Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding!
Setting aside the justifiable hype associated with Gustavo Dudamel, this, on all counts is an outstanding CD. The Simon Bolivar Youth Orchestra of Venezuela, product of their El Sistema music programme introduces us to unfamiliar Central and South American composers writing orchestral music in a western style, as well as the piece, 'Mambo' by Leonard Bernstein...
Published on 29 April 2009 by Michael Kay

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars I bought this cd on the basis that it had ...
I bought this cd on the basis that it had track 12 - Congo del Fuego. This cd didn't have the 12th track - but other versions of Fiesta do seem to have this.
Published 4 months ago by J M Jarvis


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding!, 29 April 2009
By 
Michael Kay (Near Dundee, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fiesta (Audio CD)
Setting aside the justifiable hype associated with Gustavo Dudamel, this, on all counts is an outstanding CD. The Simon Bolivar Youth Orchestra of Venezuela, product of their El Sistema music programme introduces us to unfamiliar Central and South American composers writing orchestral music in a western style, as well as the piece, 'Mambo' by Leonard Bernstein.

The high quality of the musicianship of the young players is very evident in this CD, and one can almost sense their enthusiasm, so evident in their peformance at the 2008 BBC Proms.

Among much excellent music I would pick out 'Danzon No 2' by the Mexican composer, Arturo Marquez. It's so popular that it has been dubbed 'Mexico's second national anthem'. A bit like 'Bolero' the short piece (9'46) starts quietly but with a catchy rhythm. This rhythm becomes insistent, eventually driving the music to a superb crescendo. My instant reaction is to go to the player to start it again!

Now, don't delay - if you're interested in unfamiliar classical orchestral music, get this CD today. You won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fiesta, 4 Feb. 2009
This review is from: Fiesta (Audio CD)
This recording is what it suggests a real cracker of a CD I have given it to all my friends. I was introduced to new Latin American composers, all huge fun. I cannot praise it too highly and it is more than time England followed Venezuela's example and had a music system in place in our schools. BRAVO!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Youth Orchestra of Venezeula, 4 Feb. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fiesta (Audio CD)
This is a terrific live recording, full of energy and enthusiasm from this great Youth Orchestra. We have not heard enough of these composers in the West and they deserve greater audience coverage. It would be wonderful if the Orchestra make it back to the Proms in the near future - their concert in 2007 was electric. It was marvellous to see so many talented young musicians and congratulations to Venezuela for such a successful and enjoyable venture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars South American music, 6 Mar. 2010
By 
This review is from: Fiesta (Audio CD)
I bought this CD after hearing a track on the radio - Danzon # 2 by Arturo Marquez - and really enjoy listening to the energy and passion of the young orchestra. Wonderful music and a great introduction to this South American genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A unique disc of unique attraction - terrific musical and entertainment value, 10 Jan. 2013
By 
I. Giles (Argyll, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Fiesta (Audio CD)
This live concert showcases the considerable skill and enthusiasm of this remarkable youth orchestra in a program that finds them very much in home territory.

The program, with the exception of the encored Bernstein 'Mamba' is all original Latin American and is obviously completely natural to these players. The orchestra is a very large one with doubling of the woodwind and brass sections as well as an accompanying increase of the strings so the textures we hear are slightly inflated and not the same as those one would hear with a standard professional orchestra. This is of no concern in this concert as the atmosphere generated counts far more than worrying about such niceties as size of orchestra and the inevitable sonic consequences. It is doubtful if this very festive concert could be reproduced by any other ensemble with this level of sustained excitement.

The final 'Mambo' steals the concert as it often does with this group, having become something of a party piece. Fortunately the recording does the occasion full justice.

Comparisons are pointless in this case. For anyone interested in the program, or indeed the players, I would suggest that this disc must warrant very serious consideration indeed. It is truly a unique experience.

Two further considerations for purchase:
There are two outstanding Euroarts DVDs which I would suggest would appeal to anyone interested in the Fiesta disc as above. They are:
1 Gran Fanfare played by the Venezuelan Brass Ensemble - equally exhilarating
2 Sao Paula 'Samba' - the 2008 New Year's Eve concert, Brazilian style!

...........................................

A response to the anonymous negative voter of the previous version of this slightly modified review:

Goodness knows what you find to be unhelpful about this review
The voting system is specifically only about reviews being 'helpful' or 'unhelpful'

A negative vote without reason is not helpful to anyone. It does not contribute in any useful way to discussion so no-one can learn from you.

If you have a different view or find the review 'unhelpful' then explain, giving your reasons, and share your views in the comment option as intended.

Your opinion might then add to the total useful advice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Party Time!, 2 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fiesta (Audio CD)
Wow, this is an essential purchase! Every track on this live CD is a gem, from a truly wonderful orchestra and conductor, who REALLY do love to play. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gustavo Dudamel, 29 July 2010
By 
Lynda Marks (middlesex uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fiesta (Audio CD)
I am totally besotted with this musical conductor - he is utterly brilliant and has this youth orchestra eating out of his hands. If anyone saw him counduct at the Proms (Royal Albert Hall) a few years ago then you'll know exactly what I mean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dudamel is a genius, 3 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fiesta (Audio CD)
I bought this having heard Danzon No. 2 on Classic fm. I couldn't stop humming along to it all day so contact the programme to find out what I was humming to and bought the album straight away. Dudamel is an absolute genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Breath-taking!!, 5 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fiesta (Audio CD)
I loved this music - the vitality, rich harmonies, syncopation - it was wonderful!! I built a full hour-long radio show around both the music & the orchestra and received fantastic reports from my listeners...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended and very good in-car entertainment, 14 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fiesta (MP3 Download)
Such lively music. Very enjoyable though works not by main stream composers. Dudamel fast establishing himself as on of the World's leading conductors. Highly recommended and very good in-car entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fiesta
Fiesta by Gustavo Dudamel and Simón Bolívar Youth Orchestra of Venezuela
Buy MP3 Album£8.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews