Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a new toy
My wife bought me my new toy along with the full set of Star Wars blu ray (sad, i know !). I am amazed at the picture quality and realise what i have been missing. We have a large screen Plasma tv and the picture seems better than going to the cinema and way better than my old dvd player. Even the old dvds look good because this player has "dvd upscaling " (too hi tech...
Published 19 months ago by pete bb

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Low end - decent quality
Does what you would expect it to and it seems a good price for a basic Blu ray player with a few added extras for a very reasonable price.

Main gripe: There is a bit of a delayed reaction between pressing a button and something happening on screen.

Spec:

+ 1080p at 24 fps for cinema-like images
+ DVD video upscaling to 1080p via HDMI...
Published 19 months ago by John Kimble


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a new toy, 3 Dec 2012
This review is from: Philips BDP2900/05 Blu-ray Disc/DVD player (Electronics)
My wife bought me my new toy along with the full set of Star Wars blu ray (sad, i know !). I am amazed at the picture quality and realise what i have been missing. We have a large screen Plasma tv and the picture seems better than going to the cinema and way better than my old dvd player. Even the old dvds look good because this player has "dvd upscaling " (too hi tech for me). Suffice it to say, I am impressed but if you are used to this stuff it may seem normal. Ps this is the first review i have done . Hope it is useful to someone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Low end - decent quality, 6 Dec 2012
By 
John Kimble (N. Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Philips BDP2900/05 Blu-ray Disc/DVD player (Electronics)
Does what you would expect it to and it seems a good price for a basic Blu ray player with a few added extras for a very reasonable price.

Main gripe: There is a bit of a delayed reaction between pressing a button and something happening on screen.

Spec:

+ 1080p at 24 fps for cinema-like images
+ DVD video upscaling to 1080p via HDMI for near-HD images
+ DivX Plus HD Certified for high-definition DivX playback
+ Subtitle Shift for widescreen without any missing subtitles
+ Dolby TrueHD for high fidelity sound
+ EasyLink to control all HDMI CEC devices via a single remote
+ BD-Live (Profile 2.0) to enjoy online Blu-ray bonus content
+ USB 2.0 plays video/music from USB flash/hard disk drive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic blu ray player., 20 Sep 2013
This review is from: Philips BDP2900/05 Blu-ray Disc/DVD player (Electronics)
I've always liked philips products and this is no exception,it's a good price small with good design remote feels a bit cheap but then most do now,but as for picture quality i was blown away you can see every detail and the colour is so rich and deep.
It has excellent sound to and normal dvds look amazing on it to i really recommend this blu ray player and you always know philips make good lasting products.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars best ever player, 19 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips BDP2900/05 Blu-ray Disc/DVD player (Electronics)
this unit plays every thing I put in it and more. would recommend to all my friends and relatives Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Quality, and Value, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips BDP2900/05 Blu-ray Disc/DVD player (Electronics)
This is just what I wanted. The case is tiny, and it doesn't play 3D, (which I do not want anyway), but it does everything I want, and the small case is so unobtrusive, and fits neatly beneath the flat panel display. It has marvellous picture quality, is easy to use, and plays all my discs, including home-recorded ones. It is brilliant for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good DVD Device, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips BDP2900/05 Blu-ray Disc/DVD player (Electronics)
This is a great little device, especially love the up-scaling feature. Got this for an older friend and he was happy with the quality of both the newer blue rays and his beloved older DVD collection. Nice and small and very easy to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars blu ray player, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips BDP2900/05 Blu-ray Disc/DVD player (Electronics)
Very happy with blu ray dvd player and a great price.nice compact size easy to use and good visuals.great buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars dvd, 8 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips BDP2900/05 Blu-ray Disc/DVD player (Electronics)
We purchased a blub-day DVD by mistake and decided this was a good time to change our player. Wanted a straight forward no frills unit easy to work.
This player is excellent high quality picture and easy to work, would recommend to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Does the Job, 4 Jan 2014
By 
Eddie the Editor (England, South Coast) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips BDP2900/05 Blu-ray Disc/DVD player (Electronics)
Apart from the Blu Ray option, good upscaling and also easy to play HD material that's in mkv or mp4 format from USB connected accessories. (Drives, memory sticks etc). Very occasionally (once every few weeks) freezes/crashes when left too long on a menu screen, but turning on and off at wall fixes that. Good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blu ray player, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips BDP2900/05 Blu-ray Disc/DVD player (Electronics)
Great product at a great price ,would recommend this bluray player ,takes plugins as well ,great buy.had no trouble with product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Philips BDP2900/05 Blu-ray Disc/DVD player
Used & New from: 27.94
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews