Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad
But not one of his best. I wasn't 'gripped'. Quite good for reading, putting down and then picking up a few days later.
Published on 22 Mar. 2013 by SallyO

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful
Nothing on the cover of this book suggests it is written for children. So I bought it as a holiday read, having read and enjoyed many of John Grisham's previous works.

But the characters are one dimensional, the prose is stilted and simplistic, and the plot (if it even deserves to be glorified with such a term) has no subtlety whatsoever as far as I managed to...
Published 23 months ago by Pauly


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, 22 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Theodore Boone: The Accused: Theodore Boone 3 (Kindle Edition)
But not one of his best. I wasn't 'gripped'. Quite good for reading, putting down and then picking up a few days later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly better than the first two, 23 July 2013
By 
Jim J-R (West Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
The third adventure for Theodore Boone surprised me by being much better than the first two. Boone, a rather goody-two-shoes middle class American child, son of two lawyers, finds himself the number-one suspect in a burglary.

The plot is really strong - more so than some of Grisham's books for adults even. Although the slightly pompous and unappealing life situation of the character is still there, it's lessened compared to the previous books, and feels less like a lecture on how children should behave.

There's action and mystery on top of the legal focus, which makes this much more entertaining than its predecessors. I hope Grisham keeps it up for the series going onward.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 27 Jun. 2013
I have really enjoyed reading the Theodore Boone series and this was another great book in the series. Boone is accused of a crime for the first time and being targeted by someone and what follows is his investigations along with his uncle Ike to prove his innocence. The plot is fast moving and exciting and Ike certainly provides humour. One thing that maybe this book does miss is that there are not any twists in the plot so nothing towards the end to make this any different. As a teen crime book this does not have the crimes that you are used to with adult books but for me this is still just as enjoyable. A great read for any Grisham or Boone fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful, 24 July 2013
By 
Pauly (Sidmouth, England) - See all my reviews
Nothing on the cover of this book suggests it is written for children. So I bought it as a holiday read, having read and enjoyed many of John Grisham's previous works.

But the characters are one dimensional, the prose is stilted and simplistic, and the plot (if it even deserves to be glorified with such a term) has no subtlety whatsoever as far as I managed to get before throwing the book down in disgust.

Come on Mr. Grisham, teenage readers deserve better than this. Treat them as young adults rather than babies. And the publishers should put a warning on the cover - "this book could seriously damage your intelligence"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another great book, 19 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Theodore Boone: The Accused: Theodore Boone 3 (Kindle Edition)
Have loved reading about Theodore once again. What next? I can't wait for the next episode so that I can see what happens next. It's great to leave the book feeling that you want to read more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Accused, 12 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Theodore Boone: The Accused: Theodore Boone 3 (Kindle Edition)
A brilliant addition to the Theodore Boone collection though not his best book it was certainly good. John Gresham is a brilliant author I especially liked the book abduction though the emotional side was a bit to much on that book and the tension built up to nothing was a little disappointing the one thing with John Gresham is that there's normally a simple ending which in some books is a good effect but in this book I would have to go between theo and the thief in this book and a part where the store was robbed would make an excellent chapter but over all this book was a good read.___
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The accused., 13 Oct. 2013
By 
This is a really great book.
It grips you from the start and makes you want to keep reading!
Although Grisham goes over the family history of the Boones, it is for the people who have never read this sequel.
If you are looking to read this book, my advice is to read the others from book one.
Then you get the very best out of each and every book.
After you have read this one, have The Activist ready to go straight onto.
Believe me you will want to!
More books soon please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Twists and turns through the plot., 18 July 2013
By 
E. Heckingbottom "elaineheck143" (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Theodore Boone: The Accused: Theodore Boone 3 (Kindle Edition)
The Theodore Boone series is written for older children (10 to 12 year olds) but, in my opinion, is just as enjoyable from an adult perspective.
Is Theo being set up? Why?
Mysterious events start to wind Theo up. First, he has a series of unexplained punctures; then he is suspected of taking part in criminal activity. What is going on? Who is causing these problems?
It is up to Theo and his uncle to find out in what is probably the most exciting and gripping book in this series so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Theodore Boon The accused, 9 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Theodore Boone: The Accused: Theodore Boone 3 (Kindle Edition)
A great read, no sex, no violence just purely great, enjoyable reading from beginning to end. John Grisham has triumphed again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars An OK read !, 3 Sept. 2012
A light, easy to read book that kills time at airports etc. I know that it is written for the teenage/child market but it still lacked something in the story line. Some of the prose lacked imagination as if they had been over simplified and I do wonder if a 'ghost writer' was involved in it's creation. Not the usual eliquence of Mr Grisham.
Having said that, next time I am looking for a read to pass the time away I will probably buy other books in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews