Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gentle romance/coming of age movie
The French make great movies. I can't ever imagine seeing a British movie like this so stripped down, raw and real with such an enigmatic ending. The film has stunning cinematography and three excellent leading actors. I would have preferred it if the focus had been on Lola Creton's character the entire way through instead of placing unnecessary emphasis on the boyfriend...
Published 13 months ago by The Earnest Critic

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
After reading several positive reviews for this film I was looking forward to watching it, however, I was left disappointed. I thought that Lola Créton - playing lead character Camille - was good, and there's some really nice cinematography throughout the film, but ultimately I just didn't find it that engaging. I think a major part of the problem comes from the...
Published on 16 Sept. 2012 by Magneto


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 16 Sept. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After reading several positive reviews for this film I was looking forward to watching it, however, I was left disappointed. I thought that Lola Créton - playing lead character Camille - was good, and there's some really nice cinematography throughout the film, but ultimately I just didn't find it that engaging. I think a major part of the problem comes from the actor who plays the object of Camille's affections - Sebastian Urzendowsky, playing Sullivan. Not only did his character seem two dimensional, but he is also lacking in any on-screen charisma. This makes it hard for the viewer to empathize with Camille's feelings when he leaves for his trip, causing her subsequent unhappiness. It's still an ok film, just not as good as I expected. I would suggest renting before buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gentle romance/coming of age movie, 5 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The French make great movies. I can't ever imagine seeing a British movie like this so stripped down, raw and real with such an enigmatic ending. The film has stunning cinematography and three excellent leading actors. I would have preferred it if the focus had been on Lola Creton's character the entire way through instead of placing unnecessary emphasis on the boyfriend early on and for too long. I would recommend this to people who love real cinema. If you want a movie where people constantly talk for absolutely no reason then this isn't for you as it's thankfully short on dialogue. If you have teenagers I would highly recommend it to them for the honesty of its character portrayals/human emotions/sexual and emotional awakening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Watching the river flow, 16 Feb. 2015
By 
technoguy "jack" (Rugby) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
In Goodbye First Love, director Mia Hansen-Love,never films the past as the past but always as the present. She doesn't heavily demarcate different stages of a relationship,time's like a flowing river. When do you let go of the past ,can you? The actors have always to be present in the scene, to be in the moment, not think about the past. She appears to draw from her two young lovers a naturalism of performance. There's a hint of Eric Rohmer's romances about this tender,youthful,optimistic love story,especially that shown in the Ardeche region.

Hansen-Love's semi-autobiographical tale has 15 year-old Camille(Lola Creton) spending a last,lingering summer in the Ardeche with her older boyfriend Sullivan(Sebastian Urzendowsky),who is about to go on a South American tour with male friends. This is full of the infatuation of 1st love, which at the time seems it will last forever, but really must be jettisoned if the balloon is to fly. Sullivan,though in love,is not quite ready for commitment. Their over-dramatized promises of suicide if the other leaves,shows a self-absorption and narrow-sightedness that has to go.

The film traverses a decade long time-span.Years later they meet up and Camille can look back with hindsight at her heartbreak and subsequent growth in this beautiful,unsentimental film. She becomes an architecture student, lives with her tutor, an older man,Lorenz( Magne Havard-Brekke),offering her stability rather than impulsiveness, whom she betrays once Sullivan reappears, following a miscarriage. This shows that despite time, nothingchanges," I'll always love you,but I don't know why."But he backs off.She lets a straw hat (Sullivan's gift) float away in a stream. The film music is brilliantly selected,ending with,'All that I have is a river," Johnny Flynne and Laura Marling's poignant song.All the music is unusual and original, adding to the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Watch it once, 16 Feb. 2015
By 
Stephen Bishop (Darlington, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Goodbye First Love [DVD] (DVD)
Fairly engaging film about first love and then growing up, moving on into adulthood. Has the usual charm of French films about love. Worth watching once but probably not again. Some slight unlikelihood about how relaxed the parents are about it all. Main male character does not age convincingly to match the female lead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this film, 31 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goodbye First Love [DVD] (DVD)
Loved this film.Lead actress was just right,a really special film with a good choice of background songs especially 'little ticks of time' by Matt McGinn and 'The Water' Laura Marling. Caught part of this film on BBC4 and had to buy it to see it right through, really glad I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bland, mediocre, empty... outline of a film., 4 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well, when I saw the title of this film, I was intrigued, I thought it could be worthwhile, after all, who doesn't have great memories of their first love, right?

Sadly I have to admit the film was a huge disappointment.
Let's start with characters who are written in such a way it's hard to think of them as real persons. No motivations, no purpose, just nothing... even when they're faced with situations which have the potential to carry some importance, it's presented in such a flat fashion it's unbelievable. Single, almost mute, 5-10 second scenes like... suicide attempt, miscarriage, divorce of parents... surprisingly, carry zero emotion or impact on characters and the story, you could easily cut them out and it wouldn't make any difference.

Main relationship is so bland, empty and meaningless... I bet your grandparents have more exciting relationship than guys in this film (if it's autobiographical, I'm truly sorry for them), all they do is pretentious, melodramatic talk about how much they love each other and have sex, that's all... I'm not joking. Why are they together? What do they like about each other? Who cares...

Same with their surroundings... the city, their families... all represented in a sketchy way. They're out there, but hold no meaningful purpose.

Plot goes like this:
Sullivan loves her so much that... he has to leave her for 10 months and go for a trip to South America for no reason... obviously (Oh, and if you think we get to see South America, that's a no). Story unfolds in a glacial tempo, few insignificant things happen, and then... surprise! They meet yet again, they have sex, some more silly conversations about how much they love each other and... he sends her a letter that they can't be together. End of story. Really.
I've just saved 102 minutes of your life.

Visually it's close to Dardenne brothers films, but the gap in character depth and storytelling makes it look retarded in comparison.
Film gets 3 stars just because sound, picture and acting are done properly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A really sweet story., 27 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goodbye First Love [DVD] (DVD)
This is a really sweet story of discovery and love, beautifully filmed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, 14 Aug. 2012
This review is from: Goodbye First Love [DVD] (DVD)
A lovely film and a surprisingly sweet story. Would recommend to those who like rom-coms or romance dramas. Seems like the French really are romantics!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goodbye First Love [DVD] (DVD)
Thank you very much!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Goodbye First Love [DVD]
Goodbye First Love [DVD] by Mia Hansen-Løve (DVD - 2012)
£6.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews