Customer Reviews


102 Reviews
5 star:
 (88)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bolan's best finally gets a worthy treatment
Many things have been said about T-Rex's "Electric Warrior" and I won't comment more on the recording itself thanit's one of the best albums ever.
This album has been re-issued over and over, last year when A&M released a new version re-mastered by producer Tony Visconti.
This version, released by Rhino, makes the former look as a rather shoddy affair. Rhino's...
Published on 5 Mar 2003

versus
19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's a CD reissue on vinyl
This is a note on the 40th anniversary double vinyl LP set. Just to say, in case you were wondering, it's NOT a reissue of the original LP taken from the original analogue master tapes - it's just a vinyl pressing of Tony Visconti's 2001 CD remaster. There's also a second LP of "previously unreleased" demos and outtakes. I can't review it because I returned it unopened...
Published on 1 May 2012 by Richard-EC2


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bolan's best finally gets a worthy treatment, 5 Mar 2003
By A Customer
Many things have been said about T-Rex's "Electric Warrior" and I won't comment more on the recording itself thanit's one of the best albums ever.
This album has been re-issued over and over, last year when A&M released a new version re-mastered by producer Tony Visconti.
This version, released by Rhino, makes the former look as a rather shoddy affair. Rhino's "Electric Warrior" has better sound and the packaging is excellent. All the original artwork is included (reproductions of the poster and the inner sleeve) as well as rare photos by Keith Morris.
There is also a well-written essay and an interview with percussionist Mickey Finn.
Last years A&M release featured previously unreleased outtakes - here there is only one unreleased track, but instead Rhino have added all the 1971 non-LP tracks, plus an interview from a promo album.
I prefer Rhino's version to A&M's "30th Anniversary Edition" in every aspect, however I think Viconti's comments on the recording of the album were far more illuminating than Finn's.
It's a shame that you have to buy the same album over and over again to get a decent version, but I believe that this is the definitive version of Electric Warrior.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


69 of 70 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The final electric boogie?, 23 April 2012
By 
Richard James (Oxford, Oxon United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Electric Warrior (Audio CD)
Better late than never, but here is the 40th anniversary deluxe box version of Electric Warrior, first released on 24 September 1971.

Inside the chunky box is a 32-page hb book full of colour reproduced T.Rex ads and reviews from 1971 with a text by Mark Paytress. There's also a wallet with a repro press release, photos, a coaster (surely no-one would want to spoil this) and a double-sided poster, one side of which is the image used for the original poster that came with the vinyl album. The music is captured on 2 CDs, one of which is the album plus 'Get It On''s B-sides and 'Hot Love' with its B-sides, making it a Best of T.Rex for 1971.

Interestingly, Bolan left 'Hot Love' (a UK no.1. for 6 weeks) off the album because he felt it was no longer representative. I think this was a good decision. To me 'Hot Love' has come to seem more and more like the end-point of the Tyrannosaurus Rex journey from 1968. Though it is nice to have it on here. The second CD has a number of alternate versions / mixes. The third disc is a 10-track DVD of performances of the EW songs. (Can it really be that there are only two T.Rex TOTP performances unwiped from 1971?). The performances of Girl and Cosmic Dancer from Wembley March 1972 may not have been in the film Born To Boogie but they are included in the multi-DVD release.

It's undoubtedly a beautiful package, a very good example of what the deluxe box-set format can provide. Anyone who remembers purchasing the vinyl LP back in 1971 will not be disappointed. And I guess it is unlikely that any of the other Bolan albums will get the same treatment.

Two caveats. The first is that these boxsets are usually a sonic advance on previous releases, or at least this is what we assume. In 2003 the album was released as a hybrid SACD with a stereo SACD and 5.1 SACD mix. This must surely remain the ultimate version Electric Warrior as far as sound goes, and it is odd that this 2012 release didn't include the SACD version. Hearing Electric Warrior in 5.1. really is special. (The fate of rock SACD is a tragedy for quality audio).

My second caveat concerns CD 2, the collection of what are described as variously 'instrumental edit', 'working version', 'single vocal mix', 'alternate master', etc. As with the extra tracks and extended releases of the Tyrannosaurus Rex albums, and also some mis-labelled live T.Rex recordings, I'm not always convinced that these are as different from the final version as you might think, though they can make certain details of the arrangement or performance more audible. In connection with this aspect see The Electric Warrior Sessions CD (Pilot 1996) and the 30th anniversary EW with its 8 'work in progress' tracks (A&M, 2001) to judge how significant some of the 2012 alternate versions are.

You will need to go to the box-set The Electric Boogie 1971 (Easy Action 2007) if you want to hear a demo of what might have been Electric Warrior's title track. Bolan apparently never finished this song. It was written in a style that was a throwback to a song like 'Dragon's Ear' from Beard of Stars. It would have needed a lot of re-writing to bring it in line with the rock'n'roll songs of his break-through album. I assume this was considered too embryonic for inclusion(?).

Less lavish versions of this release are also available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A thing of real beauty!, 24 April 2012
By 
Stephen Lloyd (Bradford, West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Electric Warrior (Audio CD)
Can't really add much to Richard James impressive review but I would like to up the grade to 5 stars because this package truly deserves it!

`Electric Warrior' is a timeless classic no debate! If you are not moved by the pulsing rhythms, the haunting melodies and the poetically charged lyrics within then you do not deserve to have ears!

I am a sucker for box sets, the more lavish the better, and I do expect lot's of nice things when I spend my hard earned! Two discs of quality music, (much of it previously unheard and in great quality I might add), and a DVD of television, promo and live `Warrior' performances nestle in the box alongside some very gorgeous Bolan/T.Rex memorabilia which Mr. James has helpfully itemised in his review.

The jewel for me however is the book. A hardback 28 page volume of considerable quality. The sleeve notes are by Mark Paytress, a writer of some quality and an unwavering champion of Bolan and his work. Also to be found within are copious contemporary (1971) reviews of the album, associated singles and live gigs. There are colour and black and white photographs, again from the 71' era, many of which I had never viewed before which only left me wishing that the book had been larger in size.

It costs a bit of money but things of true worth and beauty often do. I did not begrudge a penny I paid for it and I desperately hope that `The Slider' is in the pipeline for similar treatment.

An unreserved 5 stars!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is it strange to dance so soon?, 21 Aug 2007
By 
Electric Warrior - T Rex

Is it strange to dance so soon?

I bought this in 1971 just after release and I still think it is an amazing record.
Interest in Marc Bolan goes up and down like the financial times share prices. One moment he is the biggest thing since the Beatles. Next day, his albums are chucked into the remainder bin. Then he is remembered as a prophet and a colossal talent. Next day his work is dismissed as glam-rock tat. But, just like the stocks and shares, the general outlook is that the value is gradually rising. And, when you buy this album, you will see why!

There were two big hits off of this album, `Jeepster' and `Get it On' (aka `Bang a Gong'.) I would ask you to enjoy these two song by all means, but please... please... please... forget them! They do not, in my opinion, accurately reflect this album and they will make you think that Bolan was just another Slade/Sweet "Sounds of the Seventies" product.

This album is far more than that. This album is poetic, deep, haunting and sincere.

Take the second track, `Cosmic Dancer' for example This simple yet elegant vision encompasses, all at once, Marc's child-like fascination for the magic of life and yet combines it with a foretelling of his own tragic demise. It is majestically supported by a sumptuous string-arrangement (courtesy of Tony Visconti) and is adorned by cry-baby waa-waa. The haunting lyrics are beautifully gothic and the melody, although simple, lingers long after in your mind and heart.

Other softer and more mysterious songs on this album include `Monolith' with a squelchy guitar-lick (using Bolan's favourite pedal) and the whimsical `Planet Queen'. The percussive effects on this track create an exquisite layer-cake of sound that is repeated in the final track `Rip-Off'.

There are flugel horns to add to the weirdness on the track `Girl'. But the strange cryptic lyrics and gentle melodic style help to smooth any concerns the listener may have about this strange mix.

My favourite song is `Life's a Gas'. That is right, it is my favourite song- not just from this album but period. It has got just about everything right. It is eloquent in its sincerity of love. It is good-humoured and light enough so as not to take itself too seriously. It has got a nice simple acoustic guitar to start with but this is then later adorned by a grungy electric guitar lick. It has a generous and memorable chorus. And, like `Cosmic Dancer' it eerily suggests that Marc is contemplating an untimely end- especially in the last line of the verse (that he almost throws away) `I hope it's gonna last'.

This album even has, what is generally agreed to be, an eminent blues track, `Lean Woman Blues'. This song was recently voted as outstanding by Classic Rock magazine.

I thoroughly recommend this special edition. If you already own Electric Warrior, then you will be pleased with the extra tracks on this production. Especially the `rough' recordings of the tracks before strings and backing vocals were added. If you have never bought a T Rex album before then try this one first.

Marc Bolan and T rex may not always be in `fashion' but then `fashion is just fate'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful but still not complete!, 26 April 2012
By 
Mr. P. C. Ewens "Carl Ewens" (Crawley, West Sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Electric Warrior (Audio CD)
Well I guess we'll have to wait for the 50th Anniversary version of this little doozy. It's a beautiful boxed set, with carefully annotated facts and info, a lovely book, and a nice poster etc. I love the design and the music sounds great. The only problem is that it's not 'complete' - two tracks which are listed on the sessions for the album are missing, 'Bolan's Blues' and a BBC radio version of 'Sailors Of The Highway'. Both are significant tracks as the first is a studio workout of a basic blues song, with T.REX sounding as if they're having a whale of a time trying out their new sound, having not long performed together. The second is a track actually considered as a follow up to Hot Love, so it really does belong in this collection.
Maybe they're saving the 'complete package' for 2022!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes,you do need another copy of Electric Warrior!!, 1 Feb 2012
By 
P. V. Rice - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Electric Warrior (Audio CD)
Like the American reviewer linked to Amazon UK says,this is the best version of a classic Bolan album.
I also have the anniversary edition,the Castle edition ,the sacd release and (yes ,I need to get out more!)this is the one that hits the spot.
Warm,but crisp sound which reveals details that were hidden,particularly Bill Legend`s drumming and Flo and Eddie`s unique backing vocals.The sound is perfectly balanced and lets the listener pay attention to every nuance or just go with the flow and eddy of the music as it washes over you and laps at your feet!(enuf with the puns, already).
One final thought,Amazon should reduce the price as HMV has it for 3.99 inc.p and p.
Bang a gong in the mambo sun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cosmic rock at its absolute best!, 8 Jun 2005
By A Customer
This album undoubtedly represents the high-water mark for T-Rex. It is, quite simply, the album that defined the sound of the 70's. With the aid of John Peel, Bolan had already talked up chart success with "Ride a White Swan" and "Hot Love", but this was the complete T-Rex package. From the swinging, psychedelic 'Mambo Sun' to the vulnerable 'Cosmic Dancer' and then the rocking 'Jeepster' (containing the delicious "just like a car, you're pleasing to behold. I'd call you Jaguar if I may be so bold") the scene is already set for an epochal recording well before the commercial favourite 'Get It On' is introduced. The fantastic fluctuations continue with the heart wrenching 'Girl', followed by the funky 'Motivator' and all capped off with the hard rocking 'Rip Off'. People have criticised Bolan's lyrics, but here you can feel the passion, pain and joy just from his tone and no-one can deny that when it came to boogie-able guitar riffs, Bolan was king. The additional 'work in progress' material gives a great insight into the man's creative process. Groundbreaking stuff, a self-made Superstar at the height of his powers and a must for every music fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A guiding example of the perfect Anniversay Edition, 24 July 2002
By 
Amazon Customer (Edinburgh United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Much has been said to praise this fantastic record - I bought it when it first came out on vynil, and bought this edition 30 years on - that says it all. The remarkable thing about this edition is the wonderful remastering and the presentation. The sound is crisp, clear and bassy, the sleeve notes are by Tony Visconti and reveal many interesting aspects of the T.Rex recording process. Along with the 'Work in progress' tracks this is the album and 'making of' documentary in one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well I just had to..., 4 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Electric Warrior (Audio CD)
I have to confess that I am one of those people, who while not a obsessive completist, just had to buy this Super Deluxe edition; given how much I love "Electric Warrior". Given the choice, I would have awarded the music and its digital representation five stars; while the package itself would have got 3.5 to 4 stars. I can honestly say no other music has given me more pleasure, over the years. However, although tempted to, I will not write a full review of the music itself; assuming that if you are looking at this Super Deluxe version, I would be preaching to the converted. Instead I shall now focus on the pros and cons of this edition.

Ten years ago I was delighted with the news of Universal's release of the Tony Visconti re-mastered version. Indeed the improvement in sound quality over previous CD versions was substantial. However I was a little disappointed with two annoying shortcomings: firstly, nearly two minutes into the first track, the left channel momentarily dropped out; followed shortly after by the right: secondly, was the rather odd choice not to include the single "A" and "B" sides of the "Electric Warrior" period. This was especially strange as not only had Edsel Records set the precedent with their fantastic re-mastered releases of the later T.Rex Wax Co. albums; Universal itself was to follow this pattern with their subsequent releases of the earlier Tyrannosaurus Rex and T.Rex albums.

For these reasons, I took the trouble of also ordering the Rhino Records edition from the States. This re-mastered version, although not re-mastered by the wonderful Tony Visconti, had the virtue of being free of these two errors.

I am very pleased to report that this version, built around the Visconti re-master, is also free of these two annoying shortcomings: so finally there is a definitive version of this great record, on CD. I also think that the choice of tracks, on disc 2, is very satisfying; effectively an "Alternative Electric Warrior" in the same manner of the similar "Alternative" range of Edsel Releases. As for disc 3, while it is good to have material not previously released on DVD; I would imagine that there are precious few people who would buy this product who do not already own the "Born to Boogie" DVD and already possess the Wembley Stadium footage.

The slim hardback book enclosed in the box is both lavish and delightful: a well written piece by Bolan expert Mark Paytress is complemented by a large range of images and clippings from the era. I do wonder about the point of the poster, postcards and coaster (!?). Nice though it is, I find it unlikely that anyone who spends so much of their hard earned on this package would want to casually pin this material on the wall, or spoil the coaster (actually it is more like a beermat) by using it: maybe it would have been wiser just to include a slightly thicker book.

One practical consideration is that, as all this assorted material sits on top of the discs in the box, it is somewhat fiddly to get to the discs to play them - and that is when you finally manage to take the lid off: well-made as it is, the box lid sits very snuggly over the bottom section and can only slide off very slowly. That said it is a very handsome box, though I do wonder why Universal has gone to the trouble of picking out the lettering in a very fetching gold while only using a goldie-yellowy coloured ink for the iconic Spud Murphy / Hipgnosis image.

In conclusion, anyone who loves T.Rex really must buy either this 3 disc Super Deluxe or the 2 disc Deluxe version. And there is the rub: those who can do without the lovely book and the (otherwise unavailable on DVD) Hot Love video footage, would probably be better off getting the much cheaper 2 disc version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece, 28 Jan 2007
By 
DavyA (Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Bolan's masterpiece. A truly wonderful record, every song is a gem. Visconti's production is brilliant, Marc's music was at its barn storming , top notch, brilliant best.It really does not get better than this - an absolute,dead cert essential for every record collection. Marc is still criminally under rated by some, this album surely dispels any arguments, the influences on a plethora of bands are evident from what you can hear on this record.

If you love music , then surely you have to own this ?

Keep A Little Marc In Your Heart - get this & you always will. A triumph.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews