Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


104 of 119 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very polished, very impressive
This is the most impressive game launch in years, and is likely to prove to be the second MMO to reach the stature of World of Warcraft.

GAMEPLAY
You should find yourself familiar with many of the game mechanics - generate a character, go questing, level up, join battlegrounds to play some PvP. No player should have any difficulty in getting into the game...
Published on 28 Aug. 2012 by Dancer

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Guild Wars 2? Not really...[For veterans]
If you are a player of the original Guild Wars you will either love or hate this game, as it is nothing like it. The only thing in common is a few skill names, profession names and some very loose lore. Guild Wars 2 is a game that tried to reinvent the wheel and forgot about their epic first game, and in doing so they made an al around casual game that you love because...
Published 18 months ago by Neko


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Guild Wars 2? Not really...[For veterans], 4 Jan. 2014
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Guild Wars 2 - Standard Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
If you are a player of the original Guild Wars you will either love or hate this game, as it is nothing like it. The only thing in common is a few skill names, profession names and some very loose lore. Guild Wars 2 is a game that tried to reinvent the wheel and forgot about their epic first game, and in doing so they made an al around casual game that you love because it's casual or you hate because it's not challenging at all. Most of us who play games like solo RPG's and MMO's play them for the specific reasons of either challenge or lore, and in those categories there are sub categories such as role players, achievement hunters, you name it. Trying to combine casual with an MMO they had to sacrifice what made Guild Wars a challenging franchise, opening it up to the people who either don't have time or just aren't very good at games(no offence, if you're one of them). I've broken my review down into categories:

*Casual friendly?*
Some people love the idea of an MMO that is casual and there's certainly really great things about that idea, but in the end it depends on what you define as a casual player. Is it no subscription fee, time, or skill and effort? Whatever you define as casual Guild Wars 2 has it, it's extremely user friendly to say the least. Professions are very easy to learn, combat is very easy to master, you can pay your way in the game through the gemstore(i.e leveling) if you don't have time to farm and you can stop playing whenever you want. These are certainly some good points with GW2.

*But, what if you're not casual?*
I'm going to be honest here and say if you're more of a hardcore player that seeks the rewards you are not in luck here. Guild Wars 2 certainly has some rare(er) skins, they are called Legendaries. Quite frankly, they look very good but the way of gaining them is certainly questionable if they are really a reward of greatness or just gemstore purchases/farming. Because GW2 lets you buy gems to convert into gold you can literary purchase a legendary weapon or materials to make it. Legendaries are built upon grinding and as such they are common in the game as they require no skill to get. The most hardcore area in the game is Fractals of the Mists, it gets harder the higher level you go and it's built upon Agony which was a skill in the original Prophecies game, in Guild Wars 2 it works slightly different, instead of damage and degeneration it's just damage. You infuse and equip gear with agony resistance to survive these skills. However, fractals do not reward anything particularly good except for common rare drops and fractals weapons(which are also common).

*Combat & PvE & Quests aka Hearts*
The combat in Guild Wars 2 is very straight forward. Because it doesn't have the holy trinity(tank, DPS, heal) it is much more simplified. The game has support and conditions but these are not very wanted(and to say the least they are very bad compared) in classes so the combat of the game is very stale and repetitive in dungeons, fractals, etc. This is to be expected as most MMO's have a basic of combat(meta), but it was a bit of a disappointment how every class generally is played the same and used for the same; DPS with some minor utilities. Another fun part of the combat is the dodging, and it is just that, dodging damage. This is vital to avoid heavy attacks both in PvE and PvP. Many bosses spawn red circles on the ground indicating where the damage will hit. Leveling is very easy and straight forward, but instead of quests you have hearts that appear on your map as well as events. If you've played FFXIV events are like fates, they spawn randomly on the map. Though some need a chain to be activated. One thing good to note is that there's no kill steals or anything like it in this game, if you fight an enemy and someone comes and kills it for you, you gain XP etc for that. One thing though, you will find yourself mostly leveling alone as with most MMO's, maps are pretty dead(this can perhaps depend on server but I've yet to be on one that isn't fairly dead at all times in general PvE zones). Overall the game's take on combat is OK but lacks challenge and proper team play, anything can be done solo.

*Design, characters, environment, graphics etc*
The environment in the game is rich and beautiful but the game is a bit grey on the tones of colour but that can easily be fixed(sweetFX etc). The game is also very CPU heavy due to poor optimizing so be aware of that. Character creation is fun, although I'd prefer more options. It feels like there's little variety sometimes, especially if baby faces is not what you want. A cool thing is that every little place feels though out, so when you walk into a city it's pretty spectacular, but it's also rich and feels populated in a RP way. NPC's chat with each other and there's always the sound of lively hood around. Overall I was very impressed.

*PvP, WvW*
My honest opinion having played this game since beta is that if you loved the PvP in GW you will not love it in Guild Wars 2. Of course there's some exceptions, but if building, healing, rupting and all what trinity could offer(players having a specific role and needing to fulfil that role to succeed) this is not the game for you. The game offers very little in the PvP front, and it hasn't improved that much since it came out. PvP really lacks so I honestly could not get into it myself despite PvP being what I stay in games for. WvW is based of the much loved Alliance Battles, or AB short. It is perhaps the much loved somewhat PvP that there is in the game. WvW or World versus World versus World(3 worlds vs each other) is where players get together in big zergs to capture big castles, towers and so forth. The idea of it is as AB, cap shrines(in this case castles or towers) to eventually have as much of the map as possible. Often the zergs must fight each other, protect or scout for invaders from the other servers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars OK game - too flawed to be great, 23 Dec. 2013
By 
D. Reynolds "David" (Coventry) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Guild Wars 2 - Standard Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
There are many things to like about this game, it is graphically beautiful, has a great combat system, sophisticated crafting and is truly vast. In many ways much better than its rivals. New adventures are regularly added, the seasonal stuff like "Mad King" and "Wintersday" stuff are fun, there's a lot of nice humour and some really good NPC characters.

The game uses professions rather than classes which, for the most part, mirror WoW, Guardians = Paladins, Elementalists = Mages and so forth. There are also a couple of signature professions, Mesmers who use illusions, and Engineers. Each profession has their own abilities normally accessed either as weapon skills or talents.

Combat is fun, fast flowing and can be very satisfying.

There are 3 kinds of PVP, duelling (agreed 1v1), World v World (WvW, large scale multiplayer, server against server) and structured PVP (which I have not tried).

World v World combat can be truly awesome, great terrain, castles, towers, siege engines, golems (big armored suits that are devastating) and a great sense of comradeship with your server buddies.

Not forgetting that there is no monthly fee (which is awesome).

However there are some problems.

Firstly the automatic targeting system the game employs is truly terrible, it has no sane prioritisation, constantly flips from target to target and includes critters and neutrals, so if a warrior is attacking you in WvW your auto-targetting will most likely target a wall or a critter or a neutral which will then also attack you, rather than the enemy player you are engaging.

The second problem is balance. Thieves and Mesmers dominate in WvW PVP, their abilities are far too powerful, the ability to stealth at will, heal and remove conditions while stealthed, engage, stealth, re-engage and do massive damage in a short period of time means that they are very difficult to beat or even escape from. Mesmers can also deploy clones and illusions making them virtually impossible to hit. On the other end of the spectrum Rangers, Necromancers and Elementalists are basically just a free kill for any Mesmer or Thief which targets them - this is not fun for the victim, especially when serially targeted.

World v World also has a balance problem in that high population servers will usually beat low population servers by sheer weight of numbers effectively removing the skill based element from the game.

The third problem is the bugs, there are a lot of them, skills don't work reliably (a big problem in PVP), sometimes your weapon will simply not work or get stuck in one particular attack, scenery and UI sometimes disappear for several seconds which again can be a serious problem in certain situations.

Ultimately too flawed to be great, the levelling up experience is fun (at least the first couple of times) but the main end-game of WvW is just too unbalanced and buggy. The Thief class is a major problem, its spammable stealth abilities and massive burst DPS really destroy the combat experience and slow the game down to a crawl (not unusual to spend 20 - 30 minutes trying to track down a single thief constantly spamming stealth inside a capture point - and yes this is about as much fun as it sounds). removing the Thief class from the game would go a long way to improving the play, sadly this is unlikely.

In a nutshell, worth a go if the game is on discount but I wouldn't recommend it a full price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 30 Jan. 2014
This review is from: Guild Wars 2 - Standard Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Being a dedicated GW player, I loved the original game and really looked forward to GW2. However, despite the beautiful graphics and huge playing area...I have been left utterly disappointed by the game. Previous strong guilds in GW1 were shattered by the introduction of different servers for different geographical locations. I miss my previous guildies very much. The game play itself is not so addictive as GW1 and the reduction of parties to 5 from 8 has really messed up the social aspect. The dungeons are boring and there is no pleasure in playing them. The constant grinding for dailies and monthlies is mind numbing. Jumping puzzles are ok, but after the fourth or fifth time, just another annoyance. Tactics are irrelevant in the main game and I miss the strategy of team building, skill building and the holy trinity. I have played all of the profession types and dont particularly like any of them. I was very attached to my necro, monk and ritualist in GW1 and could care less about any of the toons in GW2. The armours are awful. The weapon skins are awful. The dialogues are irritating. Blah blah cutscenes. And heart quests? Are we all 7 years old? Just seems really a really childish design idea. I have stopped playing GW2. What a let down after all the build up. I give the game two stars for the beautiful look of the game and the aspirations to make something a bit different. And I consider myself generous to give two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


104 of 119 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very polished, very impressive, 28 Aug. 2012
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Guild Wars 2 - Standard Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
This is the most impressive game launch in years, and is likely to prove to be the second MMO to reach the stature of World of Warcraft.

GAMEPLAY
You should find yourself familiar with many of the game mechanics - generate a character, go questing, level up, join battlegrounds to play some PvP. No player should have any difficulty in getting into the game and having a good time. That said there are nuances that really polish up the playing experience and make it better than anything we've seen before - for example in every zone there are 'points of interest' and 'viewpoints' marked on the map, and you're rewarded for visiting them - in practice this means that you're rewarded for taking a little time out of the hack & slash to go exploring/puzzling to get up to the top of the tower and appreciating the beautiful world that the developers have made for us. You don't have to talk to a quest giver, or hand the quest in (though you can for a little colour if you like) - just stroll into the quest area and it will come up and you can get involved. The world is very slick, very beautiful, and absolutely vast.

The mechanics of gameplay are similarly refined. For combat itself you have up to 10 active abilities that work on cooldowns (there's no mana/rage requirements or similar). The abilities are determined by which type of weapons you have equipped, and most classes can easily switch between two weapon sets. For example as a warrior you can stroll around with a bow equipped which does pretty heavy damage if you get the drop on someone, then when they get to you you could switch to a sword and shield, replacing five of your abilities with slash/block moves to keep the guy busy while you finish him off. What this means is that there's a good deal of versatility available to every class through using the different weapons you can equip. Every class can greatly up their damage/toughness/support if they so desire at the expense of the other strengths. For example the elementalist (a very versatile class) can go fire (pure dps) air (good dps + some crowd control) water (weak dps + support healing) or Earth (moderate dps + movement debuffs) AND has a selection of underlying abilities for those aspects depending what weapons they are using. From the first you get the impression of minutes to learn, but a lifetime to master. The remaining five abilities are unlocked with level. Every class can heal itself.

So is it any fun? GW2 scores big here. There are simply no grinding time sinks. You want to play PvP? You're automatically shifted to max level and given max gear when you go to a battle ground, and can just play. PvP comes down to skill, you'll never be bested by gear, and you can start playing at top level pretty much straight away if you so desire. You want to travel to the other side of the world? You can port to any waypoint from anywhere else (out of combat) for a trivial amount of cash. You want to play with your mate who's ten level lower? No problem, you get automatically downleveled when you go to an earlier zone, so your power will be shifted down to what's appropriate for that zone and away you go, rewarding you for playing all over their enormous world. Will I have to spend hours killing wombats to level up? Nope, the quests tend to be fairly interesting (but certainly not as good as in Star Wars Old Republic, who to my mind set a new standard), and there's no shortage, so if you don't fancy getting polymorphed into a pig to search for truffles, just move on. In combat movement is very important, both positioning (you'd be amazed at the impact a well placed tree can make) and dodging. The dodges work off energy, and are crucial to success - this will really help to keep the combat fresh and stop it being just a click/gear check.

GRAPHICS
The world is lovely, and hats off to the viewpoint idea which really stops you to appreciate it. The cut scenes are nicely done, but you only get those for your personal quests. The character graphics are of a high standard, allowing you to personalise in character generation, and customise you gear a bit too. I rate the character representation as pretty good, although as my characters are tiny it's hard to be sure :)

CRAFTING
Crafting is something that you can address when you're in the main cities. At any time, from any place you can click a button to move all crafting materials from your backpack to your bank, then from the cities you can use the materials at the crafting points to make what you want. There is allot of Xp available from gathering and crafting rewarding the early endeavour, the gear is pretty level equivalent, though having `best in slot' gear to hand as you level up is useful.
For the end game the crafted exotic gear is basically the best available, but is freely traded on the auction house, so if you're not bothered you'll lose very little by just flogging the mats you accumulate in the AH and buying the gear you want.
Now you'll need the skills levelled if you want build the legendary items, but these are just visually more impressive, they give no gameplay advantage, and there is a massive investment required to get the extra `sparkle'. You can have two crafting skills active, but if you ditch one you don't lose any of your advances, it's just inactive.

SOCIAL
General chat is about what you'd expect, and probably always will be. Aside from that on the positive you can join as many guilds as you like, facilitating specialisation. On the downside there is no functionality around getting a party together to run an instance - we're back to the old school standing in a city or outside the instance spamming "LF2M AC Explorer" messages in general chat. There were serious issues with getting your mates into the same `shard' of a location (shards are like separate instances of an area map to handle the overflow if too many players enter), but these have been fixed - there are now no issues with teaming up with your mates.

GRIPES
The game makes heavy use of your CPU (rather than graphics card) to run - so unless your PC is up to date, you'd be well advised to closely inspect the system requirements. I bought a bleeding edge PC 5 years ago, and it just can't handle the traffic of twenty guys shooting at each over in the World vs World battleground. There's a handful of bugs in the game (remarkably few for the launch of such an ambitious game), the log in server can't handle spike traffic, and the error messages you get don't give you any indication of what the problem is. The biggest irritation is the lack of support for getting the four extra players you need to run an instance - not only are you reduced to spamming general chat in Lions Arch, but after a couple of posts the game stops you from posting any more "due to excessive messaging" - really annoying when you're desperately trying to find the last man. That's it. Seriously, this is a VAST game, with no subscription charges, that's only been out for a few days and it's as polished as a diamond. Very very impressive, and gets full marks from me. It's also worth mentioning that when the servers go down (rare) the lines of communication are very good, which reduces the annoyance factor considerably. There are regular patches & updates, but these only last for a couple of minutes, so unless you're in the middle of an instance they don't really affect gameplay.

There's very little to fault in this game, and as an MMO it's simply better that WoW, and that is no mean feat on launch day. Time will tell how the longevity stacks up, so far the instances keep you on your toes and the pvp is of very mixed ability. Because it's not particularly difficult to get max gear, there isn't a huge grind to see the top content - personally I like this, not only do I play the game for the sake of just playing it & having fun, but I can also do other things without losing out. If WoW was crack, GW2 is more like a nice pint - yourself & your mates will find yourself knocking back a couple with a smile on your face, without the wild eyed compulsion, sleep deprivation & broken relationships that Warcraft left in it's wake. It's just fun, it's not a second job.
I have absolutely no qualms in giving GW2 a hearty recommendation. It's a superb game, the most impressive MMO in many years, all yours for a one off payment, and I'm certain that it's going to take off in a big way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easily the best MMO I've played in a long time, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guild Wars 2 - Standard Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I'm pretty casual as gamers go - I primarily spend my time writing code and yelling at people on the internet so I don't spend a huge amount of my time playing games. With that said, Guild Wars 2 is easily the most casual friendly MMORPG I've played whilst still retaining incredible depth and a huge wealth of content.

Guild Wars 2 has an insane amount of content and at the same time doesn't feature the grind found in many other MMOs. It's a game where you're rewarded essentially for running around the world and doing things - anything - and getting rewarded for it. Exploration is a huge part of this game and it is one of the first MMOs I've played where you do feel that it is a living, breathing world. The new megaserver feature adds to this further by ensuring that all of the zones in the world are highly populated. It's certainly also a very social game - just run around the world, join in with events and you're bound to meet other players, who, in my experience are far more friendly than those found in other online games. The game encourages co-operation. There's no kill, loot or resource stealing.

The world is absolutely beautiful and the game highly encourages exploration. You gain experience for visiting 'points of interest' and for viewing 'vistas' - hard to reach places with stunning views of the in-game world. The game tracks your progress exploring and rewards you for completing entire zones and the map itself.

The game has a hugely dynamic combat system, with the game encouraging dodging and running. The combat is very much action based and it feels considerably less 'rooted' than the combat in World of Warcraft, where moving cancels your spell cast.

Whilst it's certainly not perfect I'd argue it's still the best MMORPG on the market right now and whilst I'm sure I'll get a lot of shouting at for saying, I much prefer it to Blizzard's World of Warcraft, although if I'm perfectly honest I wouldn't say they're entirely comparable. World of Warcraft has very different gameplay, featuring a different combat system effectively based on getting the highest numbers whereas Guild Wars 2 is much more action oriented, but arguably at the expense of complexity. Guild Wars 2 lacks the traditional questing system featured in World of Warcraft and instead prefers to encourage you to simply run around the world, do things and get rewarded to it.

If you're new to the MMORPG genre I would wholeheartedly recommend that you start with Guild Wars 2. With that said, if you're expecting a World of Warcraft clone this probably isn't it. I do think it's the better game by far but the fact is that it's largely down to personal preference and what kind of game you prefer.

With that said, the lack of subscription fee I'd imagine makes this a very easy decision for many.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ...And then there was Guild Wars 2!, 8 Feb. 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guild Wars 2 - Standard Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I've always been an MMO lover (and hater at the same time!), I admit I spend hours of my life on World of Warcraft and I've also enjoyed Lord of the Rings Online, Rift, Star Wars: The Old Republic and DC Universe Online. Except, the now-dead-to-me, WoW I've found the other MMOs are either too similar or just can't keep my attention enough to really enjoy. It seemed the best aspects of the games dissolved quickly and I found myself hating every other player due to their over competitive and ninja-looting ways. All of this was not worth me forking out £8 a month for...

...And then there was Guild Wars 2!

Okay, so I never played the original but this game forgives you. I have never loved an MMO quite like this because:

- It's FREE TO PLAY!: Okay so you spent £30 on a game, but it is so worth it because that is all you ever need to pay. Yes, you can buy extras like character slots but you can go without that... Even then, it is so much cheaper to play forever than any other MMO. There is no limitation, it seriously means, no subscription! Take that, other MMOs!

- No Stealing Resources: So on an MMO, you're fighting off a horde of monsters to get to that one plant you need for your profession and some jerk comes along and steals it while you're busy! ARGH! Not here though, the resource remains for you to pick even after the other guy has taken his share. You'll hate people so much less!

- Everybody wins: As well as resource sharing, there is nothing wrong with helping strangers out. It gives a real feeling that you're all fighting for the same cause. So if you see someone fighting a monster and struggling, run past and help them out... Then you both get loot! Nobody loses out!

- Awesome Graphics: Luckily my laptop is powerful because you could lose yourself in the deep beautiful graphics. I have never seen a game with such an amazing feeling from the scenery near and far, to the character design and animation. Sometimes I find myself running around just to explore the things to look at.

- Random World Events: So you're on your way to see some guy you need to see about some important thing when holy hell! An army of undead are chasing some poor NPC! For extra reward in game, you can join in to help the NPC on this spontaneous events along with other people. Once again, you don't steal reward even if the other people aren't in your group but instead you get rewarded based upon your individual contribution!

- Unique Classes: I'm a level 62 Paladin. Just kidding! For once an MMO dares to go outside the norm of warrior, mage, druid, hunter and actually include some pretty cool and unique classes! Give Mesmer a shot!

- Levelling: There aint no MMO without levelling but you barely notice it in GW2! You're too busy enjoying yourself with the story and the amazing look that instead of caring about 'Ooo I gained a new level'! You actually enjoy the adventure and levelling comes secondary. Plus! You get to go back to old areas and it will scale you down so you can have a fair chance and not have to worry about higher level people taking over the starting areas when you're trying to level.

- Its about adventure, not numbers: Thank god somebody released an MMO where you don't get people bragging about 'I got x amount of DPS!' no, instead it is more visual, there are no numbers on the health bars but instead you appreciate the fight more and you begin to get more gripped in the adventure rather than trying to count your stats all the time.

- Your hero feels like a hero!: You get a lot of customisation options from body, face and hair to make your unique one-of-a-kind hero! Another cool thing is that you can colour your gear. So you start off with a wide range of 'basic' colours and throughout the game you can find more inks to colour your gear. The best part is no matter how you change your gear, they keep your colour. So you could have a classic look that never dies, even when all your gear changes, it retains your colour scheme. Imagine the scenarios, 'I am the red hooded assassin!' ... Or maybe that just appeals more to me because I'm a girl but like all good heroes and characters, your character retains his/her classic look.

There is a lot more to it but I feel I have already overloaded with information. Bottom line, if you got £30 to spare then why not :) Take your time with it, there is no subscription :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good start. Gets repetative., 22 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guild Wars 2 - Standard Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Was a good time killer and throughly enjoyed the game in the first few weeks.

Really enjoyed the random events at first.... but it gets to the point late game where people only do certain events over and over and over again. Rather dull really.

The World v World v World was a good concept but poorly carried out. With the addition of free server transfers the "pro" WvW players/guilds all accumulated in the same servers so it got to the point where it was pointless even trying. Thats not even mentioning the ridiculous lag and lame game limit on the amount of players visible at one time.

Some jobs/classes are way over powered, unsure whether balance was ever achieved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MMO you can get into, 1 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guild Wars 2 - Standard Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I quit playing WoW a year prior to purchasing this game after 3-5 years of playing The Burning Crusade to Cataclysm expansion and although I never played the original Guild Wars I was aware of it and the sequel got my interests.

This MMO can take some getting used to, even though I am familiar with them but once you get the basics down you will have an enjoyable experience. The online experience itself is one of the best I had, there is always another person nearby that can help you in your quests but does not disrupt your own leveling if you wish to play solo.

Speaking of which, Guild Wars 2 has one of the most friendly communities of MMO's and are very tolerant to new players (unlike WoW which for those that are aware of the WoW forums which is abysmal and Raids).

It is also free to play online so once you purchase the game there is no subscription based fees which really pushed me to buying it.

My only criticism is that you may eventually get bored or lose interest in levelling which may be due to my disinterest in MMO's than I was previously, however you do have the diversity of choosing to level by completing quests in various areas, running through dungeons, or doing some World versus World PVP which offers significant XP for any level.

It is defiantly an MMO you should consider picking up even if you are already committed to playing another MMO game and you will have many hours of content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a disappointment. As avid Guild Wars players, 13 Aug. 2014
By 
Lily44 (Normandy, France) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guild Wars 2 - Standard Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
What a disappointment. As avid Guild Wars players, my other half and I were looking forward so much to Guild Wars 2. We pre-ordered our copies after months and months of waiting, but after only half an hour, we realised how truly awful it was. We struggled with it for a couple of months - mostly because of our love for the original game - but after realising that this game simply did NOT live up to expectations but certainly expected one to visit the cash shop on a regular basis, we gave up on it. Nothing about GW2 is about discovery, everything is pointed out to the player .... ' go here, do this'. How many of the GW players remember setting off to do a mission and having absolutely no clue where to go or what they might find around the next corner. One quest, The Villainy of Galrath, took five of our guildies nearly a whole Sunday to complete - how does that compare with clicking on cows that go 'moo' and have little hearts floating over their heads. Come on ANet - grown ups play these games too, you know - not just children in playschool.

All in all, very disappointing, and if ever there's a Guild Wars 3, there would be no chance at all that we would be pre-ordering a copy, always supposing we entertained the idea of Guild Wars at all, or indeed anything produced by ANet.

If I could rate this with no stars at all, I would do so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gets stale quick, from a GW veteran, 8 April 2013
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guild Wars 2 - Standard Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I loved the original Guild Wars, wasted countless days in PVP and guild matches. Got into tournaments, hall of heroes, a high ranked PVP guild. It was a blast. Made great online friends from my guilds.

GW2 was amazing at launch, busy, loads of peeps on the servers, the first impressions are overwhelmingly good.

After 6 months and a bit of a break from GW2, I can get myself to get back into GW2. I've left my toons in limbo, nothing interests me about this game anymore.

Somethings missing, something about the whole landscape is incredibly repetitive. Heart quests are largely the same and get really boring after you've cleared several zones of them. The landscape is far quieter than it used to be. If I die, it's unlikely I'm going to have a passer by rescue me because of the emptiness of the zone. I'm also going to be quite lonely when the scripted events pop up, not enough players around to make it fun. I'm not going to see a horde of 30 players taking on a giant these day. Equipment doesn't interest me, the loot drops are boring and unsatisfying. Crafting often feels pointless, you can play the game just as well without doing any crafting because of the auto levelling whenever you go into a lower level zone. The sense of level progression and becoming powerful is non existent. Be a level 60 and I still feel like a noob when in a low level zone, its all the same, just the damage numbers are bigger or smaller depending on the zone level.

The personal story is a joke. An entire game of watching different toons having a conversation across the screen. Hardly inspiring for cut scenes and personal progression.

Join a guild you say! Despite the open free roaming maps, ironically, GW2 is more anti-social than the previous GW was. No longer forced into parties for missions and events (except dungeons), no one seems to play anything together anymore, no more teamwork, no more of the holy trinity. All the guilds I joined were largely useless. I still wandered the banal and empty landscapes alone, occasionally passing dribs and drabs of other players doing their own thing.

GW2 has taken a brave move in removing the trinity and making the map totally open to all without instancing. I commend the developers for taking this punt. But in return, we have a game that doesn't present a tight and progressive story with a sense of achievement, and it doesn't bring players together to explore the wonderful world Anet has lovingly crafted. The quests are the same old same old, and you are far more likely to be doing them alone these days. The scripted events are fantastic...when you have other players around to help out.

I feel sad when writing this, because GW2 could have been the nuts and I want it to succeed. But it's missing that magic something that won't bring me back to playing anymore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Guild Wars 2 - Standard Edition (PC DVD)
Guild Wars 2 - Standard Edition (PC DVD) by NCsoft (Windows 7 / Vista)
£19.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews