take It', while 'Spitfire' feels almost like Orbital with glam rock hooks. Later, 'Waltz For George' depicts the weary soldiers staggering away from the beaches and boats from whence they fought. I'm not usually one for history lessons, but this EP is a dramatic juxtaposition - and it's genuinely moving. Propaganda or not, this has been a successful mission.
Cindy Suzuki
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stiff Upper Lip Krautrock?, 6 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The War Room (Audio CD)
Sounds like several overlapping strands of "Krautrock" (always hated that term) overlaid with British WW2 propaganda. I hear the influence of Harmonia - this is a very good thing! The juxtaposition works! Excellent stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MORE PLEASE, 20 Aug 2012
This review is from: The War Room (MP3 Download)
Very different and a pleasure to listen to.

Reminds me of war of the worlds.
Shame its to short would love to listen to more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The War Room - simply excellent!!, 3 Jun 2012
By 
N. Gallacher "Nick" (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The War Room (MP3 Download)
Totally agree with the previous reviewer - this EP is something a bit special, and takes atmospheric to a whole new dimension.

This is hard music to describe - there is definately a tip of the hat to some darker Pink Floyd, but with chord changes and rhythm more akin to The Verve, with an electronic twist similar to some songs from The XX, it's also almost like progressive house in some places. The WWII samples are really eerie, haunting voiceovers and the paradox of these voices from the past on very modern music works extremely well, and is a breath of fresh air in terms of originality and experimentation.

Stand out tracks for me are Spitfire and Dig for Victory - as the titles suggest, the whole EP has a War Theme. The song Spitfire starts off with the roar of a Merlin engine, which any Brit recognises becuase it is in their blood - there is a sample of a Spitfire Pilot talking to "Hunter Leader" on the radio, giving the position of approaching German Fighters, at the end he says "Can you see them, can you SEE them?! The tension and excitement of this exchange is palpable, and is greatly exentuated by a lift in key and increase in tempo right afterwards - just fantastic. Writing this does not do it justice - you have to listen to it, and you'll see what I mean

There is no doubt that this is an aquired (yet not too "far out" to be unaccesable) taste in music, but I personally have not heard anything of late that strikes such a chord. It's bizzarely really patriotic, yet some truly outstanding alternative music. I would definately, definately recommend this, and it will be interesting to see where the band go from here. As a debut, they have totally nailed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars buy it, 19 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The War Room (MP3 Download)
Public Service Brodcasting- The War Room
I highly recommend this to anyone who wants something a bit different- remember to buy the whole album, thats how albums work

*****
favourite track is dig for victory or spitfire
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Already EP of the decade?, 18 Jun 2012
This review is from: The War Room (MP3 Download)
A simply magnificent 5 track EP - if you go to the bands own website you can purchase the cd version as I did. It will be the best 3.50 you will ever spend on music for a long time. Stunning & original piece of artistry/ musicianship mixed with social comment and worthy tributes to freedom .(The mini album is movingly dedicated to band relative 26 yr old George Willgoose who died in WW2 ).

The most significant track 'Spitfire' sears and flows like the said aeroplane ; it swoops, arches and accelerates to quite astonishing guitars keyboards and percussion. And of course that brilliant BFI soundtrack voice over. Sensational stuff - as Messrs Gideon Coe, Radcliffe & Marconie already know .

Buy the album though and not just the single....all tracks are gems and some quite superb banjo and bass on the incredibly haunting 'Waltz for George' completes. He would be very proud of this I suspect.

As another reviewer correctly mentions its no Jubilesque/ Warmongering effort, quite the opposite. And makes me feel even gladder as a result . If you like the classic Propaganda (ironically from Dusseldorf ) album 'A Secret Wish' or some tuneful Joy Division like 'Transmission/Radio' you will also love this. Totally original .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 6 Jun 2012
This review is from: The War Room (MP3 Download)
I brought this after hearing them on 6Radio. I agree with the other reviewers have said but would also add that there is more than a passing glance to Life in a Bush of Ghosts by Byrne and Eno.

Would thoroughly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great EP, 10 Dec 2012
By 
B. Jury "benjury" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The War Room [VINYL] (Vinyl)
I think like most others I first heard Public Service Broadcasting's music via 6 Music, and was instantly hooked. To my ear there is a great hint of Lemonjelly here, which for me is the ultimate compliment.

The physical EP itself is well put together and doesn't feel cheep. This is good as the pricing is along the lines of all vinyl nowadays in that it is more expensive than it should be. Still, the music is excellent, so in this one case it's worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 26 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The War Room (MP3 Download)
I just absolutely love this band since hearing it a few times on radio 6. Really meaty electro vibes using old voice clips which aint original but this sound most definitely is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whatever you hear in it, it's great, 8 Oct 2012
By 
Runmentionable "Why Be A Raisin When You Can ... (Exiled Mackem) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The War Room (MP3 Download)
I'm with the reviewer consensus here: I bought this excellent EP after hearing tracks from it on 6 Records, I think the mix of samples from wartime movie soundtracks and modern music is clever, exciting and stirring, and I think "Spitfire" is the best track (though they're all good).

Also, like most other reviewers, it reminded me of other music, in this case (and particularly on "Spitfire"), the mighty Neu! What's interesting in reading all the reviews is how much different music comes to mind when a spread of people listen to the EP - and this is where the reviewer consensus falls apart. Got to be a good thing: if it wasn't obvious just from its immediate excellence, the fact it triggers such a spread of different associations in its audience confirms this is music of depth and richness as well as pure pleasure.

More, please, and soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The War Room
The War Room by Public Service Broadcasting
Buy MP3 Album2.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews