Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very worthy successor to the 'Lost Land' programmes!
Having eagerly devoured the 'Lost Land' programmes, I can honestly say that this is just as good, and in some ways perhaps even better.

Exploring nature's unfamiliar and, at times, scary nocturnal world, a team of scientists and film-makers travel the length of Central and South America to showcase some of the weird and wonderful creatures that emerge after...
Published on 14 Aug 2012 by Biggis

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Blair Witch Project with Bugs
It's a decent wildlife documentary with lots of cutting-edge technology - excellent infrared and nighttime cameras. Some amazing footage -- spiders pouncing, pumas hunting in the dark. Unfortunately, the show is saturated with unprofessional and sensationalist melodrama that consistently rings false -- "Oh my god! What IS that? It's coming to get me!"

The...
Published on 28 Aug 2012 by Lord Moose


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very worthy successor to the 'Lost Land' programmes!, 14 Aug 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dark: Nature's Night Time World [DVD] (DVD)
Having eagerly devoured the 'Lost Land' programmes, I can honestly say that this is just as good, and in some ways perhaps even better.

Exploring nature's unfamiliar and, at times, scary nocturnal world, a team of scientists and film-makers travel the length of Central and South America to showcase some of the weird and wonderful creatures that emerge after dark.

Use of thermal imaging and the like does not always make for the most engaging wildlife programming, and for this reason I wasn't quite sure what to expect. However, the programme-makers seem to have been quite conscious of this, and the use of any such technology is amply balanced by more conventional filming methods, resulting in an edge-of-your-seat journey to rival anything featured in the 'Lost Land' series.

Set against the backdrop of South America's stunning natural landscapes - including the breathtaking mountain scenery of the Torres del Paine National Park in Patagonia - and featuring some quite remarkable footage, series highlights include a death-defying close encounter with a jaguar, some beautiful images of owl monkeys, and a wonderfully intimate window into the secret world of the puma.

My only gripe, though admittedly a microscopic one, is that this time there was no Steve Backshall, and although it wasn't quite the same without him scaling a cliff-face, dangling from a rope or doing battle with rapids, perhaps even Steve would struggle to steal the show when there are jaguars and pumas involved!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb !!, 12 Nov 2013
This review is from: The Dark: Nature's Night Time World [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant series (sadly too short !) but the use of the new generation IR and low light cameras is amazing at showing natural nocturnal behaviour. I like george mcgavin so any programme with him in is always a safe bet !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Blair Witch Project with Bugs, 28 Aug 2012
By 
This review is from: The Dark: Nature's Night Time World [DVD] (DVD)
It's a decent wildlife documentary with lots of cutting-edge technology - excellent infrared and nighttime cameras. Some amazing footage -- spiders pouncing, pumas hunting in the dark. Unfortunately, the show is saturated with unprofessional and sensationalist melodrama that consistently rings false -- "Oh my god! What IS that? It's coming to get me!"

The presenters are likeable, but just not credible. They've been over-directed and it all ends up a bit silly. If I had known better, I'd have waited for it to repeat on TV and saved my money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Aug 2014
By 
J. Staniford - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dark: Nature's Night Time World [DVD] (DVD)
Good family watching, very interesting to see all the nightime creatures
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Sep 2014
This review is from: The Dark: Nature's Night Time World [DVD] (DVD)
no problems would recommend excellent buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars nature, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dark: Nature's Night Time World [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD was excellent value, well documented and filmed, very enjoyable. I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone interested in wild life
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for kids, 13 Jan 2013
By 
F. Robertson "herbie" (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dark: Nature's Night Time World [DVD] (DVD)
Exciting and a must for a change from cartoons for the kids. So very interesting and educational from four years upwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The natural world as seen at night, 3 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dark: Nature's Night Time World [DVD] (DVD)
This film showed how alert many animals have to be even after day is over & we're often fast asleep! It is so unusual to see how these animals are just as active, often through necessity, during those hours when we think they've shut down for the night!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some part of it are good, most are over done., 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dark: Nature's Night Time World [DVD] (DVD)
Not jam-packed with lifeforms as expected, this another BBC produced three-toed slothlike oogler for the layman as he gets home from work.
This is easy viewing, but does not make you leap out of your seat for another cup of tea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 10 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dark: Nature's Night Time World [DVD] (DVD)
Brought it for my nephew as he had only seen parts of it on the tv exactly what he wanted has watched it repeatedly since xmas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Dark: Nature's Night Time World [DVD]
The Dark: Nature's Night Time World [DVD] by Jonny Keeling (DVD - 2012)
£11.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews