Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game!
Bought this game for my 5 and 7 year old nephews and they absolutely loved it! They were so excited at the look of the box and once we set the fly trap up they picked it up really quickly and loved trying to flick the flies into the mouth. It was challenging and fun for them which made for an addictive combination! Would recommend as a great way to keep adventurous kids...
Published on 23 Oct 2012 by Fleur

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit disappointing.
As is usually the case with these kind of games, the advert was much better than the product. Although billed as up to four players, only 2 can really play this. The air pumps that form part of the game had very little power and didn't really do anything. Having said that, my 5 year old did enjoy playing it, though hasn't touched it since the end of the christmas...
Published 22 months ago by hantsclub


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game!, 23 Oct 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Fly Trap Action Board Game (Toy)
Bought this game for my 5 and 7 year old nephews and they absolutely loved it! They were so excited at the look of the box and once we set the fly trap up they picked it up really quickly and loved trying to flick the flies into the mouth. It was challenging and fun for them which made for an addictive combination! Would recommend as a great way to keep adventurous kids busy and really fun game for adults to play with them too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GET FLICKING THOSE FLIES!!!! :-), 28 May 2014
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fly Trap Action Board Game (Toy)
My favourite game for a long, long time this - and one of the most DELIGHTFUL I have added to my collection!

`Fly Trap' is a game of skill. Each player has ten plastic flies and attempts to fire them from the springy leaves into the fly trap's gaping mouth - but the fly trap is constantly on the move and rotating - sometimes stops, when it does, starts shaking!! (it's hilarious!) As if that isn't enough; you have two players with air pumps which react to close the trap's mouth - just when you thought you had that fly in!! Lots and lots of fun with this for the whole family - for young and old alike!

I really took this game to my heart after seeing the TV Ad. on YouTube. Coming myself from a generation brought up in the 60s and early 70s, I did not think they still made TV Ads. this way... This is something typically from that era for up-to-date kids. I did not believe kids would enjoy something so much like a game that didn't involve computers or sophisticated electronics, and so this was wonderful to see, and judging by the majority of the reviews on Amazon - kids and their families just LOVED it! :-)

The critical reviews are mostly complaining about the `flimsy' air-pumps. Now; my partner and I had a discussion about this, as we felt just the same - at first, but if you start to think about it, my partner pointed out that they perhaps couldn't have been made any other way... He felt the current of air needed to close the mouth is only very slight; if you'd had anything too powerful, the mouth would have perhaps stayed shut - or may even have broken with the force... Also; we'd decided that if the pumps had been made any more substantial, they perhaps would not have returned to their shape at all, and thus hindered game play... If they'd have been made of rubber for instance, (which at first we thought may have been better) with some over excited kids, they may have burst... Taking all this into account - along with the fact the rest of the game is of such high quality, I mean take a look at the teeth in the mouth - TEN quality screws were used to attach these!! One could say these could have been painted on - or perhaps `stuck' on with glue, and so I would find it very odd indeed if the manufacturers would go to all those lengths (like the quality plastic flies and leaves as well, which are simply for decoration where they could have perhaps saved money and got away with using cheaper materials and didn't) so where would be the logic to save it on one of the most important aspects of the game like the air-pumps!?? We think not, and so we decided unanimously that the pumps - due to the very nature of the game - and the way the mechanism of the mouth works, could not have been made more substantial, and so we think this not a `flaw' in the game. It has even been given a six volt motor - that's pretty powerful too when they could have got similar results with a four, or even three volt...

So we give this super game the `thumbs up' - and five stars from us! :-)

ENJOY!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kids love it, 23 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fly Trap Action Board Game (Toy)
Bought this last Christmas for my 3 & 6 yr old boys. My 3 yr old still plays with it occasionally although the eldest seems bored of it now. Its easy to get them in the target so long as you dont go crazy & flick them extra hard & its easy to set up.

Only con I would say is the things you bash to close its mouth & stop your opponent scoring is quite hard for kids, you have to really squash all the air out, it is manageable though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit disappointing., 6 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fly Trap Action Board Game (Toy)
As is usually the case with these kind of games, the advert was much better than the product. Although billed as up to four players, only 2 can really play this. The air pumps that form part of the game had very little power and didn't really do anything. Having said that, my 5 year old did enjoy playing it, though hasn't touched it since the end of the christmas holidays. Wouldn't really recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars family fun, 4 Dec 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fly Trap Action Board Game (Toy)
I tried to order this from Asda and they couldn't fulfill the order, so by amazement, I searched and found it on here. It is a great game that kids love and the family can join in. I am glad I have finally got this and happy to recommend. Loads of games now for Christmas day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Idea was great - but - "air pressure on pump" was VERY weak and let down the whole idea!, 26 Dec 2012
By 
S. J. Bonne (W.Sussex England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fly Trap Action Board Game (Toy)
sorry but a bit of a flop for us! Nan and Grandad dissapointed!! not enough pressure on pumps to close mouth properly!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars fun game, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fly Trap Action Board Game (Toy)
great game keeps the kids occupied and you can hear them laughing whilst playing so a big hit for them. thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars waste of money, 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fly Trap Action Board Game (Toy)
What a load of not so cheap plastic tat
Don't bother wasting your money on this - one star because i can't give none.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fun game, 10 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fly Trap Action Board Game (Toy)
good game for christmas, made a change to play a game together instead of xbox. my lads loved it and are still playing with it. fast delivery, very pleased
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good game, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fly Trap Action Board Game (Toy)
got this for my 6 year old son for Christmas, he loves it, it was the only thing he really wanted and he was not disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fly Trap Action Board Game
Fly Trap Action Board Game by Esdevium Games
£14.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews