Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From Strength To Strength
Admiral Fallow's last album 'Boots Met My Face', released originally in 2010, was
a gem. In Louis Abbott this fine Glaswegian five-piece have a splendid leader
and songwriter and their new album 'Tree Bursts In Snow' finds the band in
increasingly confident form. The wistful melodies and observations of their
earlier work remain intact but what is new...
Published 23 months ago by The Wolf

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the first album
I bought this because I absolutely loved Boots Met My Face for its strong lyrics and observational humour tinged with harsh reality. I did not enjoy this album so much as it tries too hard to make its points and the lyrics are a little too complex in places leaving me to wonder what they are trying to say. That said, Admiral Fallow are a great band and I shall continue to...
Published 3 months ago by Robert


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From Strength To Strength, 21 May 2012
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Tree Bursts In Snow (Audio CD)
Admiral Fallow's last album 'Boots Met My Face', released originally in 2010, was
a gem. In Louis Abbott this fine Glaswegian five-piece have a splendid leader
and songwriter and their new album 'Tree Bursts In Snow' finds the band in
increasingly confident form. The wistful melodies and observations of their
earlier work remain intact but what is new here is a greater sense of power
and purpose. It's stirring stuff every-which-way. There are ten songs in the
set and not a weak one among them. When they see fit the ensemble can really
rock out (witness the uproarious 'Guest Of The Government') but when the mood
takes them there are the tenderest moments too (the beautiful 'Old Fools' is
sung with true feeling and conviction by Mr Abbott). There's light and shade in
the foursquare arrangement of 'Beetle In The Box' (sporting commendable vocal
support from Sarah Hayes); delicious harmonies and energetic drumming from Philip
Hauge in 'Brother' and poignant melancholy on final track 'Oh, Oscar'. It is to
the magnificent composition 'Burn', however, to which we must turn to experience
the full force and elegant complexity of the band's sense of drama and palpable
emotion. It is a song to rank with the very best we have heard so-far this year.

An album to treasure. Don't let it pass you by on the other side of the road.

Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mass appreciation beckons?, 30 May 2012
By 
Mr. Stephen H. Lyall (Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tree Bursts In Snow (Audio CD)
Read various reviews of this album and the glowing testimonials afforded their first album in the amazon review section, and then listened to the short snippets available.I was immediately taken with songs on both albums even on such small crumbs. Luckily got the chance to see them live last Monday and would confirm what some others have known for a while - this is a top notch band. Flute and clarinet add a classy flourish to their sound. The lead singer has a fine voice and duets beautifully with the female member of the band at times. The songs are lyrically rich and hold your attention from start to finish. As has been mentioned elsewhere there are a couple of songs which may bring Elbow to mind. My favourites are the two tracks which bookend the album closely followed by old fools and burn but there are others which i'm sure may just help elevate the band to mass appeal given the right breaks and a bit of national radio play - possibly beetle in the box and/or isn't this world enough. The first album is possibly even better - dead against smoking tops the lot for me. Give both albums a try, I'm sure you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great discovery, 5 Dec 2012
By 
Big Twink (Swansea, Wales) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tree Bursts In Snow (Audio CD)
I've only just discovered this band after reading some of the end-of-year album lists and checking them out. This album is a songwriting masterclass full of poise, delicacy and restraint but also with plenty of pop sensibility. Another thing that comes across is the 'soul' of the album - like all the best bands they sound like they mean every word and note. If there's any justice they are destined for great things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Admiral Fallow, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tree Bursts In Snow (Audio CD)
Must have bought this for my daughter from her wish list. No complaints from her but then they are a good band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the first album, 24 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tree Bursts in Snow (MP3 Download)
I bought this because I absolutely loved Boots Met My Face for its strong lyrics and observational humour tinged with harsh reality. I did not enjoy this album so much as it tries too hard to make its points and the lyrics are a little too complex in places leaving me to wonder what they are trying to say. That said, Admiral Fallow are a great band and I shall continue to follow them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best album of the year, 1 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tree Bursts In Snow (Audio CD)
Q. How do you follow Boots Met My Face?
A. With Tree Busts in Snow.

Wonderful 10/10. Click "add to basket".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful discovery ... not one dud track!, 11 Oct 2013
By 
Polly Potter (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tree Bursts In Snow (Audio CD)
I heard a track from this album on an episode of "The Big C" and liked it enough to track down the band, listen to another couple of tracks, and bought this on the strength of that. I am seriously impressed by the performances, the album hangs together well, it's well paced and has a sense of continuity. The entire album is a delight. This band deserve every success, they are sublime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awsome, 9 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tree Bursts in Snow (Audio CD)
Cant get enough of this!
Its got it all. At times its mellow and foot stomping, and has beautifully clever lyrics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great second album, 5 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tree Bursts In Snow (Audio CD)
Great album, fine song writing, excellent musicians. I prefer this album to the first ( Boots met my face ) , the band meshes well and its a tight sound. If you get the chance to see the band live - do it, they are even better on the stage
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Stuff!, 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tree Bursts In Snow (Audio CD)
This is SO good. I'd never heard of Admiral Fallow until I took a shot at this and now I am totally hooked. Vocals are crystal clear, music is brilliant., - really, go buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa6f669b4)

This product

Tree Bursts in Snow
Tree Bursts in Snow by Admiral Fallow
Buy MP3 Album6.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews