Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars31
3.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 August 2013
Initially I thought this would a good read but by the end of the book I found myself disliking Paul Cannell intensely. If you are interested in reading a book about a self absorbed coke addict then this is the one for you. Personally I found it pretty gruelling.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2013
As a Newcastle fan I remember Paul Cannell and leaving and coming back from America. But who would have thought he had such interesting tales to tell. Controversial views on the modern game vis balls and pitches too.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2012
Great book about the early days of soccer in the U.S. Paul Cannell has an open, honest way of writing. Even non-soccer fans will enjoy this book. I highly recommend it!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2013
Shaun young
A great book , if not a bit short. I'm a Geordie of a certain age and loved this, couldn't put it down , if Paul Cannell pops his clogs tomorrow he's had a good life
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2014
He really seems to have packed a multitude of experiences into his life so far.
The narrative is a bit disjointed, but it is, always informative and entertaining.
Another effort that's hit the back of the net!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2013
A romp around the US in the 70's - a former Newcastle reserve becomes a 'bad boy' soccer star. Could've left out the last chapter about running pubs in the north-east - of interest to no-one!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2013
Excellent football autobiography and very funny with it.
Doesn't take itself too seriously but a good read.
Read this on the beach, the pub or relaxing in the garden.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2013
Having selected a number of books about football careers I found this to be a great holiday read - there are laugh out loud moments and it is very easy to read.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2013
A very funny book some of the players names made me reminise of the the Times when football wad football not an entertainment package.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2013
Funny excellent book.Will be reading it again in the future.Reccomend it to all readers.It is more than a footballers story.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)