Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stylish and mouthwatering guide
This is a beautifully produced little volume, which is only about a centimetre thick and little bigger than a paperback novel, yet manages to cram in everything there is to know about making macarons. The embossed silver title and the artistic cover photograph indicate that you are in for a treat before you even open the book. Inside, the photographs, which appear on...
Published on 20 Mar 2011 by Amazon Customer

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice, neat but ...
This is a nice little volume with good all round information about the ingredients and methods for making macarons. It has well laid out pages and attractive photos. But, as the previous reviewer mentioned, apart from 6 'speciality' recipes at the back the other 9 recipes are identical in ingredients (apart from food colouring), method and assembly. The only real...
Published on 27 May 2011 by Sally W


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stylish and mouthwatering guide, 20 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secrets of Macarons (Hardcover)
This is a beautifully produced little volume, which is only about a centimetre thick and little bigger than a paperback novel, yet manages to cram in everything there is to know about making macarons. The embossed silver title and the artistic cover photograph indicate that you are in for a treat before you even open the book. Inside, the photographs, which appear on every page, are stunning. The book is split into two equal halves; the first half deals with ingredients and techniques, while the second part describes classic macaron recipes. The book's thoroughness is apparent right from the very first section on "the almond", three pages of pertinent facts plus detailed answers to questions such as "Can I use whole almonds and grind them myself?" (Yes). Every aspect of technique is described and illustrated in detail, including both french and italian meringue recipes. The section on making different ganache bases (with dark, milk, or white chocolate, or fruit coulis) alone is worth the price of the book to me.

The second half gives detailed recipes for nine classic macaron flavours such as raspberry, pistachio, and chocolate, as well as some interesting variations. All are illustrated with photographs to make your mouth water. The basic (italian) macaron method is repeated word by word for each recipe. This can seem a bit unnecessary, but it does save you from having to flip back to the techniques section to check the tricky details. One criticism is that the text is printed in a tiny font. In fact there is so much information on each page that I suspect the original book was larger and has been shrunk down for this Murdoch edition. That's right, Murdoch Books Pty Limited produced this. It is a reflection on how interconnected our world has become that this book was written in French, translated into English, printed in China and published in Australia to be sold by Amazon in the UK.

All in all, a sophisticated addition to any cookbook libray and a must for macaron lovers. Last week in Paris the price of macarons was 64 euros per kilo, so you will recoup the modest cost of this book with your very first plateful of dainty homemade treats.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice, neat but ..., 27 May 2011
This review is from: Secrets of Macarons (Hardcover)
This is a nice little volume with good all round information about the ingredients and methods for making macarons. It has well laid out pages and attractive photos. But, as the previous reviewer mentioned, apart from 6 'speciality' recipes at the back the other 9 recipes are identical in ingredients (apart from food colouring), method and assembly. The only real difference in these 9 rercipes, apart from colour, comes in the filling.
That said, I am still happy I bought this book, but it could have saved on a few pages and repetition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last! A Macaron recipe book which works!, 13 Jun 2012
By 
Djv Yeates - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secrets of Macarons (Hardcover)
I have bought several books, been on a course, read all the online recipes and blogs, and this little book is the best. If only it had been the first! Making good macarons is a science, and the author discusses everything scientifically, from the constitution of eggs and almonds, to why some utensils work better than others. If you want to make great macarons, buy this book and STICK TO THE INSTRUCTIONS EXACTLY, and you will achieve it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Macarons!, 30 Jun 2011
This review is from: Secrets of Macarons (Hardcover)
Love this book - small and gorgeous. Beautiful, elegant, understated photography. As others have commented, the basic recipe is repeated rather more often than needed, but that doesn't bother me (it's mainly the italian, sugar syrup recipe (which I've yet to try), with less information on the french dry recipe). It has a good section on the ingredients (nutritional value and how they work in the recipes). Some nice ideas for decorating and some interesting alternatives (walnuts, hazelnuts etc) at the back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Below average, 14 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secrets of Macarons (Hardcover)
I was a bit disappointed by this book. There are a few pages written on each of the ingredients which go into making macarons; eggs, sugar, ground almonds, etc. and mixed in amongst this are the steps you need to follow to make a macaron. There are then separate recipes for each of the seven classic macaron flavours, which as someone else commented are near identical. The trouble is the recipe is not written up in sufficient detail to follow so you have to go back to read through the relevant step against each ingedient. Nowhere in this book is there presented a continous step-by-step guide to making a macaron instead you will find yourself flicking backwards and forwards though the book. I'd reccommend looking elsewhere, in fact you might as well just look at the Mary Berry recipe from the Great British bake off on the BBC recipe web-site, it's free and considierably easier to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant macaron baking tips, 5 Jun 2011
By 
Z. Majid "Makeup boff" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Secrets of Macarons (Hardcover)
I was most impressed with this book. I have bought so many macaron baking books and this one outdoes most of them! It provides information around the science of making macarons and is easy to follow. The instructions are good, and the ideas are also really good. Plus the book gives both the Italian and French meringue recipes. Only thing I could say is that the font is tiny and could have done with being larger!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastically Informative, 2 May 2012
By 
This review is from: Secrets of Macarons (Hardcover)
I have made macarons several times now with varying degrees of success. I had previously been put off the Pierre Hermes method because it sounded too complex. On a whim, after a failed batch of macks, I bought this book after reading about it on a food blog... and I'm so glad I did.

The book is wonderfully laid out with the first 50 or so pages detailing each ingredient and technique involved in the process of making perfect macarons. I agree with other reviewers that the standard macaron recipe perhaps appears a little too often over the next 40 pages however it's nice not to have to flick back through to find it after you've decided on your flavour combination.

Last night I made my first batch using its "secrets" and they are far and away the best I have ever made. They are so smooth and perfectly rounded as they stand on their beautifully risen feet. I've bought worse from a shop. I didn't even have to follow the recipe like a pedant, in fact I combined a few steps to save a bit of time and they still came out like a dream.

In short if you have made macarons with varying success, or just want to make them in the future, then buy this book. It's not even what you would pay for 6 of the little beauties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Macaroned!, 19 Mar 2013
This review is from: Secrets of Macarons (Kindle Edition)
This is a great book, with lots of useful, and easy to follow recipes. I would recommend it for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Secrets of Macarons, 18 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secrets of Macarons (Hardcover)
First Macaron book I've seen which explains everything about the ingredients and how to prepare these delicacies! I can recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars really in depth book, 6 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secrets of Macarons (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this book very much, it is very clear and precise in its recipes and in its techniques. I liked it very much. I brought it on Kindle but think I prefer to have a paper copy of cookery books, but this is just a personal choice. It may be that I get used to using my e reader for recipes. I never thought I would like reading novels this way, but now I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Secrets of Macarons
Secrets of Macarons by José Maréchal
£2.63
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews