Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Taps into my pop button
It's pop all the way through - catchy choons galore. Love Beth's crystal clear voice. I'm not really into the early stuff by this band so I guess that's why I like it so much.
Published 23 months ago by E. Brown

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Makeover Or Major Surgery?
With a stable of A-league popsters behind him Brian Higgins is a
distinctly odd choice for the producer of Gossip's fifth album release.
Hardcore fans may be disappointed that most of the raw edges that we
have come to know and admire have been given a new shiny makeover
but with Beth Ditto at the helm 'A Joyful Noise' still warrants our
love and...
Published on 14 May 2012 by The Wolf


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Makeover Or Major Surgery?, 14 May 2012
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Joyful Noise (Audio CD)
With a stable of A-league popsters behind him Brian Higgins is a
distinctly odd choice for the producer of Gossip's fifth album release.
Hardcore fans may be disappointed that most of the raw edges that we
have come to know and admire have been given a new shiny makeover
but with Beth Ditto at the helm 'A Joyful Noise' still warrants our
love and attention. Truth-be-told Ms Ditto does sound a tad reined-in
at times (the dark disco anthem 'Perfect World' is perhaps the most
obvious example - she really doesn't need THAT much reverb to put
the ball into the back of the net!) and guitarist Nathan Howdeshell
is relegated to a far less prominent position than he deserves but
overall the album still delivers a few strong offerings. 'Involved' is
a cracking song which places the voice well-forward in the mix where
it rightly belongs and once it gets going 'Horns' packs quite a punch
but numbers such as 'Get Lost' and 'Move In The Right Direction' are
decidedly lacklustre. Even a potential winner like penultimate track
'I Won't Play' is marred by unnecessary sparkly synth decorations.

When all's said and done a little bit of Beth Ditto is certainly better than
none at all but next time around the band might do well to re-examine
and re-discover the rough-and-ready qualities which made them so special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Taps into my pop button, 21 Sep 2012
By 
E. Brown "Tartan Traveller" (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Joyful Noise (MP3 Download)
It's pop all the way through - catchy choons galore. Love Beth's crystal clear voice. I'm not really into the early stuff by this band so I guess that's why I like it so much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gossip - Doing it stupendously once again, 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Joyful Noise (Audio CD)
Another fantastic collection from Gossip. Its crank up the volume time with this one, lyrics are just on the money, Beth's voice is just something to get lost in. Each time Gossip release something, its just keeps getting better and better. Also loving the mixes of these songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I'd like to stay and write a review..., 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Joyful Noise (Audio CD)
...but I've gotta go to work!
Cool album. Best one by Gossip yet, great vocals from B.D. and strong electro sounds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty poppy, 11 Mar 2014
By 
A. McBurnie "Alex" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Joyful Noise (MP3 Download)
A bit less attitude and bit more pop than most of their offerings which saddens me greatly, but still listenable,.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Music with elements of EVERYTHING, 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Joyful Noise (Audio CD)
What a Joy, what a joyful noise for my ears. I did hear the song : Move in the right direction, on radio, and I feel I had to get this album, and I dont regret it. Gossip do blend a good voice with good tunes, and elements from so many various inspiration from other musi elements . Disco, Rock, pop, punk,dance . . and You Name it. Yes I do have Move in the right direction as a favourite song still. It brings energy and positive feelings, but really guys and girls, dont forget to rate a 5 star to : I Won't Play. The drumming skills by Hannah is perfect and makes the lyrics stronger. check it out.
so Gossip, do continue in this direction, and make more music. I will purchase all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Listen, 30 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Joyful Noise (Audio CD)
I loved a few of the older Gossip singles, and the same is true here "Move In The Right Direction" is a great pop tune. A few other favourites is "Get A Job" and "Get Lost"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!!, 19 Jun 2013
By 
Saint Aubyn (Hertfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Joyful Noise (Audio CD)
A brilliant album with some fantastic tracks. The songs are catchy, original and with great lyrics. Beth has a very good voice that is so distinctive. I can't wait for the next album: great stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars JOYFUL, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Joyful Noise (Audio CD)
Much better than I expected. A real mixture Of polished pop tunes with loads of base. I never realized how good her voice is so bought the rest of the albums, but i would say this one is the best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Packed nicely, 22 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Joyful Noise [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Packed nicely, no creases on sleeve.
Highly reckommended company for the vinyl format.
All corners on sleeve are in perfect shape at arrival.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Joyful Noise
A Joyful Noise by Gossip
Buy MP3 Album5.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews