Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Profiler on the case
One of Sweden's foremost police profilers Sebastian Bergman (Rolf Lassgård of Wallander fame) is drawn back into work - after a hiatus in the wake of losing his wife and daughter in the 2004 tsunami - when a teenager is found brutally killed in the woods near his recently deceased mother's home and the police in his mind clearly are looking in the wrong places for the...
Published 21 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars excellent Rolf Lassgard
A rather topsy turvy swedish thriller . The first introduces Sebastien , I found his non pc stance very warming and amusing but by the second episode I found the number of coincidences too out there for my belief . The serial killer was so Silence of the Lambs and the ending too Hollywood to satisfy my more bleak tastes . Lacks the clever qualities of the Killing and so...
Published 15 months ago by cartoon


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Profiler on the case, 3 July 2012
By 
Amazon Customer "maria2222" (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sebastian Bergman [DVD] (DVD)
One of Sweden's foremost police profilers Sebastian Bergman (Rolf Lassgård of Wallander fame) is drawn back into work - after a hiatus in the wake of losing his wife and daughter in the 2004 tsunami - when a teenager is found brutally killed in the woods near his recently deceased mother's home and the police in his mind clearly are looking in the wrong places for the killer.

He is very unpopular with the former colleagues in the police force due to his abrasive, undisciplined and politically incorrect comments and actions - and his philandering ways do nothing to endear him to the new recruits either. But he is respected for his insight and as his old friend at the head of the investigation allows him in the team to help him move on with his life, Bergman proves his worth and leads the way for future cooperation.

There are two feature length episodes on the DVD, the first dealing with the dead boy in the woods and the second dealing with a killer that apparently copies the murders in one of Bergman's old cases.

The series is well acted (almost too well as Bergman is truly a disagreeable person that I find it difficult to empathize with even when we know of his great loss) with some good stories and the setting works well. The camera is a bit unruly to begin with but fortunately it calms down and allows the actors and locations to "tell" the story. One thing that I thought was overdone though was the many times we see him grabbing in vain for his daughters hand. I think with an actor of that calibre there are many other ways that his grief could have been portrayed rather than the obvious symbolism of him unconsciously clenching and unclenching his hand in a desperate attempt to save her life.

All in all a good start to the series and I hope they will bring out the next episodes soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Swedish Wood, 30 Mar 2013
By 
prisrob "pris," (New England USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Sebastian Bergman [DVD] (DVD)
Vesteras, a small city, in Sweden, finds itself in the midst of a murder and DI Hansen, new to the job, wants the best team. All she has is a lazy detective who wanted her job, so she calls in the National CID, to solve the murder. Torkel,the head brings in his crew,Urusala, Vanya and Billy. They are on top of the job, complicated by the lazy one who gets in the way. On their second day, an old member of the team, Sebastian Bergman shows up. He is not liked by anyone, rude and obnoxious, however, Terkel recognizes he could use his expertise. Sebastian has a method to his madness in requesting to work with his old team, again. He keeps it quiet, but does ask Billy for assistance hunting down an address from a name. Sebastian has a difficult personality, but he is good at his job. He is very competitive, and each of the team members strive to one up him.

This was one of the most explicit novels, and it kept me on tenterhooks. The characters are all so well written,that I could see them in my mind's eye. All of the detectives with big egos, always wanting to best each other. The suspects all have some hidden secrets, and when investigated, well... Then, Sebastian Bergman, the biggest lout with nothing that exudes sex, is able to bed every woman he meets. He finds comfort in his sexual liaisons. He has one of the most interesting of personal stories, but he reveals very little. Having difficulty sleeping, his work as a criminal psychologist, leads him to varied places, literally and emotionally. Bergman is the man to look to. He often goes off on his own, and he is often right. Much to the team's dismay. They want to solve the murder, but THEY want to be the one who solves it. Bergman with his secrets and mysteries has the biggest surprise of his life!

Brilliant writing, terrific plot and characters brought to life, this is the stuff excellent murder mysteries are made of.

Highly Recommended. prisrob 03-29-13
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant nordic noir, 19 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sebastian Bergman [DVD] (DVD)
For fans of Wallander, The Bridge and The Killing comes another scandinavian anti hero. Dark and well plotted, fairly slow paced it's the perfect antidote to some English and American detective dramas that sometimes spoon feed the audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Journey of renewal., 5 Jun 2012
By 
Mr. T. A. Maurice "Film Addict" (Essex,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sebastian Bergman [DVD] (DVD)
The central character,Sebastian Bergman,initially alienates the viewer with his obnoxious,selfish behaviour.
Quite quickly one learns of the tragedy that lies at the heart of that behaviour.
The two crimes that feature in the series are used not only as a backdrop to Sebastian Bergman's transition to a final coming to terms with his underlying grief,but his interaction with the serial killer drives forward the momentum to a change of character that enables him to forego a newly arisen chance of happiness.
Rolf Lassgard portrayal of Sebastian Bergman is superb,as is that of the actor who plays the serial killer,and in particular the scenes of mental mind games between the two are engrossing.
For anyone who appreciates a film with slowly engrossing,well written,storyline,and some excellent acting,Sebastian Bergman is well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unusually troubled 'hero' makes for an unconventional & very dark crime series, 24 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Rolf Lassgård often plays unconventional protoganists. This new series showcases a new anti-hero, Sebastian Bergman, a famed criminal profiler. When we first meet him at the start of the first episode, he's almost impossible to warm to. Boorish, sexist and with an ego to meet his frame. But as he blags his way onto a detective squad to get back in 'the game' layers of his personality, including why he's become the man we see, become clearer.
And by the time we leave him at the end of the last episode, he's become changed by his experiences and his personal life though not resolved is markedly improved.

So that's one reason why this is a great show to watch. The other reason is that the crimes he's trying to help solve are complex, bloody and compelling. If you're a fan of The Killing - Series 1-3 [Blu-ray] or The Bridge - BBC Series 1 [Blu-ray], you'll feel on familiar ground.

But what's the blu-ray edition like? Like all good blu-ray transfers, it faithfully reproduces the texture, detail and texture of the original photography. Appropriately gritty, but also very sharp and detailed where the scenes allow. It's not expensive on amazon so you might want to choose this edition over the DVD edition to enjoy this series at it's best.

Highly recommended. Let's hope a second series will follow soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More quality Nordic Noir, 28 May 2012
This review is from: Sebastian Bergman [DVD] (DVD)
I was keen to see Sebastian Bergman as it stars one of my favourite actors, Rolf Lassgard - an actor I've been fast catching up on of late in films such as After the Wedding and The Hunters (Jagarna). I've yet to watch his Wallander's but they are on my list. Sebastian Bergman is not as polished or sophisticated as The Killing or Borgen but anyone who enjoys top notch nordic noir or crime drama in general will love Bergman. Rolf exudes class as usual as the gruff, grief stricken criminal profiler and the plot keeps you guessing right until the end. The character is reminiscent of Cracker but the setting and nature of the crime is unmistakably Nordic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable Nordic thriller, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sebastian Bergman [DVD] (DVD)
An interesting and enjoyable series, well worth a look if you liked other "Nordic Noir" thrillers such as "The Bridge".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyable!, 2 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sebastian Bergman [DVD] (DVD)
So much better than anything from Hollywood. Real characters with interesting personalities and private lives. The plots are believable and excellent. Not just american bling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First class, 26 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sebastian Bergman [DVD] (DVD)
I loved it great story have wanted this film for a long time did not disappoint. Loved it a lot
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nordic cool., 9 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sebastian Bergman [DVD] (DVD)
I'm a big fan of Rolf Lassgard, and I've seen just about everything he's been in. His understated acting is a cut above most of the other excellent Scandinavian actors I've seen. My one criticism of the film is the unnecessary, and frankly, clumsy symbolism of the childs' hand. But Hey, he didn't write the screenplay did he. If you liked The Killing, The Bridge, or any other Nordic offering, you'll love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa02514e0)

This product

Sebastian Bergman [DVD]
Sebastian Bergman [DVD] by Michael Hjorth (DVD - 2012)
£9.43
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews