Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Carolus Rex - Sabaton's best album
I have bought most of Sabaton's albums since I discovered the band last year, and I'll be seeing them live in November.
Of all their albums, this one is definitely the best, you can tell how much effort has been put in to its production, the lyrics focus on the thirty year war and are informative but easy to follow and fit the music perfectly, it is one of the best...
Published on 30 July 2012 by JFleming26

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The least interesting Sabaton album so far
I should start by saying that I really like Sabaton as a band. Their pompous, epic, power-metal is just on the right side of cheese-flavoured and, most importantly, they're good musicians in the classic heavy metal style. Essentially, they take the Iron Maiden formula of chugging riffs and dual guitar melodies and mix it up with some ear-worm synth riffs and whole choirs...
Published 17 months ago by Killbetter


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Carolus Rex - Sabaton's best album, 30 July 2012
This review is from: Carolus Rex (MP3 Download)
I have bought most of Sabaton's albums since I discovered the band last year, and I'll be seeing them live in November.
Of all their albums, this one is definitely the best, you can tell how much effort has been put in to its production, the lyrics focus on the thirty year war and are informative but easy to follow and fit the music perfectly, it is one of the best music albums of any type that I have ever heard.
The use of choral voices in places make this into a true piece of art, the album is magnificently set up in every way, from the music itself down to the order the tracks are in.
If you want a taste of the quality of this album, look up 'The Carolean's Prayer', 'Long Live the King' and 'Ruina Imperii' on Youtube, every song on the album is brilliant, but these are some of the best.
I would offer a warning with this album though, I had to listen to it repeatedly at high volume for the first few days after I got it.
In my opinion, it is well worth spending a little extra and getting one of the special editions, I did and that meant I got the album in English and Swedish with the bonus track, a cover of Amon Amarth's 'Twilight of the Thunder God'. The album is great in both languages, the overall sound in Swedish is just fantastic, and the cover is actually better than the original in my opinion.
This is a fantastic album, a must for any metal fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Metal for History Buffs, 11 July 2012
By 
E. R. Wilding (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you have any interest in the military history of Northern Europe, then you're likely to enjoy this record. And if you like top class power metal AND military history, like me, you'll LOVE this!
This covers different eras of the Swedish Empire's attempts to expand through Europe, particularly regards to the campaigns of Charles XII.
These guys have a way of bringing history to life. But it's more than that: they also know how to construct a good song. Lots of good choruses and a melodic touch make it very enjoyable.
I like the fact that Sabaton doesn't just glorify war, too. There are slower, more comtemplative songs like "A Lifetime of War". How do the people of a nation cope with constant war being waged by their nation?
A good overview of the themes behind the Great Northern War. And good songs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a tour de force!, 13 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Did you know that Sweden had an empire? Neither did I, however, thanks to the Sabaton guys, we now know a little more. And the way the history lesson is delivered beats the pants off most history teachers! An excellent album - the packaging, the fact that I ordered the Limited Edition meant that I also received the CD in English and Swedish, the actual words and, naturally, the reason I bought it in the first place, the music.
And what music, too. Right from the outset, they deliver a storming, fluent and awesome album. If it had been as good as previous albums, that would have been good enough for me, but this is way better than anything they given heretofore.
Whether you like their stuff or are completely new to it, buy this album and enjoy a really good history lesson with metal attached!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sabaton - Carolus Rex, 30 Mar. 2015
By 
Kingcrimsonprog "Kingcrimsonprog" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Carolus Rex (Audio CD)
Carolus Rex is the charismatic Swedish Power Metal band Sabaton’s sixth full-length studio album. The Gold-Certified album was produced by Hypocrisy’s Peter Tägtgren (and indeed features some guest contributions from him) and released on Nuclear Blast Records in 2012, just before a radical line-up shift that saw all but two members (singer Joakim Brodén and bassist Pär Sundström) leave the band.

Its too early to tell at time of writing, but this magnificent album feels like a future classic to me. This is such a strong, perfectly crafted, and interesting and entertaining album that it really feels like something of a landmark. It is the culmination of everything the band had always been excelling at. Its got brilliant lyrics about interesting Swedish historical subjects with surprising depth and occasionally quite good characterization (the Title Track especially), its got fun riffs, a nice mix of tempos and superb confident melodic vocals. I can really see it going down as a genre classic in a few years time.

Tracks like “The Lion From The North,” “Killing Ground,” “Gott Mitt Uns” and the Title Track are among the best in the band’s repertoire, and there is absolutely no weak moments or filler. It’s a good length that feels substantial but doesn’t overstay its welcome, and there’s a fine balance of variety versus consistency.

Most of all; there’s just so many great choruses that will stick in your head for days. Sabaton have always been masters of the hook, and this catchy masterpiece is no exception. These are memorable songs that make you want to sing along. Combine that with the bombastic, big, grandiose sounding music and you’ve got some serious umph going on here.

Overall; Carolus Rex is an excellent, catchy album full of memorable, well-produced and well-written songs. If you are a fan of the band its an absolute must-have and if you are interested in checking the band out it’s a fine introduction. I highly recommend anyone with an interest in this sort of music to give them a try.

of the band its an absolute must-have and if you are interested in checking the band out it’s a fine introduction. I highly recommend anyone with an interest in this sort of music to give them a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome to War Metal, 13 Jan. 2013
By 
Neil Lucock (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carolus Rex (MP3 Download)
This CD is about the time when Sweden had an empire in the 17th century, although people have sometimes heard of Gustavus Adolphus. It's well written heavy rock, with a bit of synthesizer and some choral work, generally fast paced and sung in English (apart from the song Ruina Imperii which is in Swedish on the English CD).
It's one of those CDs that you listen to and like, then like even more as you play it again. There are no poor songs, or things that you skip, just some that you like more than others. My own favourites are "Gott mit uns", a song about the battle of Breitenfeld (and the origin of the phrase on German belt buckles) and "Ruina Imperii", which has a heavy reggae-like beat and covers the retreat of the Swedes after their king was killed. The title track is about king Charles XII, it's quite chilling in the "divine right of kings" attitudes that are a part of the song.
Buy it and play it loud. It's also just as good in Swedish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 5 July 2014
This review is from: Carolus Rex (Audio CD)
all this bands cds need to be heard this band are sheer class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cd, 12 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carolus Rex (Audio CD)
Music for my son, excellent service, many hours of listening, not to my taste but my son loves it :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Their second good album..., 11 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carolus Rex (Audio CD)
I have not listened to all their work, but among the ones I have bought, following "Art of War", this is their second best album. The story flows well, the lyrics and most importantly the melodies are very good. For those who like symphonic / heavy sounds, this is definitely advisable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Sabaton album by far, 10 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Carolus Rex (Audio CD)
I heard this album by accident and I liked that so much I bought it. Then I just could not stop listening it. So I bought all the Sabaton cds. They are good too ,but not even close as good as this one. A 5 star ,unique power metal wonder. I am looking forward to their next one.I wonder if they can outdo this,or not. Would be very difficult.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars C.D., 24 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carolus Rex (Audio CD)
As you would expect from Sabaton another great recording and selection of songs.all sang with feeling this time about Sweden
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Carolus Rex
Carolus Rex by Sabaton
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews