Customer Reviews


127 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AN-MR3004 - An amazing remote, how it should be.
I recently had to purchase a new LG tv (42LS575T) due to the old one breaking down. It was 6 years old so it had a (relatively) long life but had completely given up the ghost. Within a week of purchasing, I had lost the remote. Completely. Nowhere to be found. I have a sneaking suspicion that a little gremlin came and placed it into the recycling bin without me knowing...
Published on 17 Oct 2012 by Steve

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as described and not packaged. BEWARE
Big fan of Amazon usually, but after ordering this item as a Xmas gift I was very disappointed when it arrived.

Firstly, the item was not boxed up for the purposes of delivery. It arrived in its original LG box with a delivery label slapped across it. The box was battered and corners were dented, surprised the remote survived it to be honest. This was in an...
Published 23 months ago by Andy Littler


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as described and not packaged. BEWARE, 28 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG Magic Motion Remote Control with Browser Wheel for 2012 LG Smart TVs (Accessory)
Big fan of Amazon usually, but after ordering this item as a Xmas gift I was very disappointed when it arrived.

Firstly, the item was not boxed up for the purposes of delivery. It arrived in its original LG box with a delivery label slapped across it. The box was battered and corners were dented, surprised the remote survived it to be honest. This was in an awful state, especially to give to someone as a Xmas gift.

Once opened I noticed that there was no dedicated 3D BUTTON on the remote as shown on the images in the listing. The button instead was a '?' and just brought up a settings wizard page to guide you through the TV settings, pretty useless really.

I have done some digging since and I've noticed there are in fact 3 different versions of this remote ... something that should be explained to everyone thinking of spending the best part of £40 on a remote.

3 different versions .... Although very similar and are all called an-mr300 ..

1st version has the '?' Button - remote only, no dongle
2nd version has the '?' Button - remote only with a dongle (this is the item I received)
3rd version has the 3D Button - remote only, no dongle

I believe there is another version coming out .... 3D Button with a dongle, but as to when, I don't know.
Due to the different versions its very unclear which version you will receive once ordered, they are all called LG Magic Remote & they all have the product code AN-MR300.

The remote itself works fine as is, I just think people should be aware of the differences and you might not always receive the one your expecting due to the way they are listed and described through Amazon.

Also .... Amazon ... Please sort the packaging out on this one too please, I've had oversized boxes with bubble wrap for unbreakable items in the past and then for something like this, nothing.

Said my piece now, thanks for letting me ramble.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AN-MR3004 - An amazing remote, how it should be., 17 Oct 2012
By 
Steve (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG Magic Motion Remote Control with Browser Wheel for 2012 LG Smart TVs (Accessory)
I recently had to purchase a new LG tv (42LS575T) due to the old one breaking down. It was 6 years old so it had a (relatively) long life but had completely given up the ghost. Within a week of purchasing, I had lost the remote. Completely. Nowhere to be found. I have a sneaking suspicion that a little gremlin came and placed it into the recycling bin without me knowing. By gremlin I mean my son.

So, not even a week of having the new TV and I had lost the remote. A quick search online for a replacement threw up the LG Magic Motion Remote Control. I was intrigued. A TV remote that acted like a Wii remote? This had to be rubbish. After all, there's a reason that the trusty remote control never changed it's form. Right?

Wrong. The Magic Remote is, well, magical. It's ergonomically designed to fit comfortably in your hand, no chance of dropping it. Installing it was a breeze. It comes with a USB dongle that you can attach to the back of the TV. This can be placed anywhere, it does NOT need a line of sight since it uses RF signals. When plugged in, simply point the control towards the TV and press the click-wheel. Done. Registered.

The lack of buttons are astounding. All the buttons you *really* need are available.

-Volume +/-
-Programme +/-
-Mute
-Apps
-Back
-Home
-Power
-Scroller/D-pad/OK

Everything else can be accessed through the TV's on-screen menus, just by clicking "Home".

Navigating said menus are a breeze with the on-screen cursor. It really is like a Wii remote. Perfectly responsive, sensitive to movement. A real bonus with this is that the cursor never flies off the edges of the screen. It's always in view so you don't have to figure out exactly where to point the remote. This does mean, however, then the cursor stays on screen for a few seconds once you have placed the remote down. But it does disappear.

The "motion" part of the remote works really well. Simply hold with the click wheel and wave it left and right to navigate through screens and options. It even has gestures! There's only two, from what I can see; Recent and "Next Programme". Recent works really well, I haven't tried "Next Programme" since I do not use the Freeview channels. The motion control isn't supported in all Smart Apps, like the Knowhow Movies App. You'll still need to use the D-Pad in order to navigate, which is a bit of a downer.

I can't comment on battery life however it is said to last as long as standard remote controls.

Overall, it's a great remote. One downside I can see is that the buttons do not glow in the dark. If you're sitting down to watch the TV in the dark, you'll have to fiddle with a light source in order to remember the positions. However with so little buttons to remember you'll soon pick them up. Everything else is brilliant. Easy to use, quick to learn, it's the last TV SET remote I'll ever use.

If only the Sky+ remote was just as impressive and feature rich. There's a thought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great, but too expensive!!, 26 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having bought an LG smart TV, I then tried fumbling with the standard remote to surf the interweb. NOT good. Saw this product and read a few reviews, then decided to give it a go. The controller is a well made, quality item that feels like it will stand the test of time. Too soon to say how the batteries will last, but a couple of rechargeables will sort this.
Using the unit is really easy, very similar to a Wii controller although it uses Bluetooth connectivity without a light source. The included dongle is a Bluetooth receiver that is plugged into the TV and remains out of sight behind the TV thanks to a nice piece of Velcro.
In short this device is great and it works well. The only down side is that it should come as standard with the TV (more expensive TV's do include it I believe) and the price at £49 is crazy!!! As an add on it's probably worth maybe £25-30 IMHO so I have to mark it down for this.
Having said that, if you plan to use the full capabilities of your LG smart TV you need to get one of these, the cost is a bit of a shocker, but once you get over that you won't regret it. If you're not going to use the smart features I would say don't bother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A necessity..., 20 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Its a lot of money to be honest at nearly £40 ,but it makes life so much easier when using the Smart features of the LG TV. Just one word of warning make sure you buy the correct remote ,The ANMR 200 remote will not work for the new for 2012 smart TVs(i made that mistake lol) ,only this remote and the ANMR 3005 remote ,which i actually received ,work for the TV i bought a month earlier ,so you have been warned !!! LG 47LM620T 47-inch Widescreen Full HD 1080p LED Cinema 3D Smart TV with Freeview HD and 4 Pairs of 3D Glasses (New for 2012)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very nearly went for this!!!, 10 Nov 2012
By 
Bwevans "lonesoldier" (s wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was going to buy this going by the reviews,but decided to try and connect a mouse to one of the USB ports,BINGO! It works a treat.You use the scroll wheel to change channels,left click for info etc.Even the keyboard is much faster,only thing you still need your old remote for every use,which I do mostly.I now use a Bluetooth mouse which has a 10 meter range.Total cost,under £10!Try a mouse first,if you like it,go cordless,save £30,at least!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LG Magic Remote, 18 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you have a smart LG TV you need one of these. Using the web with a normal remote is a nightmare. With the Magic Remote it's a breeze.
Use it as normal remote as well. Has channel change, volume, mute 3D and web controls.
Works via USB sensor that plugs into a USB port
Usual LG build quality. No fiddly set up it just works.
Only complaint, does not come with batteries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Is what it is, 7 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As the title says it is what it is, it removes the need for the remote and magics navigation so much easier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Quite A Necessity, 27 Aug 2012
By 
N. Flynn (Worthing, West Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this use with a new LG smart TV.
It makes using the TV easier than using the supplied remote on it's own as the TV I have allows switching between its' various functions and inputs with this remote. However, the supplied remote will do everyting this remote does - just with a little more effort and few more button pushes.
Controlling the TV with the 'Magic Remote' is a little odd as it uses RF instead of IR, so can be moving the cursor around the screen whilst pointing the remote 90 degrees from the set. Another slight niggle is that the timneout for the cursor is quite short so it disappears quickly, and can re-appear by 'jiggling' the remote again.
In terms of the ergonomics of the device, in my opinion the main control button is placed too far up the remote when holding the device. This makes it very easy to press the wrong button unless a little care is taken. However, more use may alleviate this tendancy...
All in all, I would say that this is a useful accessory for the LG smart TVs, but not vital
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good product, 15 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I do recommend this product because it works like computer mouse, which makes browsing an internet much easier. I just give only 4 stars because I'm little bit disappointed with a quality of product, but overall It is a good product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Overall good remote, 13 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an extra remote you need for smart functionality of LG Smart TVs released in 2012. You can do everything with your supplied remote though. This will give you some extra convenience thats it.
Or you can get the free Magic Remote app from AppStore. Save the 40 odd quids.
I knocked down one star only because it does not come with batteries. That is really cheap of LG!. come on!!! in this day and age you supply a remote without batteries!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews