Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Miscellany
Despite its intermittently poor sound quality and underwhelming presentation, and the fact that it isn't Meaty Beaty Big and Bouncy, this budget-priced collection is an interesting, career-spanning survey of an excellent rock group. Alongside some of the coruscating songs with which the band's name has become synonymous - 'My Generation', 'I Can See For Miles', 'Won't Get...
Published 22 months ago by S. Bailey

versus
4 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor cd
This is from the [...] group on Fri Jun 1, 2012 1:39 am (PDT), and was penned by White Fang:

You wonder about someone who writes liner notes and ads the "h" to "Entwistle" as a sign of things to come.

No engineering credits and quite possibly - dubbed off of other CDs vs master tapes.

I believe "Circles" is credited to "Ready Steady Who" -...
Published 22 months ago by A. Carmichael


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Miscellany, 11 Jun 2012
By 
S. Bailey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pinball Wizard: The Collection (Audio CD)
Despite its intermittently poor sound quality and underwhelming presentation, and the fact that it isn't Meaty Beaty Big and Bouncy, this budget-priced collection is an interesting, career-spanning survey of an excellent rock group. Alongside some of the coruscating songs with which the band's name has become synonymous - 'My Generation', 'I Can See For Miles', 'Won't Get Fooled Again', 'Pinball Wizard' - the (broadly) chronological 19 track Pinball Wizard features a miscellany of singles, B-sides, and live material from the band's back catalogue. This material varies in quality. Some of the selections - like the ferocious pairing of 'Slip Kid' and 'Who Are You' - provide pointed reminders of just how The Who were able to gravitate, from their modest West London beginnings to worldwide stadium filling rock status. Other choices - such as 1966's 'Batman' and 'Circles' - prove to be appealing, if unexpected inclusions. Only with the concluding two tracks, and the turgid ballad 'Naked Eye', does the quality level to this 79 minute collection falter significantly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brockster, 11 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pinball Wizard: The Collection (Audio CD)
A great collection of Who songs, accompanied by the ultimate collection, makes for superb listening of your favourite Who songs. Some songs are duplicated on both CD's but some hidden gems are also showcased
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars all thriller no filler, 10 Aug 2012
By 
Mr. Martin Davies "blackcatdavciq" (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pinball Wizard: The Collection (Audio CD)
as always,being a big who fan,seen this cd in a supermarket(cant remember which,but it begun with a t and ended with an o)and at its price,bought it anyway,for a change,track listing has at last concentrated in more of the iconic tunes,other than filling it up with the usual "bubblegum pop" type tracks as is the norm on other albums,we get for a change,run run run and armenia city in the sky(sung by the late john "speedy" keen)from the sell out album, circles and batman from the ready steady who ep,tracks from the whos next/lifehouse era baba o riley,wont get fooled again(full lenght version no less!) and naked eye,proving there status of best live band we have the pure powerhouse version of young man blues and im free from live at leeds,leading to the current interest with the quadrophenia tracks, love reign o`er me and the real me,right up to it`s not enough from the wire and glass album proving the who can still cut it and rock with the best of them!
as a starter or taster of the who,in my opinion up to date, it is one of the better who compilations,that will encouage non who fans to by more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars who's who of the who!, 2 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pinball Wizard: The Collection (Audio CD)
All the favourites here! The Who at their best, giving a great cross-section example of their work. This is one of bands I am pleased to say I grew up with. They have influenzed the pop/rock scene for decades and still do! One of the great 'Live' bands sounding near studio quality thanks to Roger's vocals....still going strong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Who are you?, 28 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pinball Wizard: The Collection (Audio CD)
Old music sound just as good as today's music.
Pete and roger are great old rockers.
My generation you pinball wizard
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A nice mixture!!, 29 Sep 2012
By 
This review is from: Pinball Wizard: The Collection (Audio CD)
As a Who fan for more than 30 years i was a bit dubious as there always seems to be 'another' Who greatest hits or compilation appearing..but this is actually a good one with an unusual mixture of different tracks..a nice change and at such a bargain price!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 10 Aug 2012
This review is from: Pinball Wizard: The Collection (Audio CD)
My elder brother used to play Meaty Beaty Big & Boucy all the time and I bought this recently from Tesco's (hope I can say that on Amazon!) and can't stop playing it. There's plenty of tracks on here I know but also some absolute gems that were new to me. Circles for a start is awesome, likewise Armenia City In The Sky. Its Not Enough was a revelation too and shows all these years on they still deliver and Batman is hilarious. Aside from the original theme I'd only heard The Jam do that. I've since bought a couple of their studio albums - A Quick One and Who By Numbers, both excellent although different in style. The booklet is lovely and I have to say in an increasingly expensive life this is great value. My kids like it too which I guess means their alright!!! Shame that favourite wasn't included too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor cd, 2 Jun 2012
By 
A. Carmichael (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pinball Wizard: The Collection (Audio CD)
This is from the [...] group on Fri Jun 1, 2012 1:39 am (PDT), and was penned by White Fang:

You wonder about someone who writes liner notes and ads the "h" to "Entwistle" as a sign of things to come.

No engineering credits and quite possibly - dubbed off of other CDs vs master tapes.

I believe "Circles" is credited to "Ready Steady Who" - but its actually the mono Shell Talmy version (with the horn). Oops.

"Its Not Enough" is credited to a greatest hits CD vs "Endless Wire". I'm not sure why they bothered with liner notes if the person that wrote them wasn't familiar with the catalog - or perhaps the greatest hits CD is the CD they dubbed it from...

Who knows...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa89d768)

This product

Pinball Wizard: The Collection
Pinball Wizard: The Collection by The Who (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews