Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Step inside the cabinet of Jan Svankmajer, 2 Mar 2000
By 
Michael Sean (Seattle, WA - US) - See all my reviews
Master animator Jan Svankmajer delivers another masterpiece with this feature-length effort, following the routines and rituals of a half dozen everyday folks (a man who keeps to himself; a woman across the hall from him; a newscaster and her husband; a mailwoman; and a magazine storekeeper). While still incorporating some very impressive stop-motion segments, this film is primarily live action and amazingly uses no spoken dialogue. Each character is represented with their own background music, and their paths cross interestingly as the events unfold. Examining the hidden desires and fetishistic nature of us all, Svankmajer has his subjects walking in and out of closets both literally and metaphorically. The imagery, as always, is equally fascinating and disturbing. If you enjoyed his mind-blowing "Alice" and "Faust," you owe it to yourself to experience this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Truly Bizarre, 15 Nov 2012
By 
Richard Allen (Wellington, Somerset) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Conspirators of Pleasure [DVD] (1996) (DVD)
I first came across the director Jan Svankmajer when I watched Little Otik. If the idea of a darkly comic eastern european fairly tale appeals to you, then I highly recommend it. Five stars. This film shares the same fantasic cinematography and imagery, and a great deal of Svankmajer's stop frame animation, which is fascinating to watch. Where it differs is in the narrative. There's very little story here, as it tells the tale of five loosely linked characters and their bizarre, largely sexual fantasies. Quite where these come from in anyone's imagination is hard to fathom (though the credits are in Czech, there are references to Freud and other psychoanalysts, which might be a clue). Clearly the director has allowed his imagination free rein. With no dialogue, you can simply watch, intrigued to see what can possibly happen next. I shan't give too much of the story as it's the bizarre nature of the events unfolding that makes it fascinating. It's too wierd to give it five stars, but definitely worth a watch if you want to see something truly different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The shaggy dog story you can believe., 6 Mar 2011
This is a great film, not a word of dialogue, but continuous music with different themes attatched to each of the character, in lietmotiff arrangements. Each character is linked to another character in the film, as is stated above. At the risk of overstating what the film is about, it expands on Svankmajer's film 'Food', which is partly about what happens when economic/political systems do not produce growth, but stagnation instead. In this film the way each character depends on other characters, and detracts from that other character, simultaneously, is wonderfully portrayed. With darkly humerous takes on behaviour that verges on the fetishistic. I am sure the plot for this film borrows from Max Ophuls' 1950 film 'La Ronde' in the way the characters interconnect, but with a much deeper humour and a much bigger target-consumerism itself. There is a humerously freudian reading of this film that is equally valid, either way-enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, Odd, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Conspirators of Pleasure [DVD] (1996) (DVD)
Buy it, you won't regret it. It's humorous due to its strangeness and quirkiness. Whilst in Czechoslovakia I visited some of the sites in the film :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece, 1 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Conspirators of Pleasure [DVD] (1996) (DVD)
Svank's Magnum opus. It deals with one of his major fetisjs'' sexuality. We meet several individuals and their personal fantasies. These vary from very Funny to mildly disturbing and uncanny. Well worth investigating
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Surreal Weird Revolution at the End of the Road, 11 Mar 2011
By 
Dr. Delvis Memphistopheles "FIST" (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Less to do with Freud and more to do with loneliness, solitude and drifting into erotic violent dream worlds. This is seriously bonkers but in the least possible taste. It is humorous to the nth degree, when you are in the right mood, as it is so cynical it singes the Saint of Cynique, Celine himself. It is form of middle European John Waters.

Fetishism abounds with wandering hands, condoms, furs and nails all used in ritual sexual allure. All done in complete silence with only the music to bring each scene to a climax. Svankmajer has taken the basic items of Central Europe and transformed them into something magicallly peverse. Poverty film making but generating something far more visceral, brutal and magical than Amerika and its flotilla of pilots floating on sterile barren seas of culture.

Meanwhile in New Europe they are making things like this; the surrealist weirdness at the end of the road.

It's not a movie for a first date and you would have to know your partner very well before this was introduced but sitting around with a group of arthouse lads and this would suddenly take on its own life form. Sado Masochism, various forms of fetishism abound in this romp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I symbolically wet my pants with laughter!, 29 Dec 2000
It's great to see this master of surrealism explore the dark and disturbing side of human sexuallity with such torso splitting humour. Laugh at these pathetic and solitary sexless sexploits. Guffaw at the absurdity of human procreation. And I thought I was hung up! Watch it with friends for best effect!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wierd and Wonderful, 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Conspirators of Pleasure [DVD] (1996) (DVD)
Had read about this and couldn't resist, it's oldish so not expensive. Not disapointed but slightly surprised at just how odd some people can be. Don't try this at home!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Response to Amazon Request, 14 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Conspirators of Pleasure [DVD] (1996) (DVD)
You have asked me if, in general terms, this DVD met my expectations. As I stated in my "Feedback" the supplier provided a first rate service at very reasonable cost! As to the Svankmajer,s movie it is all one expects of Svankmajer! I would recommend any of his movies to those curious to know more about his particular and distinctive work. Perhaps the excellent selection of his short films or the "challenging" film "Lunacy" might be included in an initial list. Look out in particular for the striking screen impact of many of his chosen actors, in particular the fine performances of the charismatic and beautiful Anna Geislerova..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Conspirators of Pleasure [DVD] (1996)
Conspirators of Pleasure [DVD] (1996) by Jan Svankmajer (DVD - 2012)
14.82
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews