Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Refreshingly weird and different -- but ultimately saddled with a stupid plot twist
This movie had it going on - a weird, unpredictable storyline, just the right amount of dark comedy, and even Mark Hamill - and then it shot itself in the foot. Airborne doesn't just jump the shark - it does cartwheels in the air while jumping the shark. I still think it's a good movie, mainly because it's so different than other films in the horror thriller genre, but it...
Published 21 months ago by Daniel Jolley

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Limp thriller which doesn't take off
It's a stormy night, and one last plane gets away from a London airport, to head out across the Atlantic with only a few passengers on board. However, it proves to be an unfortunate mix when things start to go wrong, people start to go missing and blood starts to flow... could the mysterious Chinese vase in the hold be anything to do with it?
Ok, so there are two...
Published 21 months ago by Mr. Stephen Kennedy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Refreshingly weird and different -- but ultimately saddled with a stupid plot twist, 29 Nov 2012
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Airborne [DVD] (DVD)
This movie had it going on - a weird, unpredictable storyline, just the right amount of dark comedy, and even Mark Hamill - and then it shot itself in the foot. Airborne doesn't just jump the shark - it does cartwheels in the air while jumping the shark. I still think it's a good movie, mainly because it's so different than other films in the horror thriller genre, but it had the potential to earn some measure of cult status. I really don't understand why such a good story had to be ruined by a dumb and unrealistic twist.

This truly is the flight from hell. With unprecedented storms battering all of the UK, we join the cast and crew of the last flight permitted to take off from England. Only a smattering of passengers is left to actually board - and what a motley crew they are - along with some mysterious object in a box marked fragile. So who's on the flight manifest? You have a surly, bigshot jerk and his two henchmen, two veteran soldiers who served in Afghanistan, a very horny young couple, an American geography teacher with a motor mouth, a doctor, a young woman, and a drunk. A few of them may appear pretty normal, but there's a story behind just about all of them. The flight crew isn't exactly top notch, either. One steward and one stewardess are decent folks, but they work with a real witch (well, it rhymes with witch, anyway) and a foreign dude who just shows up saying he's replacing someone else. Meanwhile, Malcolm (an almost unrecognizable Mark Hamill) is back in the airport control room just trying to make it through his last shift before retirement. The last thing he needs is a jet to go rogue, but that's just what happens, of course - although no one could ever imagine the events actually taking place out there above the Atlantic Ocean. The trouble starts when one passenger goes missing. Only one person really seems to care, but things start to unravel as a couple more go missing later on. I won't describe anything that happens - except to say that it's increasingly weird and genuinely unpredictable (and eventually too weird for the movie's own good). Until the big twist, I was really into it and trying to guess how things might play out in the end.

Those with sensitive ears should be aware of the fact that the entire film is filled with profanity. I haven't heard this much cursing since I lived in a college dorm. That doesn't take anything away from the story, though. Some may also be interested in the fact that Mark Hamill stars in this British horror thriller. As I mentioned above, though, I honestly didn't recognize him - not until I went back to see which character Hamill portrayed. Of course, it's been a long time since Luke Skywalker graced the big screen.

I'm giving Airborne four stars because I really enjoyed the first two-thirds of the film; I should probably deduct more than one star for the final twenty-five minutes, but the overall story is still unique enough to set it apart from the hordes of unoriginal thrillers being pumped out every year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Limp thriller which doesn't take off, 2 Dec 2012
By 
Mr. Stephen Kennedy "skenn1701a" (Doha, Qatar) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airborne [DVD] (DVD)
It's a stormy night, and one last plane gets away from a London airport, to head out across the Atlantic with only a few passengers on board. However, it proves to be an unfortunate mix when things start to go wrong, people start to go missing and blood starts to flow... could the mysterious Chinese vase in the hold be anything to do with it?
Ok, so there are two main problems here. Credibility, and budget. When we see the air traffic control centre in the airport, we know there's a problem, with its tiny room and sets all but looking like they will wobble if you lean on them. When a busy London airport is closing down and there aren't hundreds of passengers trying to find somewhere to sleep until their flight can leave, or lining up at airline customer support desks, but only the few people getting on this plane and no-one else, we know there is a problem. Indeed, the look of the film does suffer somewhat by looking 'made for TV'-ish. Even the stars of the movie are actors who are not exactly at their peak - Mark Hamill has a terrific reputation as voice over artist, but when was the last starring role you saw him in that wasn't Star Wars..? And it's a shock to see Julian Glover delivering hammy exposition.. "well, I always thought it was a legend, but the story goes that.." etc. And the effects - there's not many, but when they do appear they're pretty underwhelming. Slightly glowing eyes is not enough to spark terror somehow.
It's a relatively novel idea and I wanted to like it, a good claustrophobic thriller with supernatural element. I relished the build up, and overlooked the absurdity of it and the budget feel, feeling sure the story would suck me in - there are, after all, some decent actors here and it's only on screen for 78 minutes so theoretically should hardly outstay its welcome. Alas, with no support from the scriptwriters or effect artists the actors just don't have enough to chew on. There are some minor surprises along the way, but nothing so notable as to keep your attention from drifting. There is certainly blood, and plenty of it, and you can feel the director trying his hardest to wring some tension out of some scenes to build up to a decent jump... but he doesn't quite pull it off.
It's not exactly that it's an embarrassing effort for anyone involved, but as a thriller or as a supernatural movie, sorry, it just won't fly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I was pleasently surprised, 7 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airborne [DVD] (DVD)
This film caught me off guard. I read some negative opinions here at Amazon and thought I would still see for myself and I was surprised. I enjoyed this film, I think the director did a great job shot wise, the story line was interesting enough too. It's a good, indi film all around and worth your time. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars IT'S OKAY, IT'S ON AUTOPILOT., 14 Jun 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Airborne [DVD] (DVD)
A flight is headed from England to NYC with limited passengers and crew. Mark Hamill, the top billed star has a minor role as the tower chief. He is almost unrecognizable from his glory days of saving the galaxy.

The group of passengers are later described as a bunch of "red flags" i.e. bad guys who should not be on a plane. We also get to see a wooden crate in the cargo section jumping around as if something is in it. The passengers disappear one by one as others go look for them. The film starts out as a decent mystery thriller as we try to figure out who is killing people and why.

Once this aspect of the plot has been explained, the killer revealed, the reason for the killings, and what is in the box, the movie shifts into a fairly bad horror thriller mode, one that reminded me a bit of "Fallen" a far superior film.

The acting in the film was fine. The script could have used some work. I never "felt" it, perhaps the fault of director Dominic Burns who played the part of "Bob" in the film, one of the few likable characters, something the production lacked.

Could work as an inexpensive rental.

PARENTAL GUIDE: F-bomb, brief mile-high club sex, nudity (Fiona Ryan).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sort of like Murder on the Orient Express (at 30,000 feet), 22 Mar 2013
This review is from: Airborne [DVD] (DVD)
As I write this review, Airborne current has a - less than classy - 3.8 out of 10 rating on the Internet Movie Database, meaning it's pretty much of a stinker. I saw that rating before I watched it, so that possibly lowered my expectations of what was to come.

I have to admit, I quite enjoyed it.

Take a look at the poster. Take a look at the cast list. What do they tell you? Basically, you should know that this is little more than a low budget British thriller with no real stars. If you feel you can put up with that for just under an hour and a half, give it a go.

Airborne is about an airliner which takes off from England, bound for America. There's not many passengers on it and soon there's even less when they start getting murdered one by one. There's plenty of red herrings and I doubt you'll guess what's really happening, as there are one or two nice twists. Of course for every plus point I can name, there are a fair few low points - lack of character development, daft writing here and there and a moment of sheer disbelief at the end.

I know it wasn't great, but I still didn't think it was all together bad - definitely worth more than a lowly 3.8/10. About the only truly tragic thing about it was how much weight Mark Hamill has put on since he last wielded a lightsabre. I hope the Jedi order have a good weight-loss plan if he's going to reprise his role for Disney's episodes 7-9.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars more like a car-crash movie, 7 Aug 2012
This review is from: Airborne [DVD] (DVD)
Firstly I have to tell you good ole Luke Skywalker is in this movie...and since he has done nothing exciting since Star wars warning bells should had told me to leave this film well alone. The acting is false and stale and the diologue is as flat as a ten-day old pancake. In a nutshell with a bow wrapped round it...its CRAP. This is just what Channel 5 could had used in their afternoon slot on the box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Horror Express - 40th Anniversary Celebration, 14 Aug 2012
This review is from: Airborne [DVD] (DVD)
When you approach a film like this one, it should be apparent from the outset that it is not a big name blockbuster. It never promises to wow you with special effects or spectacular set-pieces. From the poster, to the title, to the cast, it looks like what it is: a low-budget British horror film. What you do get is in fact quite a nicely-paced, rather old-fashioned horror thriller. It does have a derivative plot (if that of itself were a ground for failure very few films would ever be worth watching), but the acting is mostly good and the whole thing is played commendably straight, considering the rather silly subject matter. There may be no Oscars being doled out on this particular venture (I am quite confident about this actually), but there are a lot worse, more pretentious British films going the rounds. By the way, a cherry on the top here is a very rare non-appearance of Mr.D.Dyer in the cast. Bravo indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Motley Crew, 9 Aug 2012
By 
Mr. Jonathon T. Beckett "vampire lover" (Dracula's Crypt) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airborne [DVD] (DVD)
!!! WARNING. MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS. !!!

A disparite group of passengers and crew on a flight supposedly heading for New York are rather alarmed when people start disappearing on board and the flight path changes. What do you expect with a priceless vase and a group of gangsters on board, oh and the small matter of a centuries old malevolant spirit....
I wonder if anyone can remember a tv movie from the 1970's called 'Horror At 37,000 Feet'?. It was probably my first 'horror' film, an entertaining enough affair where passengers are threatened by the presence of ancient druidic stones on board a plane. It's sort of a cross between one of the Airport series and an episode of 'The Twilight Zone'. For half of its running time, 'Airborne' resembles this film very much. Then this film commits the grave error of adding a couple of ridiculous plot twists, before returning to its original supernatural premise. It completely ruins all the suspense it has managed to create, and 'Airborne' has trouble recovering from the change in pace and plot.
Of course many horror films do have ridiculous plot twists. It's just that it was so unecessary in the case of 'Airborne'. It's not the literal 'disaster' movie some reviewers have labelled it, but the problem with this film is that it suffers from a crisis of identity, never deciding on what genre it wants to be.
Amongst all the sillyness, there are some resonable performances. Simon Phillips, as he has done in many recent British horror films, delivers the goods as neurotic Alan. It's also nice to see the great British character actor Julian Glover given a meaty role and the excellent Alan Ford could play the role of old-time gangster Max in his sleep.
I suppose it's nice that British horror films can be entertaining B-movies once in a while. It's just that the in-flight entertainment does get a little repetative after a while. It also begs, borrows and steals a bit too much from other films and television to put together its plot. Still, it's a painless enough hour and a quarter in which to spend ones time. 3 out of 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish, 8 Aug 2012
This review is from: Airborne [DVD] (DVD)
I strongly suspect K Daniels is involved in the making of Airborne because there's no way this film is worth 4 stars and it does not belong in the same list as those other Brit films they've mentioned. Anyway K Daniels has posted the same review on Play which makes me think they are trying to promote this film.

Airborne is very low budget and looks very cheap. Have you ever seen an airport as small or empty as this! It only has 20 people max! The acting is terrible and the sets look wobbly. Really unconvincing on every level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother, 10 July 2014
This review is from: Airborne (DVD)
What a load of tosh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Airborne [DVD]
Airborne [DVD] by Dominic Burns (DVD - 2012)
4.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews