Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


73 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring
After watching Bear on TV and reading other stories I had to get this book. It's a truly aw Inspiring account of what fuels his passion for adventure. Starting with his remarkable family history through SAS(R) training whilst 'studying' at uni through his ferocious accent up everest and a personal heartfelt insight to his private life and what keeps him going through the...
Published on 18 Jun. 2011 by Andy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Largely Limited
The name Bear Grylls has become synonymous with outrageous and dangerous stunts presented on TV - eating worms, jumping out of aeroplanes etc. However his autobiography says very little about his survival exploits or extreme behaviour, and `Mud, Sweat and Tears' is largely limited to his childhood, his training for service with the SAS, his ascent of Mount Everest as...
Published 5 months ago by D. Elliott


‹ Previous | 1 245 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

73 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 18 Jun. 2011
After watching Bear on TV and reading other stories I had to get this book. It's a truly aw Inspiring account of what fuels his passion for adventure. Starting with his remarkable family history through SAS(R) training whilst 'studying' at uni through his ferocious accent up everest and a personal heartfelt insight to his private life and what keeps him going through the rough times. This book will grab you from the beginning and won't let go it's an honest, inspiring and personal account of life and it's struggles that we all face in one way or another can be over come. It personally has helped me make some big decisions in my life as to follow your heart and your instinct and have self belief. If you want a true account of how life should be embraced or just want to learn more about the Bear then this book is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyable but duplicates his Everest book; only half his biography..., 25 Feb. 2012
By 
D. J. Burton (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mud, Sweat and Tears (Hardcover)
For anyone who hasn't read any of Bear's other books - this is a 5 star book.

For people who have read the Everest book (link below) then it loses a star, or possibly two if you are harsh. I will expand on this below.

I've read both of his main adventure books, Facing Up: A Remarkable Journey to the Summit of Mount Everest and Facing the Frozen Ocean: One man's dream to lead a team across the treacherous North Atlantic and was inspired to read the rest of his story in this book. However I was left feeling a little cheated that only 20 pages or so detail his life after the Everest expedition - which was almost 15 years ago. It's clearly going to be a two part autobiography but it should say this on the foreward, in my opinion.

It's split roughly into a third SAS selection, a third Everest, a sixth on his childhood and a sixth on post Everest (Man vs Wild and so on). The SAS selection is an eye opener and shows just how dogged and determined the guy is - a real inspiration. He is religious but not set in religious ways, which I found was a nice change, describing his faith in a way I haven't heard before - but not ramming it down your throat. It's a really good heartwarming read, basically written, but puts you right in amongst the action.

Unfortunately, passages from his Everest book are literally (excuse the pun) ripped out and put into this book. That's a shame in my eyes. He could have re-written it in a better way from the original book, maybe spent less volume on it, and gone into more detail of his other amazing adventures instead. That's my opinion; crossing the Atlantic in a small inflatable boat is incredible, as are the Man vs Wild adventures.

I give a lot of respect to him admitting his faults (like he needs my respect!), and saying that the Man vs Wild team muck in to tie knots, fetch firewood and so on. Anyone who didn't think this was the case doesn't really get the point - it's a TV show, for entertainment after all.

Can't wait for the second installment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mud, Sweat And Tears is a must read!, 28 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Mud, Sweat and Tears (Hardcover)
Just could not put this book down! It arrived at 10am and I finished it that evening!
If you're a Bear Grylls fan and would like to know how he got to be the man he is today, or if you just appreciate a great success story of somebody who has worked really hard to achieve some amazing things, then I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dynamic autobiography about a man that managed to achieve almost impossible, 21 Jan. 2014
By 
Denis Vukosav - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mud, Sweat and Tears (Paperback)
"Mud, Sweat and Tears" written by Bear Grylls is an exciting autobiography of a man who has managed to do and achieve much of what was thought almost impossible - repeatedly.

Bear Grylls is a man who has always been different, while his passion for adventures started back in his early age when he left school and spent several months in India, hiking in the Himalayas. When he returned to UK, after the idea to join Indian army was left, he went to Special Air Service selection, successfully passed it and served there for three years.
During this period, due to free-fall parachuting accident he broke his back in three places and it was doubtful whether and when he will be able to stand on his own feet. He passed through long and difficult rehabilitation, especially motivated by his desire to climb Mount Everest, what has been his dream since childhood.

18 months after his parachuting accident Grylls entered the company of the world recorders when at the age of 23 he became the youngest British who succeeded to return alive after winning the world's highest peak. It was a new beginning of his adventure career that continued with numerous expeditions, adventures as well as TV shows in which he portrayed his ventures.

Grylls particularly became known due to his TV show "Man vs. Wild" on Discovery Channel, with general premise of each episode that Grylls and his crew are left alone in some region where is almost impossible to survive, finding their way back to civilized world.

"Mud, Sweat and Tears" is not work made in excellent literary style; if otherwise that would probably mean that he hired some ghost writers, so do not expect a masterpiece of literature. He made a book in numerous very short chapters demonstrating in this way his dynamism and addressing style as reader is standing in front of him, and not as if reading his book - but once you get used to his style, it's very easy and fun to read.

What is the highest value of the book is how the author managed to show a different picture than the one we might expect - besides his obsession with adventure and adrenaline, he is an ordinary man, devoted to his family.
The book does not have much detail regarding his SAS service, probably because of the information confidentiality, but the book part that describes the ascent of Mount Everest is excellent and describes in detail the physical and mental efforts needed to accomplish this feat and survive.

Therefore I can recommend this book for all the people who like adventures, have some unordinary dreams and goals believing that someday they'll be able to achieve them. The author showed by example that there are no limits to what you can do if you have a strong will and put a lot of effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars White-knuckle stuff, 27 May 2011
This review is from: Mud, Sweat and Tears (Hardcover)
A great read. Exciting, funny, honest - I was completely hooked from the start and could barely put the book down in order to eat or do anything else. A no holds barred account of what made Bear the crazed adrenalin junkie he is today, as well as the family man devoted to his wife and family. SAS training, climbing Everest, eating raw snakes. All life is here!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bear-illiant, 30 May 2011
This review is from: Mud, Sweat and Tears (Hardcover)
One of the most inspirational books I have read about an amazing example of a human being. Very similar to Ran Fiennes Mad, Bad and Dangerous to Know. Honest, emotional, raw and you simply cannot put it down. From the gruelling account of SAS selection to Everest and everything before and after I loved the pace, little life lessons and the fact the Bear is such a massive chancer at all times.

Can't wait for more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 27 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Mud, Sweat and Tears (Hardcover)
As my boys and I are real fans of Bear's adventures, we were looking forward to this and it doesn't disappoint.

A very honest account of Bear's life to date and a real inspiration. Though he is very religious (he has to be in order to be the Chief Scout) he allows room in his book to pass on the views of his friends and colleagues who do not share his conviction which gives it a good balance.

The 'chapters' are extremely short but for younger readers this makes for easier reading in an anecdotal style. It was excellent when reading to my nine year old son when he had lost his nerve after an accident. One chapter of this and he was fine.

The SAS training also shows that even Bear is human and has limits.

Word to the wise, no-one 'signs' the Official Secrets Act. It is an act of legislation; so all of the UK are subject to it. The 'signing' is just a reminder of your duties.

No hesitation in giving these five stars. It does exactly what it says on the tin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 2 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a very good book which made me completely change my view of Bear. I'd seen the headlines at the time about how fake Bourne Survivor is, but this book gives a real insight into how hard he, and his team, work. You get to learn a lot about his background too and realise he does know what he's talking about
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just keep focused and you can do whatever you want, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mud, Sweat and Tears (Hardcover)
This book tells the whole story of his life, his childhood, his time in the army, Mt. Everest and much more.

I really enjoyed the book because he walks you through his life in a nice and casual way. He let’s you know how much influence his father had on him. He doesn’t shy away from admitting to have failed it the first time out when he wanted to join the SAS as well as his problems, doubts and fears while climbing to the top of the world.

I love all his books and recommend them to anyone interested in adventure and give it a 10/10. I am sure this won’t be the last book I read from this extraordinary man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I am Man: Watch Me Climb, Jump, Run, Swim...Fearlessly, 9 Jun. 2013
This review is from: Mud, Sweat and Tears (Paperback)
This man has so many lessons that he can teach the rest of us about living a life to the best that we can. His autobiography is chock full of worthy mantras to live your it by. On a random page opening, "Life is all about getting up again, dusting yourself down again, learning from the lessons, and then pushing on". Or "It was time to get out there with all of my enthusiasm and commit to fail...until I succeeded". And on his dream to one day climb Everest - "But I had a dream, and that always makes people dangerous...To a man, they thought I was mad". I think a lot of people still do! And these are just a very few of the thoughts scrambling around in this man's head. But other than his courage, his curiousity and his fearlessness, perhaps the most remarkable thing about him is his humanity and humility, his bloke-next-doorishness, how Jo-average he seems to be. And the encouragement, that anyone can take on the sort of challenges he has and succeed. Aside from the respect he engenders in people, perhaps his greatest gift is the model he provides for children and young people. He is the youngest ever head of the Scout Association, (he was a Cub Scout as a boy), and is in a most unique position to pass on his passions, his knowledge, his moral and ethical code, and his very ordinariness to the world's youth.

Any search engine will toss up all sorts of biographical detail about this extraordinary man, and you would have to have lived in a deep cave not to have heard, at the very least, about Man vs Wild, even if, like me, you have never actually seen it. But a bit like the late Crocodile Hunter, Steve Irwin, he is as much part of popular culture and entertainment, and as British as One Direction or Kate and Wills. In this book Bear Grylls delves deeper than the story of his life and shares the influences and elements that have shaped him into the man he shares publicly.

He comes from a privileged background, but not outstandingly so. His family is very important to him, and he has some very interesting forbears who have made their own mark on the world. He had a passion for adventure, the outdoors and climbing - be it hills or buildings - from a young age. He went to Eton College where a culture of freedom and pursuit of individual interests further developed his adventurous streak. His decision to try out for the SAS selection almost did him in, the fracturing of three vertebrae in his back almost killed him, as did a fall during his climb of Everest. These combined with his wife and children and his strong Christian faith have all made him the man he is today.

There is no doubt that he is one of the luckiest men to be alive. He has had more lucky escapes than I imagine he cares to count. The two main ones he writes about in this book - the broken back in a parachute accident and the fall into a crevasse on Everest - are, at a guess, barely the tip of the iceberg. I can't think of anyone who has done more for the saying "Feel the fear and do it anyway" than Bear Grylls. I do wonder though how long he can continue living his life, quite literally, on the edge.

This is such an easy book to read, very short chapters, lots of action, fair amount of self-reflection but in a good and straight forward way, finishing with an epilogue that sets the scene for volume two. Yes, you will want to read more, and you can only wonder what the next forty years of this life will produce.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 245 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews