Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ' Planet of Giants' finally slips in to the collection of complete Hartnell serials!
Planet of Giants was the first commissioned serial of Doctor Who's second season and it was duly anticipated by viewers in 1964, according to the Radio Times at least. I have previously owned the VHS version of this serial, which was the first to receive the VIDFIRE process, and I always thought that it was an interesting story, though maybe a little too convoluted as a...
Published 18 months ago by Mr. Nicholas Pearson

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Planet of Giant Props
Apparently this was one of the first ideas they had for Dr Who - the TARDIS miniatures the crew and they end up running round Coal Hill School only one inch high, but very wisely they decided to do one about cave men instead, not that there's anything wrong with this...

But there are implicit challenges, and one of these is that if you're only one inch tall,...
Published 4 months ago by Alex Lyon


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Dr Who, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Planet of Giants [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
Not a bad story line could have been a bit longer but not the best hartnell story by any means.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hartnell classic, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Planet of Giants [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
Intended to be a four part serial way back for the second season of the original show, the Planet of Giants really stands out for the whole cast, crew and the design departments. Set amongst intrigue and spy drama, the Tardis crew have been miniaturised, thus must escape danger. Well performed by the regular cast and invited cast, pure drama was the driving force of most of the BBC's output during the sixties.
A must buy for any Who fan, even a televisual drama fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 26 Jan 2014
By 
D. E. Clarke (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Planet of Giants [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
It's good to see Doctor Who when William Hartnell was the first original doctor, takes me back to watching this in my childhood.
Enjoyed it and great fun to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, this now makes sense, 24 Jan 2014
By 
Jonathan J. Myler (Swindon, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Planet of Giants [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
I used to think this story was a bit daft, I was very reluctant to purchase it on DVD after seeing the story on UKGold so many years ago, but with the extras explaining about episodes 3 & 4 being edited to make one episode and now Episode 3 is re-edited with some nice animation and new sound track to recreate Episodes 3 & 4. This means we get to see a new episode of William Hartell that never existed, exiting stuff, the story can now be told how it should have been shown.
Wow I cannot tell you how pleased I am with the hard work Ian Levine has put in to recreating this story, it now makes sense and is very enjoyable, listen to the story and enjoy the way they have put it all together and you too will enjoy Planet of Giants like never before
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 14 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Planet of Giants [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
super dvd will recomend. a hartnell classic a valued addition to my dr who collection also great value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great discovery, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Planet of Giants [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
I wasn't sure about getting this but it is a really great episode. I'm really loving the early Dr's at the moment and at this price, it's a gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Planet of Giants, 17 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Planet of Giants [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
Loved it. A great three parter. Love the early era of Doctor Who. Had to switch off when watching the extra with the reconstruction of episodes 3 and 4 though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Cracking Story!, 24 Oct 2013
By 
J. Palmer "The Big Bear" (Devon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Planet of Giants [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
Everything is quiet in the garden - which is hardly surprising since it has all been killed! Restored to an amazing standard, this is one of those 'makes you think' stories from Doctor Who's distant past. After the TARDIS doors open in flight, the crew are reduced to just one inch tall. The rest of the plot could really stand on its own without this extra element, but it does give the special effects department something to do. The edited episodes are cleverly restored, although I'm sure that some cat lovers will be dismayed at a couple of the animated scenes!
All in all, a good package with some useful extras. If you have never seen early Doctor Who, this isn't one of the most immediately exciting stories, but it has a strangely claustrophobic atmosphere and as I wrote above, it does make you think!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent episode from classic Who, 25 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Planet of Giants [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
Charming episode. Not the most original idea, but performed well. Not the best ever from Barbara, but the Doctor, Ian and Susan are a pleasure to watch.

Subplot and message (still up to date) come across well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Impresssive reconstruction of the edited second half, 29 April 2013
By 
Sherman O'neill (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Planet of Giants [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
Whats really impressive with this release is the reconstruction by Ian Levine of the last two original episodes, originally re-edited into a single 26 minute episode for transmission in 1964. The production of the original unedited script in this version completely re-frames the story, making it a far more enjoyable character piece. This is a story I didnt rate terribly highly in its broadcast version - experiencing the original unedited script in such a lively and imaginative fashion, as carried out here, is a major improvement. A really worthwhile endeavour and this comes highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who - Planet of Giants [DVD] [1964]
Doctor Who - Planet of Giants [DVD] [1964] by William Hartnell (DVD - 2012)
9.03
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews