Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another cracker
Pasolini has done it again (well, did it again a long time ago, but I've only just got there). This is twisted and motivated, and not one I fully understood on my first watching, so there's legs to it too if you're a thicko like me. Looks good, feels good, and doesn't attempt to shock to the extent of Salo, for example, so it's a film like any other, but with Pasolini's...
Published 14 months ago by AP

versus
30 of 56 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A great film debased and destroyed
I don't propose to launch into some half baked analysis of what is Pasolini's most complex and, along with "Teorema", his most rewarding film. What I will say is that such a brilliant coruscating piece of cinema is ill-served by this, the only DVD edition currently available. Despite the assurances that the print from which this DVD has been manufactured has issued from...
Published on 5 Feb. 2005 by P. Rothwell


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another cracker, 17 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pigsty [Porcile] [Masters of Cinema] (DVD) [1969] (DVD)
Pasolini has done it again (well, did it again a long time ago, but I've only just got there). This is twisted and motivated, and not one I fully understood on my first watching, so there's legs to it too if you're a thicko like me. Looks good, feels good, and doesn't attempt to shock to the extent of Salo, for example, so it's a film like any other, but with Pasolini's unquestionable talent in the fore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ........... and I am trembling with joy, 23 Aug. 2012
This review is from: Pigsty [Porcile] [Masters of Cinema] (DVD) [1969] (DVD)
this phrase is one of three short phrases repeatedly spoken by Pierre Clementi near the end of the film, the only time he speaks in an otherwise silent role, and must be among the most terrifying utterances in all cinema. I've not mentioned all three phrases incase you haven't seen the film, and for the same reason avoid the booklet before viewing if you don't want to know.

Porcile is a thoroughly disturbing film and is composed of two stories running in parallel. As the film progresses the cross cutting between the stories slowly reveals the complex visual connections and moral themes of Pasolini's political diegesis. The extraordinary ancient 'cannibal' sequences have a visceral beauty - shot as they are in a bleak but stunning black volcanic landscape - which is juxtaposed with the modern 'German' sequences set in the vast formal interiors and gardens of an Italianate villa. It's altogether spellbinding, intensely cerebral and visually stunning while being desperately pessimistic as one generation is [literally] consumed by another.

This is one of two recent releases of Pasolini films from MoC. Both are from new HD masters but appear on DVD only. Porcile looks very good on DVD and I assume considerably better than any previous editions, with only occasional evidence of damage. Presumably, there's a quality threshold or some other factor that determines whether MoC go DB with a particular release or not, and apparently Uccellacci e Uccellini and Porcile didn't pass muster.

The extras consist of the original Italian trailer and another very nice MoC booklet with a new essay and archive writings and images.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars new Masters of Cinema edition is superb, 18 Jun. 2012
By 
Craig Keller (Princeton, NJ USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pigsty [Porcile] [Masters of Cinema] (DVD) [1969] (DVD)
The one-star review on this page refers to an old US DVD edition.

The new release of the film from The Masters of Cinema Series, out July 23rd 2012 (the edition which this entire page and ordering option are otherwise based around), contains a beautiful, remastered transfer made from a new HD master and a 20-page booklet. It's a sterling presentation of the film, and represents the definitive release of Pasolini's film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 56 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A great film debased and destroyed, 5 Feb. 2005
By 
P. Rothwell (Hove, East Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I don't propose to launch into some half baked analysis of what is Pasolini's most complex and, along with "Teorema", his most rewarding film. What I will say is that such a brilliant coruscating piece of cinema is ill-served by this, the only DVD edition currently available. Despite the assurances that the print from which this DVD has been manufactured has issued from the Pasolini Foundation what the viewer is presented with is a badly scratched, bleached out image, frequent shrieking jumps and white outs as the film reels end and, most shocking of all, the latter scenes being sequenced in the wrong order. This is a truly great piece of cinema, much underrated in the Pasolini canon. It deserves better than to be presented in this incompetent, corrupted fashion. Buy if you're desperate to view the film again (as I was), otherwise avoid at all costs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worst Pasolini, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pigsty [Porcile] [Masters of Cinema] (DVD) [1969] (DVD)
Probably the worst Pasolini film, visually stunning but the story makes no sense, avoid unless you are a avid Pasolini fan and even then be weary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Aug. 2014
By 
Daniel Stehli - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pigsty [Porcile] [Masters of Cinema] (DVD) [1969] (DVD)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pigsty [Porcile] [Masters of Cinema] (DVD) [1969]
Pigsty [Porcile] [Masters of Cinema] (DVD) [1969] by Pier Paolo PASOLINI (DVD - 2012)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews