Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A bit of history, 13 Nov. 2006
By 
H. meiehofer "haroldm" (glasgow, scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Judy At Carnegie Hall (Audio CD)
Unlike some of the reviewers I am not a Garland fanatic.

That being said this is an excellent album that clearly catches a moment in history. These live versions are superior to many of the studio equivalents. The torch song element has not been diminished by anodyne production values. You can also sense the rapport between audience and performer.

Such is Garland's demonstrable enjoyment in this recording that you can sense that this is a moment of rebirth, without knowing too much of the biography.

This is an excellent album for all, whether fanatic or novice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An anti-depressant experience of huge proportions., 7 Mar. 2002
This review is from: Judy At Carnegie Hall (Audio CD)
Bear with me as I get flowery and overdramatic about this album. When I bought it on vinyl back in the eighteenth century it seemed a terrifying amount of money to spend on a bit of plastic but it was worth every penny and still is now it's on CD at last. It's probably the most uplifting recording I have, hideously tasteless in parts and seeping copius amounts of over-the-top emotion guaranteed to make most reserved Brits cringe but at the same time quite wondrous and life affirming. It's an album of monumental mood swings, "Chicago" knocks you over energy and va-voom, "How Long Has This Been Going On" has you sobbing melodramatically into your coffee and then suddenly "If Love Were All", breaking your heart; the most exquisite ballad sung with uncharacteristic Garland understatement that gives it huge emotional impact. Her voice is by turns wobbly and strident but manages to heave and twang your heartstrings so disconcertingly that you have to do a little displacement coughing to hide it...
It still makes me laugh out with happiness and the ironing goes by in a flash whilst in the company of such effervescence. Those afternoons I would put it on when my parents were out and sing along Very Loudly are amongst my fondest memories of adolescence - Judy and me against the world and determined to sing it into submission. Fabulous stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ......two hours of pow!!, 10 Mar. 2001
By 
C. Cockill "CC at cable" (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Judy At Carnegie Hall (Audio CD)
There are not many live recordings of this age that can boast such a long re-issue history, but this one defies all belief. First brought out as a double album in 1961 and remaining weeks in the No.1. spot, reissued countless times thereafter on vinyl and finally making a single CD appearance in an abridged form at the end of the 1980's. This "abridged form" resulted in a deluge of complaint letters to Capitol from angry fans who(quite rightly) were outraged that the definitive Garland Live recording (For that is what it is) should be butchered in such a way. Subsequently, Capitol re-issued the CD as an extended cd set, restoring much of the evenings banter and storytelling by the talented Miss Garland. DCC Classics finally got their hands on the Master tapes and beautifully restored more of the concert.(The running order corrected and previously inserted "studio" tracks removed and original tracks replaced). This sold as a 24k Gold edition for "Audiophiles" and at a price.. And here we are again, 40 years on, fully restored and sounding as fresh and alive as she did on that magical evening of April 23 1961. Miss Garland shimmers and soars. The voice a little tight and dry at first, but boy! does she shake that off and take you on a musical journey that you will find hard to file away or forget. A one in a million........buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I wish I'd been there!, 12 Oct. 2006
By 
Jenny (Bradford on Avon, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Judy At Carnegie Hall (Audio CD)
Judy Garland absolutely sparkles through this live show. You can feel that she has the entire audience in the palm of her hand. I confess that I bought this CD after Rufus Wainwright announced that he was reproducing the set at the Carniege Hall as I am a huge Rufus fan. I can see how he was inspired to pay hommage to Judy. I've read interviews where he says that he thinks that it is the most challenging collection of songs to sing that he could imagine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The original and the best, 26 Nov. 2007
By 
Simon "Simon" (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Judy At Carnegie Hall (Audio CD)
As sacrilegeous as this may sound to the Rufus fans eagerly awaiting the releases of the London Palladium concert DVD and Carnegie Hall concert CD, I think the original Judy performance as depicted on this CD are head and shoulders what Rufus can manage (and I am a fan of his who attended the Palladium performance). The passion of both the perfomer and her audience is amazing and I urge anyone looking forward to the Rufus versions to listen to this. If anyone ever asks me, of all the concerts in history I wish I could have attended, this is it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ***LEGEND***, 26 Sept. 2008
By 
Daniel Rampton "danielrampton(London)" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Judy At Carnegie Hall (Audio CD)
Even 39 years after loosing Judy Garland, her magic is still with us in this album, and all her other recordings. Whatever the ups and downs of her life so sadly cut short, she remains not only a Star but the only star, and that star still shines ever bright.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Judy In Person, 24 Jun. 2007
This review is from: Judy At Carnegie Hall (Audio CD)
Recorded in it's entirety, JUDY AT CARNEGIE HALL is a must have release for anybody with even a slight taste in brilliant music.

Judy was at her peak as a performer, not as a character in a film. She was herself, and that shines through. From the jazzy songs like 'Puttin' on the Ritz' to the slow ballads like 'A foggy day' and her all time classics like 'Over the Rainbow' and the show-stopping 'The Man that Got away' Miss Garland was on top form.

And at such a cheap price, you can relive this legendary night in show business history over and over with JUDY AT CARNEGIE HALL.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Milestone in recording, 13 April 2010
By 
P. A. Delaney (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have known this album since its inception and have always thought it to be one of the best live recordings of a voice of the century.

The new available redigitised sound is phenominal and to be able to have the entire album on my Iphone seems too good to be true.

All concerned should be congratulated for making it poossible to download and this is a must for all those who value twentieth century American icons of entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 18 Sept. 2009
By 
avidgamer (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Judy At Carnegie Hall (Audio CD)
Even if you dont like Judy Garland, you have to admire the effort she put in to this show. She sounds a little shaky at the beginning, but gets stronger the longer she sings. Its the only album I have of Judy, and probably the only album I will buy, but its worth it. She is a legend and this album exemplifies that. Go on, give it a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best live recording of this legendary star, 24 Nov. 2000
This review is from: Judy at Carnegie Hall (Audio CD)
I first discovered the incomparable quality of Judy Garland at the age of 16, in the early 80's. Having collected many recordings of Judy this stands out as the very best. With the latest DSP sound systems one can really feel the atmosphere at what must have been an extraordinary concert. I just wish that Judy had lived long enough for me to have experienced such a live performance personally. I would recommend this recording to anyone of any age who appreciates the music of an era that unfortunately will never be matched by anyone again.
If you want a Judy Garland recording with her singing at her very best with the atmosphere of a live audience then this is the one to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Judy At Carnegie Hall
Judy At Carnegie Hall by Judy Garland
Buy MP3 Album£6.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews