Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!
Informative, well researched and I couldn't put it down. As a self confessed 'Anne Boleyn fan' I have read countless books on her and found this one in my opinion one of the best.
It delves deeper into the events of 1536 and looks at it from all angles.
Well worth a read!
Published 8 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well Researched BUT.......
As a day by day account of the last days of Ann Boleyn,Claire Ridgway has done a good job.

My main grouse is the standard of her writing. Her overuse of exclamation marks throughout are typical of GCSE level students and she certainly enjoys sprinkling plenty of cliches throughout the text e.g. 'The King was head over heels in love with Mary.'Or 'Talk about...
Published on 26 May 2012 by John


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well Researched BUT......., 26 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fall of Anne Boleyn: A Countdown (Kindle Edition)
As a day by day account of the last days of Ann Boleyn,Claire Ridgway has done a good job.

My main grouse is the standard of her writing. Her overuse of exclamation marks throughout are typical of GCSE level students and she certainly enjoys sprinkling plenty of cliches throughout the text e.g. 'The King was head over heels in love with Mary.'Or 'Talk about keeping your options open!' and again, 'Talk about moving fast!'

I lost count of the number of times she wrote, 'We will never know!' and too often I found her style of prose clumsy and banal e.g. 'I, for one, am not jumping to conclusions' and again, 'It gives me the goosebumps!' and again,'Poor Ann!' or 'Spooky!'

Why did the sentence 'The men spent their time praying to their Father in Heaven' need those last 5 words? and 'Queen Ann Boleyn had gone to a better place' certainly amused me. No she hadn't - she was dead!

Ok so I'm being picky. The book does what it says on the cover and Claire Ridgway certainly has an enthusiasm for history. I just feel she needs better critical feedback from her publisher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 1 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fall of Anne Boleyn: A Countdown (Kindle Edition)
Informative, well researched and I couldn't put it down. As a self confessed 'Anne Boleyn fan' I have read countless books on her and found this one in my opinion one of the best.
It delves deeper into the events of 1536 and looks at it from all angles.
Well worth a read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another 'Must Buy' from Claire, 30 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fall of Anne Boleyn: A Countdown (Kindle Edition)
Claire Ridgeway has written 3 of the best books I have purchased in the last 12 months and they are all about my favorite period in history The Tudors. couple that with the website and facebook pages and you have a very busy woman thankfully for the rest of us! I highly recommend this and all of her books if your heavily into the Tudors or just wanting to dip your toe in the water. Buy It!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the fall of Anne Boleyn, 9 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fall of Anne Boleyn: A Countdown (Kindle Edition)
An amazing and captivating book which really gives you true insight into Anne Boleyns final days. How on earth she ate breakfast before knowing she was going to die. Just an amazing woman. Claire writes this book in an easy to read yet factual way. We'll done Claire !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A passionate account, 3 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fall of Anne Boleyn: A Countdown (Kindle Edition)
This is a book that is written with real passion, whilst also informing the reader of the key facts. The style is colloquial in places, but that is a large part of its charm and makes the book extremely readable - there is nothing dry about history here. Fact and opinion are clearly separated, and this helps the reader to make up their own mind about the main question of who was responsible for Anne Boleyn's death. The timeline and the summaries of the key characters at the beginning of the book are especially informative and useful as they give key facts simply and without lots of wordy waffle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic introduction, 27 Oct 2012
This review is from: The Fall of Anne Boleyn: A Countdown (Kindle Edition)
Claire Ridgway's book "The Fall of Anne Boleyn: A Countdown" is the perfect introduction for those who are interested in Anne Boleyn's downfall, but perhaps bewildered by the proliferation of contradictory accounts and opinions. Ridgway manages to get her own views across in a pacy and conversational style, while neatly balancing the historiography and wealth of differing opinions (at the time and today) about what happened to Anne Boleyn and why. If you're interested in Tudor history, and in 1536 in particular, but feel overwhelmed by the academia or the intensity of the debates, then "The Fall of Anne Boleyn" is absolutely the book for you. It's enjoyable, heartfelt, accessible and thought-provoking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, comprehensive and readable account of the fall of Anne Boleynv, 27 April 2012
This review is from: The Fall of Anne Boleyn: A Countdown (Kindle Edition)
I have ploughed my way through many books about Anne Boleyn and her spectacular fall in 1536. Many of those books were brilliant, some not so brilliant. Among the best are authors and historians such as Eric Ives whose biography of Anne is superb.
When I first heard about this book I wondered what would be so different about it that would make it stand out when so many books have already been written about Anne. I read it with a completely open mind, while wondering what I would gain from it. What I discovered was that I gained an enormous amount from it. Let's make it clear that this look at Anne's fall is not intended as an attempt to replicate what has gone before. Ives' biography of Anne, while superb, is not for a novice or the feint hearted! This is an entirely different approach to the subject. It is intended to be a clear, concise and easily digestible reference for Anne's fall, which I think achieves it's primary purpose.
It sets out a day to day diary of events building up to Anne's execution in May 1536, setting out details of the main characters involved. Most importantly of all it does so using all of the original source material available, with explanatory commentary by the author, Claire Ridgway. All angles of the story are looked at and researched, and all possible causes for the tragedy are investigated and dissected. But although Claire gives her personal views, backed up with compelling and logical argument, she makes it very clear that the story is open to different interpretations, meaning we as readers are allowed our own opinions, whilst fully appreciating the logic behind the writer's views.
The greatest achievement of this book is that if you are a complete novice to the story of Anne Boleyn then you will feel, after reading it, that you will be able to talk with confidence on the subject. Yet even if you are not a novice to the story then you will find that everything you know, or thought you knew, is here in what is a comprehensive, while readable look at the story of Anne's fall.
I think that's what makes this book so unique and so worth reading. It gives all the information you need in order to understand Anne's fall, leaving nothing out, but does so in a way that I don't think has been achieved befored i.e. in a way that anyone can read and enjoy with ease.

"Review based on Advanced Reader Copy"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First of all, I must say that I was very impressed with the speed of delivery of this item. I received an email to say when it would be and it was nice and early.
I have read Jean Plaidy and Joanna Denny (both brilliant) in the past and wanted some more detail on Anne Boleyn's fall. This book has 'filled in the gaps' with great affect. The timeline of events puts into context the speed that Anne fell into disfavour. Also there are sub-headings with each of the men accused alongside her providing more detail on their backgrounds. Also, Cromwell is clearly mentioned and the part he played in her fall. The book is brilliantly written and an absolute must for anyone interested in this period of history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable., 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fall of Anne Boleyn: A Countdown (Kindle Edition)
A great, easy to read book about one of my favourite figures in history. Very enjoyable and insightful. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fall of Anne Boleyn: A Countdown (Kindle Edition)
Love this author as she clearly does a lot of research for her books. A very enjoyable read. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Fall of Anne Boleyn: A Countdown
1.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews