Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awsome
I would strongly recommend this product to anyone who has an interest in, philosophy, the human race, and how we as a society can help make the world a better place. I have read quite a few of the dalai lamas books but found this one to be the most user friendly in relation to understanding some of the more complex teachings in buddhist religion. The dalai lama does not...
Published on 24 Jan. 2012 by Aitch B

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking
I haven't finished this yet it's a book that makes you think I find I need to re-read a lot over again but it certainly makes you think
Published 23 months ago by Gran


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awsome, 24 Jan. 2012
By 
Aitch B "Aitch" (Whitehaven England.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I would strongly recommend this product to anyone who has an interest in, philosophy, the human race, and how we as a society can help make the world a better place. I have read quite a few of the dalai lamas books but found this one to be the most user friendly in relation to understanding some of the more complex teachings in buddhist religion. The dalai lama does not try to preach but discusses how best we as a race can live and work in harmony.Ace!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Olive branch to Atheists, 11 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a proud "militant" Atheistic I realise my views often cause offence to others. As an attempt to find some middle ground with religious believers I decided to read this book. The Dalai Lama is clearly approaching this subject from his strong religious beliefs but successfully finds much we can all agree on.

Whilst I will continue to preach evangelically about atheism I shall hopefully be able to do so with a clearer understanding that, for the most part, we all seek the same things from life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Reasoning, even for religious folk., 4 Jan. 2012
I suggest prospective readers of this book view the Amazon USA site for many good reviews of this book: I couldn't do much better.

Take note that the 2011 edition is more expensive than the 2012 edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beyond religion, 24 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In an increasingly material world, the Dalai Lama has again reminded us how we, as a people, can benefit from bringing things back to normal.
Simply written and easy to follow, it guides us back to a lifestyle where we consider everyone and the results of our actions.
Although formed from a Buddhist foundation, it is a mindset that applies equally to all faiths. If only it was as easy to put into practice!
An inspirational book that I would highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bedside reading, 5 Feb. 2012
Dalai Lamas book contain thoughts that is both necessary and useful in our age. I have a profound respect for Dalai Lama. Especially for his view about a non-religous ethic. I can recommend the book warmly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Common sense isn't so common, 12 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent book giving insight into why things have gone so wrong (and continue to) I found the book quite inspiring. Also easy to read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant!, 27 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another great book by the great man. he has such grace and character its like meditating just reading his words! I am not religious but it is great to know that there are (few) important religious people with such open minds, fearless of science and the times, making faith straight forward - this is a great read for anyone regardless of religion or belief, an open mind is essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and interesting read for anyone interested in religions, 19 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent and interesting read for anyone interested in religions, spirituality and ethics in 21st Century. It cuts right through hypocrisy and misunderstandings and gives you a non-judgemental way to approach personal development................or simply to try and understand meaningful ways to relate to yourself, others and the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book well written, 8 Mar. 2013
By 
M. Linnard (Newcastle UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An easy book to read with very little reference to abstract concepts or practices. The book gives plain speaking guidance on how a moral compass can be formed that is both compatible with all major religions and those who don't follow any prescribed faith. A blueprint for how to get along on an ever more crowded planet :-D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A world wide secuklar ethic is now needed, 27 Jan. 2013
By 
Rev. T. J. Carter (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It may seem surprising that the Dalai Lama advocates a world wide secular ethic based on the human need of compassion rather than the ethic of any one major religion, important though these religions are in the development of mankind. The Dalai Lama presents cogent arguments for his beliefs, which I found convincing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews