Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does NOT flicker
Forget the other reviews, this does NOT flicker UNLESS you haven't put it together correct. Each piece has metal edging which is the connector, if you do not position the pieces correct then they will flicker because of a poor circuit connection, but this is easily remedied by aligning the pieces correctly and the flicker goes.
Published 24 months ago by Mr. Robert W. Rumbell

versus
41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great for Tetris fans but the flicker is way too annoying
I really NEEDED this lamp since I saw it available to pre-order about a month before it was released, and was very happy to take delivery earlier than originally expected.

When I unpacked it my initial reaction is that it's a bit smaller than I'd imagined. The product dimensions in the description don't really tell you anything, so to clarify each individual...
Published on 23 Aug 2012 by C James


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great for Tetris fans but the flicker is way too annoying, 23 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tetris Light Mains Powered with Seven Individual Tetriminos (Toy)
I really NEEDED this lamp since I saw it available to pre-order about a month before it was released, and was very happy to take delivery earlier than originally expected.

When I unpacked it my initial reaction is that it's a bit smaller than I'd imagined. The product dimensions in the description don't really tell you anything, so to clarify each individual cube (bearing in mind each piece is made up of 4 cubes) is 4cm square. The packaging is the same size as an A4 piece of paper (plus about 5cm deep), and if you assemble the lamp in it's most compact configuration it can be contained within an area just 24cm x 20cm. Stacking a different configuration with 'gaps' will make the lamp appear a bit bigger (but will make you look like you're really bad at playing Tetris!).

Also note that when it says 'mains powered' it does mean via the supplied 5V adapter!

The blue 'long' piece has the on/off switch and the power-in socket, and it is recommended that this piece is always placed on the bottom. I don't see any reason why you couldn't position it higher up the tower if you wanted, but obviously the tower won't illuminate as you build it until that one has been put into position.

Assembling the tower is quite fun and a bit like the practical challenge on Krypton Factor if you're old enough to remember that TV show? The only difference is that there's no real solution and you don't need to be a member of Mensa to finish it!

However, the fun somewhat turned to disappointment when I sat back to admire my first (of likely many) constructions of the tower and observed a very noticable flicker from the lights. Apparently this is a 'normal' side-effect of such low voltage lighting applications, although I've had low voltage lamps before and have never observed this on any of them. What you will notice is that if you stare at the lamp directly, then the flicker doesn't appear too bad, but if you look towards something else i.e. the TV, but still have sight of the lamp in your peripheral vision, then the flicker appears much worse, to the point of being quite annoying.

Quality-wise the lamp feels light-weight and plastic, so you wouldn't want to put it somewhere that it's likely to get knocked.

Overall I love the idea but that flicker is just TOO annoying. Without the flicker it would be 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does NOT flicker, 28 Dec 2012
By 
Mr. Robert W. Rumbell "RobertR" (Lincoln, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tetris Light Mains Powered with Seven Individual Tetriminos (Toy)
Forget the other reviews, this does NOT flicker UNLESS you haven't put it together correct. Each piece has metal edging which is the connector, if you do not position the pieces correct then they will flicker because of a poor circuit connection, but this is easily remedied by aligning the pieces correctly and the flicker goes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Looks good on or off, 6 Oct 2012
By 
David B (Suffolk, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tetris Light Mains Powered with Seven Individual Tetriminos (Toy)
The Tetris light looks great and is just the right size to sit on a table on display. Would have been five stars if it didn't flicker. I think this is down to the transformer they suppy to power it. It's 5v 500ma, I tried the Tetris light with my Nokia phone charger which is a similar voltage (5.7v 800ma)and it didn't flicker, but then the blocks only work one way round, a closer look at the supplied transformer and I realised it was AC to AC, which is the reason for the flicker and why the blocks work any way round with this transformer and not an AC to DC like my phone charger. So you just have to put up with the flicker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant!, 28 Dec 2012
By 
MyKeyReviews (Hampshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Tetris Light Mains Powered with Seven Individual Tetriminos (Toy)
Length:: 4:15 Mins

♦ Brief Review ♦

My sister received this as a Christmas present from her boyfriend and she was most kind to let me have a play with this superb product.

Included are one of every tetrimino shape (which light up in their own individual colours), an AC adapter and a brief manual telling you the do's & don'ts as well as many different formations you can do.

To start up, you first need to power up the blue straight piece, it has a power socket and a switch located on the back, once turned on it will light up, then all you have to do is place another

piece on top to which it will then light-up as well.

I was amazed to see it actually work and you can experiment with all kinds of formations.

Once you've completed the desired shape, the end result is an awesome looking light that will be much appreciated by any gamer.

Whilst this product is a bit pricey, after having a go with it myself, I'm more than willing to pay the current price for one and would highly recommend it.

♦ Video Info ♦

I've uploaded a video if anyone is interested, below is a video breakdown:

0:08-0:41 Box overview.
0:43-2:08 Unboxing.
2:10-3:21 Set-up & Quick example.
3:22-4:05 Example in dark lighting conditions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It flickers - you don't want one, 27 Sep 2012
This review is from: Tetris Light Mains Powered with Seven Individual Tetriminos (Toy)
I have to agree with the only other review that this product flickers. Even the demo unit in a shop in town is flickering. It's just too annoying to live with. Such a shame, because it's a great idea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 1 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tetris Light Mains Powered with Seven Individual Tetriminos (Toy)
I purchased this for my 16 yr old Autistic grandson he absolutely loves it. The different colour changes in the lights keep him fascinated for hours
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 16 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tetris Light Mains Powered with Seven Individual Tetriminos (Toy)
Its nice and cool as a decorative light. Its also fun to be able to change and play with it.

Warning: Don't expect it to be a main source of light, because it does not have a strong light.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So much fun, 15 Sep 2013
This review is from: Tetris Light Mains Powered with Seven Individual Tetriminos (Toy)
Looks great in my room!!! My little cousin loved taking it apart and moving it around as well! The pieces are really light and the light doesn't fall apart easily. I saw a review saying it got dimmer as it reached the top, this didn't happen for me! I love how bright it is.

Another thing to add is that the blue block doesn't get hot and neither does he metal, which is really good as it means I can have it on for long periods of time and my 3 year old cousin has to try really hard to get hurt :L
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lighting for the geek-minded, 25 Dec 2012
This review is from: Tetris Light Mains Powered with Seven Individual Tetriminos (Toy)
Despite being initially worried this item would be too small, all doubts have been cast aside once set up as it looks stunning. They look great in any combination, and make a great addition to a room. Almost tempted to fill an alcove with several sets to create an actual Tetris wall.

I've not encountered any problems with flickering unless it has been for two reasons that are easily avoidable:
1: Someone knocked it from its original place.
2: I hadn't lined up the items correctly in the first place.

For anyone reading this review, if you have any flickering problems, just make sure everything is straight and not at angles from the pieces surrounding it :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tetris Light Mains Powered with Seven Individual Tetriminos (Toy)
Was expecting something of higher quality - unfortunately this is a very "plastic" product and feels cheap. It also didn't work with the lights intermittently working, and some not at all.

I wouldn't recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews