Customer Reviews


18 Reviews

4 star
0


2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another E.V.Thompson super story
This book, like the Retallick and Jago series is centered on Cornwall and Cornish folk in the difficult days of the 1800's. The only problem I had with this was forcing myself to put it down.
Published on 22 Nov. 2007 by Mr. J. Gibbons

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as I expected from the reviews
The writing style is very 'he said.........' 'she answered.............' 'he said............' 'she replied............' It may be a very good story but I can't get past the laboured way it is written.
Published 14 months ago by teacher


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another E.V.Thompson super story, 22 Nov. 2007
By 
Mr. J. Gibbons (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book, like the Retallick and Jago series is centered on Cornwall and Cornish folk in the difficult days of the 1800's. The only problem I had with this was forcing myself to put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars though the heavens may fall, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Though The Heavens May Fall (Amos Hawke mysteries Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Enjoy E V Thompson's style of writing, the historical content of the books and being able to envisage the places he sets his scenes in Cornwall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amos Hawke 's books series, 19 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is a pity that E. V. Thompson only got the opportunity to write three books on these wonderful characters of detectives Amos Hawke and Tom Churchyard, Wonderful murder mystery that combines with romance and sets in London and Cornwall. Even my brother in Canada, enjoyed this book thoroughly, and I was very so happy to have this book delivered to him from the UK. Thank you all for this gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Speaks for the Men, 17 Dec. 2013
By 
Mr. K. Mccourt "KeithinHerts." (HATFIELD, Herts, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When EV Thompson introduces you to the Life and Make up of a man, you very quickly get to understand the man, and that helps you to Know almost how he will deal with any hardship that the Author throws at him. Another great book, telling the stories of the Industrial Revolution.. but in such a way that you don't realize the lessons you are learning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as I expected from the reviews, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Though The Heavens May Fall (Amos Hawke mysteries Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
The writing style is very 'he said.........' 'she answered.............' 'he said............' 'she replied............' It may be a very good story but I can't get past the laboured way it is written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good start to three., 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Though The Heavens May Fall (Amos Hawke mysteries Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
The first one of three, l read last covered when they found each other and formed the basis for the making of the lives of teaching and policy of police officers at the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another first from a great author, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Though The Heavens May Fall (Amos Hawke mysteries Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I have read all E V Thompson,s books but I have found these last few really enthralling. His books will be sadly missed but it will be no hardship to re read them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, 16 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Though The Heavens May Fall (Amos Hawke mysteries Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I found it well nigh impossible to put down. The author has combined mystery and romance into a historical novel with inspired success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent as always, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Though The Heavens May Fall (Amos Hawke mysteries Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
E. V. Thompson has done it again. Brilliant characters and storyline. I am yet to find a book of his i don't enjoy reading!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 14 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Though The Heavens May Fall (Amos Hawke mysteries Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Really good read get right into the characters lives, great mystery for those who love and know Cornwall its a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews