Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
13
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
12
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£0.49

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 December 2013
The book and its cover are nice enough but of course the story, unfinished and unedited, still represents the highest achievement of this author. His ability to draw characters, to let them interact naturally, to weave an atmosphere in as few words as possible are a rare talent, and were this story finished it would (in my view) be an extension of The Great Gatsby rather than Tender is the Night, based on what he did manage to finish. A great sadness that he didn't live to complete it.

As for the book itself, it is well presented and forms part of a series of "hardback classics" that are worth showing on any bookshelf, but that is of course a mere bonus for those who like good books.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2013
Just when I thought I had covered all the F. Scott Fitzgerald in town, this little beauty pops up and yaps at me. Down, boy, down! I love his style, I love his grace. His buddy said 'grace under pressure' but I think F. Scott was the exemplar of that philosophy.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2013
It's widely thought that had he finished it, this novel would have been Fitzgerald's masterpiece. As it is, about half of the planned chapters completed, it is wonderfully readable. And this edition is one to cherish, with its lovely period pictures.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2013
If only Fitzgerald hadn't died far too young, this might have been better than the great gatsby, what's left is certainly very good. And i like the cover with Thalberg on it, he inspired the main character!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2016
Auden said he would exchange all his verse for the contents of this book and it is, indeed, a goody. The book shimmers with the life of Munroe - the eponymous hero who suffers ennui despite his job. It is based on a real person, who is celebrated in The Oscars, and the book is sad and poignant on a man's life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2016
Always loved his work since a teenager, which is a lot of years ago now, characters and story lines just wonderful, recommend anyone to read all his books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2013
Scott Fitzgerald pulls no punches , his comments on the Hollywood hubris feel contemporary , and apply to our celebrity culture of 2013 .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2016
Excellent reading. Could not literally put it down. Great addition to my library. I love this book. Buy it folks. You won't regret it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2016
Beautiful book 😀 Bought it for my daughter , she has the full set now , she loves them xxx
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2011
I'm not going to review the book here. Just want to say that this anniversary collection by Penguin is so lovely I've bought the all 6 books. I've only read The Great Gatsby for now but I can say the notes help understanding the novel's references better and the introduction is a very intelligent analysis of Fitzgerald's work.

Highly recommend this collection of Fitzgerald's novels.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.