Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars16
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 March 2013
I enjoyed this book having been brought up in a mining village in Yorkshire. I found the author a little over powering at times - she knew everything type of thing and no one worked as hard as her etc, but it is a minor criticism.It explains a way of life that was not appreciated enough now or then.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2012
Really enjoyed this book. As my mother was a nurse in the pits at the time of the strike and was spat on and called names by one man during the strike I could sympathise with the so called scabs but could really understand how the miners felt at the same time. A must for anyone who lived through the strike and also for young people who have never know anything about mining life.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2012
As the wife of a miner who went through the 1984/85 strike I felt an affinity with the author. A strong story which was easy to read and thoroughly enjoyed it.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2013
I bought this book as I come from a mining family,and I was interested to find out what life was like for them during the 70's and early 80's. It is a very moving book, that takes you through life before,during and after the miners strikes. It highlights the high and low times,the struggles, the camaraderie of the families that stuck together to help each other through the dark times during the strike.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2016
A story telling the struggles of one farmily before during and after the miners strike in 1984. Interesting and factual, my family were involved in the strike so I was aware of what happened. Well worth reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2015
Shows how difficult life for miners was, we forget them. I remember the miners strike, what was shown on tv doesn't reveal the whole story,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2014
I loved this book from the beginning, I couldn't put it down. Is there anymore? Would like a sequel !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2013
I am reading this at present and am enjoying it. It is interesting to hear experiences from 'the horses mouth'.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2016
My wife enjoyed this book,well packed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2014
everything very good thankyou.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)