Customer Reviews


177 Reviews
5 star:
 (67)
4 star:
 (73)
3 star:
 (25)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read!
What an absolutely enjoyable read. I thoroughly enjoyed this from start to finish, at one point not putting it down for hours.
Am now looking forward to more from this author!
Published 21 months ago by Avid-april

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother
If you like Andy McNabb then you would probably like this, however Stevens has over emphasised the drama making the superhero so unbelievable that the story loses any credibility, le carre or deighton do not feel the need to fill every page with sensationalism therefore I would not recommend to buy, luckily it was free, but still feel cheated of my time.
Published 12 months ago by Keefers


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ratcatcher, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ratcatcher (John Purkiss Thriller Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
If you want action more akin to James Bond in a book this is the book for you.I'm sorry but the book is not a spy story in the true sense ,more so just one unbelievable confrontation after another ascaping death by the fingertips.I'm halfway through it and now will delete. Fortunately I didn't waste cash buying it as it was free.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother, 3 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ratcatcher (John Purkiss Thriller Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
If you like Andy McNabb then you would probably like this, however Stevens has over emphasised the drama making the superhero so unbelievable that the story loses any credibility, le carre or deighton do not feel the need to fill every page with sensationalism therefore I would not recommend to buy, luckily it was free, but still feel cheated of my time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wooden rats, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ratcatcher (John Purkiss Thriller Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Very plodding and slow for first few chapters gradually picked up towards the fairly lame end
Not a classic tale
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not my cup of tea, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ratcatcher (John Purkiss Thriller Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I didn't take to the book, I think its just down to personal touch nothing to say others won't like it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read!, 26 Feb 2013
By 
Avid-april (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ratcatcher (John Purkiss Thriller Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
What an absolutely enjoyable read. I thoroughly enjoyed this from start to finish, at one point not putting it down for hours.
Am now looking forward to more from this author!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A not so simple chase to trap a rat, 17 Sep 2012
This review is from: Ratcatcher (John Purkiss Thriller Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This is a highly literate, well-written, multi-layered spy story with a large cast of characters. On the surface, at least, it has a simple plot: British intelligence assigns a spy named Purkiss to pursue a turncoat spy named Fallon who also happens to have murdered Purkiss' love interest. Through various twists and turns and action scenes, Purkiss tracks Fallon to a location involving heads of state. Guess what happens next. On second thought, don't try.

I concur with many of the comments made by other reviewers on the book's high points. It is fast-paced and filled with action scenes. The author's technical knowledge of human anatomy probably adds a degree of realism. The dialogue is excellent--tight and well-edited, without a wasted word. The main character, Purkiss, is well developed and believable, no James Bond quasi-superhero. The descriptions are right on. Stevens has a genuine talent for the simile; not a dud in the book.

I do have a few qualms. Ratcatcher is not an easy read. You have to pay attention and, if you have a memory like mine, take notes to keep track of the characters, locations, and various relationships. Characters may appear without introduction or description, act, have thoughts, and enter the story without context. It is only after reading further that a reader is able (or unable) to make sense of them and how they fit into the story. Likewise, chapters often begin with a line of dialogue, without attribution, and it is only later that one finds out who said what. Perhaps all this is intentional. Ratcatcher is a spy story and spy business is often a mystery. Some folks like puzzles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Right up my cul-de-sac, 20 Mar 2013
By 
Basetrojan (Leamington Spa) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ratcatcher (John Purkiss Thriller Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This is one of those books that gives indie publishing a good name. I did have to put it down on occasion to take a pee and to sleep of course but there is something happening on nearly every page - and there are over 400 of those. Very well worked plot without being too over-complicated - think Bond or Mission Impossible while still being able to understand what's happening.
Awake, King Arthur
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, 31 Aug 2012
By 
Karen (Abbeyfeale, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ratcatcher (John Purkiss Thriller Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I downloaded this book as a free product and was plesantly surprised, although it does get a bit confusing if you are not able to spend time on it, it is the type of book you want to sit down and concentrate on, which I do like, definitely not a quick and easy read but does become quite involved and takes some following. Personally I like it and would recommend it but would suggest its not for everybody - if you want a book to read in the background this is not it but it is full of action and suspense and is a very good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really rather good, 24 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ratcatcher (John Purkiss Thriller Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This is a commendably concise and well-constructed thriller. It has a complicated plot which unfolds at a terrific pace and twists very interestingly in places, but the verve and clarity of the author's style ensure that it never becomes confusing or incoherent. There are many resemblances (stylistic tics, so forth) to Adam Hall's Quiller novels, to which I was introduced by someone or other some time back; and although Ratcatcher successfully avoids the modern-day incubus of homage, many of Hall's own virtues are on display here: the superbly choreographed fight scenes, the arduously imaginative methods of concealment and the useful professional tricks (the medical treatment with a ball-point pen would earn an appreciative nod from Quiller). Ratcatcher has its inevitable genre tropes - the betrayed hero, the expendable sidekick, the ex-Soviet religious fanatic - but they are used the way genre tropes ought to be used, as devices for getting the job done rather than as props for sloppy work. Ratcatcher is well worth your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fasten your safety belts!, 3 July 2012
By 
Patricia Mackay "Pat" (Somerset UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ratcatcher (John Purkiss Thriller Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
A fast-paced, action packed thriller with scenes of graphic violence is not my usual bed-time reading but the title - 'Ratcatcher' by Tim Stevens and its meaning - the man who deals with rogue spies, was the hook that reeled me in. And I only had a couple of nightmares.
John Purkiss is the Ratcatcher whose life had been devastated by a particular spy - Fallon - and he is relentless in his quest to exact revenge. There is a time element which adds to the suspense and I think it would make an excellent film of its genre.
I have a slight problem with remembering who's who - especially with foreign names and a kindle doesn't lend itself to referring backwards. Would a brief cast list at the beginning be possible? I found this book absorbing and my attention was held to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews