Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Resume
After a lot of research and communication with various makers of these devices, i found that this machine had what i considered to be a really important feature that the others don't have. This feature is a resume, which means if you take out the disc and even if you switch it off at the mains socket, when you put the disc back in it will remember where it was stopped and...
Published 16 months ago by r.e.harle

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars like to have given it five stars
what to say about this, customer service was excellent, i returned the first one because it kept freezing and the remote was very unresponsive, it was replaced very quickly and i have had the replacement for a good few weeks now, but i am afraid it is no different, still the same problems, but i decided to live with it, the concept is brilliant, the 3d and blue ray are...
Published 7 days ago by mr v fearnsides


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Resume, 14 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips BDP5500/05 Smart TV+ 3D Blu-Ray DVD Player with Built-in WiFi and USB Playpack (Electronics)
After a lot of research and communication with various makers of these devices, i found that this machine had what i considered to be a really important feature that the others don't have. This feature is a resume, which means if you take out the disc and even if you switch it off at the mains socket, when you put the disc back in it will remember where it was stopped and resume from there. It doesn't just do this for one disc either, it remembers about the last 5 discs used. So if you put a different disc in and then return to the first disc it will remember where you left off watching that disc and resume from there.
This is very useful when watching TV series as it's really annoying when it always starts from the beginning and you have to remember which episode you last watched as well as the warnings about copying that you can't skip.
It also does all the other things a machine of this type should do, including upscaling and 2D to 3D conversion.
Another useful thing it has which others don't is the ability to store BD live on a SD card that neatly tucks away at the back leaving the USB slot empty for other things. There is also another USB slot for using peripherals like a wireless keyboard and mouse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Wi-Fi., 24 Jan 2013
This review is from: Philips BDP5500/05 Smart TV+ 3D Blu-Ray DVD Player with Built-in WiFi and USB Playpack (Electronics)
Price & picture quality both splendid. B-ray films different class, plays any format i've tried. No need for a computer in the viewing room now with the on-line facility.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Value, 9 Jan 2014
By 
J. Marshall (SCOTLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips BDP5500/05 Smart TV+ 3D Blu-Ray DVD Player with Built-in WiFi and USB Playpack (Electronics)
At 99.00 this Philips BDP 5500/05 has to be great value, installation quick & easy and picture quality on old DVD and Blu-Ray discs is excellent. Just a pity it isn't multi-regional
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just the job, 22 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips BDP5500/05 Smart TV+ 3D Blu-Ray DVD Player with Built-in WiFi and USB Playpack (Electronics)
Bought this for my brother who is disabled so he watches quite a lot of films as he can not get around very well he is so please with it can not praise it enough very pleased with my buy excellent picture and sound
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply amazing, 22 May 2013
By 
Norbert Stier (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips BDP5500/05 Smart TV+ 3D Blu-Ray DVD Player with Built-in WiFi and USB Playpack (Electronics)
I agree with the previous reviewers this is a great product.
Does play all kind of discs and handles well my external HDD.

Only one thing contra: It is noisy while playing a disc if left on a wooden shelve...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars like to have given it five stars, 20 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips BDP5500/05 Smart TV+ 3D Blu-Ray DVD Player with Built-in WiFi and USB Playpack (Electronics)
what to say about this, customer service was excellent, i returned the first one because it kept freezing and the remote was very unresponsive, it was replaced very quickly and i have had the replacement for a good few weeks now, but i am afraid it is no different, still the same problems, but i decided to live with it, the concept is brilliant, the 3d and blue ray are the best i have had, so i will put up with the problems, i just wish i could have given it five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars BluRay OK. Media Player poor, 21 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips BDP5500/05 Smart TV+ 3D Blu-Ray DVD Player with Built-in WiFi and USB Playpack (Electronics)
I bought this to play 3d Bluray and as a media server for my NAS and USB hard Drive.My Samsung TV will only stream 1080 MP4, no use for converted home DVD's at 576, so considered Phillips bluray as I wanted 3d also.

Remote control is basic, not even a tv volume control so you have to use two remotes.
Remote control android app useless.
Plays MP4 from NAS over DLNA but refuses to play the same files on USB. When it cannot play it freezes. And I mean freezes, you have to unplug to get it working again.
The home screen is unreponsive to the remote, slow to move across icons.

DLNA music files only go so far down my stored files list and the wont show the rest. DLNA on TV shows them all.

Machine is considerably wider than a SKY HD box so you will need to do some shuffling to get it to fit.

Cannot comment on Bluray player as I got so frustrated I put it back in the box before using it.

I have since returned the product as it was below the standard I expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Could be better??, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips BDP5500/05 Smart TV+ 3D Blu-Ray DVD Player with Built-in WiFi and USB Playpack (Electronics)
CON... bought this machine in the hope that it had the same fast forward - rewind - slow feature as earlier models using the centre menu ring (up-down-left-right-enter) but no!! which where more convenient than than the dedicated transport buttons...
Also in the YOU-TUBE search function there is no search memory so every time i want to re-visit a site i need to entre the whole thing as if it is the first time?? shame!!
PRO... It seem to play anything i throw at it both in discs and sticks..so overall 4 stars!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews