Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Low Rides, Latinos', Violence in the `hood' and a Gay Disco!
This is set in the Mission district of San Francisco and is about Che Rivera (Benjamin Bratt - `Miss Congeniality). He is an ex con, reformed alcoholic tough guy who has spent too much time in a `twattoo' parlour. By day he drives a bus and in his spare time he hangs with his homies and builds low ride classic American autos. He is something of a character in his...
Published on 13 Aug. 2012 by Tommy Dooley

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars THE MISSION DVD
Reading on the back of this DVD, it seems to be okay, but we have not had chance to view it as yet, so untill we do we cannot reall say much abou it
Published 18 months ago by Jeff


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Low Rides, Latinos', Violence in the `hood' and a Gay Disco!, 13 Aug. 2012
By 
Tommy Dooley (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Mission [DVD] (DVD)
This is set in the Mission district of San Francisco and is about Che Rivera (Benjamin Bratt - `Miss Congeniality). He is an ex con, reformed alcoholic tough guy who has spent too much time in a `twattoo' parlour. By day he drives a bus and in his spare time he hangs with his homies and builds low ride classic American autos. He is something of a character in his neighbourhood - sorry `hood' and is one of those people that does kind deeds for no apparent gain, but is as tough as nails and keeps his fighting training up, just in case.

He has brought up Jay (Jeremy Ray Valdez) - his only son after his wife died and has a very strong bond with him. Then a feisty new neighbour moves in and causes a certain amount of friction and his son decides to not accompany him on one of the low ride cruises as he has some study to do. And study he indeed does, although it is at a gay discorama of his white boyfriends tonsils with his tongue. Unfortunately some Polaroid's are taken and Che finds them. As a strong Latino macho man he finds this more than a little upsetting. What happens next is a story of how Che tries to deal with, what he sees as a hammer blow to all he believes in and how stunted some people's world view is. It can often take an apparent out-sider from the community to shine a light on the goodness that is right under peoples noses and this is brought to the fore.

Whilst this is a story based around a boy being gay this is not really a gay film, so if that is what you are looking for then this might not be for you. All of the acting is top notch and some of the camera work is truly excellent. This though is a narrative driven plot and it does so with a great deal of care and feeling. Jay also has to deal with being outed at school and the rank homophobia of some of the bottom feeders from the hood.

I really enjoyed this film from writer and director Peter Bratt who is Benjamin's brother but I am sure that did not influence why he got the gig - yeah right, well irrespective of the whiff of nepotism this is still an outstanding effort from all concerned and if a brotherly love in can come up with something this good, then let's hope they collaborate again very soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "Provocative and interesting", 20 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mission [DVD] (DVD)
Homophobia, violence, intimidation, self-centredness and fear are some important words to describe this film. It is a very provocative and interesting drama which you will not easily forget. The father's treatment of his son (Jessie) is extremely provocative and shows that he is an unsuitable father. Later in the film an incident makes him realize that he has to come to a decision before it is too late. Will he succeed?
The love story between Jessie and his boy-friend should have been developed more. That is my only minus. Very good acting throughout. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars THE MISSION DVD, 2 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mission [DVD] (DVD)
Reading on the back of this DVD, it seems to be okay, but we have not had chance to view it as yet, so untill we do we cannot reall say much abou it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not really a gay film, 6 Aug. 2013
This review is from: The Mission [DVD] (DVD)
I'd agree with most of the reviewers here. This is a very well made, well directed, glossy, well acted film. No doubt about that. I don't know if it is marketed as a gay themed film but if it is they seriously missed the mark. It is in effect about the father and how he deals with his own prejudices. He finds out his son is gay. He can't deal with it. But the son is so bland and his boyfriend so inconsequential that they don't involve the viewer at all.

They constitute quite a small part of the film and it is the father who is the central focus of this piece. We follow his life after prison, his alcoholism and his relationship with the black social worker in the flat upstairs. These make up the bulk of the film. And that is what it's about rather than the son being gay. If the son had some other lover i.e. a right wing girlfriend it would have worked just as well.

See it as a good film but not really a gay themed one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 4 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mission [DVD] (DVD)
I wasn't sure that I would like this as it some what darker then I usually go for. Over all it was interesting and enjoy in parts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Different kind of gay themed film, 3 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mission [DVD] (DVD)
I really liked this film. The acting from all parties is great and the story told beautifully. I liked that the ending was not frothy or sugar coated, but instead represented truthful reactions from the characters you are introduced too. Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars SON & LOVER or PRIDE & PREJUDICE, 6 Mar. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mission [DVD] (DVD)
Yes, and that's the point! How to overcome what you're not expecting from your son, when all has to be perfect while you're on a redemption as a father with a past and prejudices... There is a choosen manerism, but you do get along! A good film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 1 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mission [DVD] (DVD)
Interesting in that it does reflect the problems between Latino and white American
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best film in years, 3 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mission [DVD] (DVD)
I would recommend anyone see this, I've watched it over 10 times and love it. I hope you Enjoy ....enjoy enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 31 July 2014
This review is from: The Mission [DVD] (DVD)
Excelent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Mission [DVD]
The Mission [DVD] by Peter Bratt (DVD - 2012)
£4.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews