Customer Reviews


103 Reviews
5 star:
 (81)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly incredible book
Until I heard Tainted Love (the Marilyn Manson cover)I had never heard any of his music. After hearing it I developed a mild interest in his work and decided to buy his autobiography as a means to understand him more. I can say that this book is one of the most incredible works I have read in a very long time. It is funny, strange and in places, profoundly disturbing but...
Published on 1 Sep 2003

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Painfully honest autobiography from Marilyn Manson
I'm not really a "fan" of MM but I love autobiographies and thought it might be an interesting story and it certainly is. A self made larger than life character who was bored simply being Brian Warner, music journalist, and decided to become a musical monster of his own design. A lot of sex and drugs tales which have become cliched and actually boring and repetitive in...
Published on 10 July 2011 by Mme Emma Foster


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly incredible book, 1 Sep 2003
By A Customer
Until I heard Tainted Love (the Marilyn Manson cover)I had never heard any of his music. After hearing it I developed a mild interest in his work and decided to buy his autobiography as a means to understand him more. I can say that this book is one of the most incredible works I have read in a very long time. It is funny, strange and in places, profoundly disturbing but it has given me a deep respect for this man and an even deeper respect for his music.
People who denounce Marilyn Manson as evil or disgusting should really read this book. I used to think the exact same way but now I see the man and his music in a totally different light.
I don't read many autobiographies but Marilyn Manson's autobiography is a profound and compelling (if somewhat disturbing) testimony of a life that was very nearly wasted but turned around by a need to help people (strange as that may seem!).
Buy it, buy it now is all I can say. If you are sitting there thinking he is just some strange weirdo you need to read this book. It is an insight into the man behind the make-up and the shocking image and a defiant fight against stupidity in our world in many forms.
A truly magnificent piece of literature, worthy of any Manson fan or anybody just out for a good read. I literally couldn't put it down.
You hit 'Buy It' yet?
You should.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book ive ever read ....., 1 Sep 2001
By A Customer
Being a long time Manson fan i had to check out his book ... right from the first page you are hooked by disturbing stories filled with humour and wit ... The book covers Brian Warners childhood and documents his life as shock rocker Marilyn Manson with stories about the other band members [past & present] ,friends , enemies and everyone in between ...The book also includes colour pics and a 'scrap book/diary' at the end. This is the kind of book you read over and over and still find something new each time ...10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An essential read for all rock fans, 30 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This is a truly amazing biography and a valuable insight into the driving force behind the self-proclaimed Antichrist Superstar. It's written with a dark, acerbic wit and its often intimate detail never fails to fascinate. Manson's childhood days are retold with a dry, sometimes twisted sense of humour. His trouble-hit time at school and the frightening vision of his grandfather's activities in the cellar are chronicled with painstaking attention to detail and helped boost my understanding of the ideas behind the Antichrist album. At times it makes highly uncomfortable reading - there are some graphic descriptions of some of his sexual encounters and the sado-masochistic leanings of Manson and his chums is at times disturbing. The most worrying part of the book is that Manson would most probably be in jail if he hadn't been able to use music to unleash his frustrations against hypocritical Americans, their Bibles and their televisions. If rock and roll is about excess, then Marilyn has had more than his fair share. It is a miracle the man is still alive. He is a true superstar, whether we like it or not, and this book sparkles with his nihilistic energy. He has been through hell and back, and anyone interested in what makes him tick should buy this book straight away. You'll read it more than once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marilyn Manson really has been to Hell and back..., 3 Feb 2003
Wow, this is probably the best book I've ever read. Brian Warner's life is dissected in this detailed and somewhat obscene biography. This book smashes through the boundaries and really tell's it like it is. Revealing that beneath the make-up, the elaborate costumes and the rock 'n' roll lifestyle, there stands a man with real feelings and emotion. Neil Strauss invites you on an exciting journey to explore his inspirations for his music starting from his twisted childhood right up to date. This dark and disturbing book will explain and answer possibly anything you want to know about the self-proclaimed Antichrist Superstar. A masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Creepy but amazing., 8 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Long Hard Road Out of Hell (Kindle Edition)
I think its fair to say that this is the creepiest book I have ever read, but amazing at the same time. His past when he lived with his parents is very visual, and you find yourself thinking about the scenes in the book - especially the basement!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hell-O., 15 Nov 2012
By 
David Levy "DavidJamesLevy" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Long Hard Road Out of Hell (Kindle Edition)
As a suit-wearing, office-working, generally sensible chap, I'm probably the last person you'd expect to be a fan of Marilyn Manson, but since I stumbled upon `Mechanical Animals' dome ten years ago, I have taken on an long-standing admiration of Manson's art and message. Also didn't hurt that the album was absolutely terrific.

In the years since, I've remained a fan, eagerly awaiting his next work. Marilyn Manson remains an artist; inconsistent in output but consistent in input, always looking to shock, but occasionally falling into self-parody.

As you understand the music, you begin to understand the man, and with Manson being such an interesting character, this book seemed an ideal window into the genesis of what was to come. I was excited to read a book without any filters.

It is a shame, then, that it feels such a let-down. Manson is clearly a man with vision, clearly an artist, and clearly suffering from an incredible level of advanced intelligence and some sort of unmentioned trauma.

Conversely, however, (and perhaps it is unfair to judge a man now some decade after this book with written) I was not expecting him to be such a cliché. For every acute observation on the human condition and incisive social commentary, there is an equal amount of "I felt like Jesus", "we're going to be the biggest band in the world", "this is my art" or "I was meant to spread my message".

Occasionally, he's a video camera away from one of those X-Factor-style delusional video confessionals.

Aside from rather grossly describing his various acts of social excess, drug consumption and acts of exploitation of people disguised as `making a point', Manson, unfortunately, clearly possesses an ego every bit as large as the controversies which have followed him.

And so, the book was an overall disappointment. I'll continue to listen to the music but my respect for the man and the message has absolutely plummeted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Painfully honest autobiography from Marilyn Manson, 10 July 2011
By 
I'm not really a "fan" of MM but I love autobiographies and thought it might be an interesting story and it certainly is. A self made larger than life character who was bored simply being Brian Warner, music journalist, and decided to become a musical monster of his own design. A lot of sex and drugs tales which have become cliched and actually boring and repetitive in other books like Scar Tissue and The Heroin Diaries have a darker and sicker dimension in this book - I can't believe he tells you half the things he does. But that's what makes this book stand out. Sadly, it finishes in 1997 but that leads me to hope that there will be another one on the way soon and when it arrives, I'll be ordering it from Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Depraivity,abuse,drugs, they`ve all their left scars, 31 Aug 2002
Marilyn Manson proves to the world in this book that not only does he have feelings and emotions , but despite his demonic bogey man image, has a sensitive and articulate side wich jumps out of every page of this book. With the help of neil strauss, he documents his bitter sweet 28 years with frightening intensity,while giving the middle finger to the moral majority and the facist behavior of the christian establishment.
A large portion of this book is dedicated to the various tours that marilyn undertook while in his explosive friendship with trent reznor of the nine inch nails.The backstage antics on these tours turn out to be the filling in this goth rock sandwich as marilyn documents uses his own revisionism to recall things ranging from silly and crude, to the most diabolical and shocking acts of depraivity that the mind can conjure.
The imfamous "jock strap duct tape story" and the "dollar bill coke story" get exposure here, and prove to be as hilarious as they are perversley interesting. However as the book progresses the mood changes from comical and humurous to dark and abused, the books sinks into stories of drug overdoses,murder,rape and abortion (this was the inspiration for the skull crushing "Tourniquet") and eventually culminates with the release of " antichrist superstar ".
This book will leave you drained,shocked,disgusted but most of all informed.
"Some of them want to abuse you, some of them want to be abused"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the most interesting/enlightening book I have EVER read!!!, 1 Jun 1999
By A Customer
I read this book a couple of months ago and could not put it down! I am interested in Manson's music and wanted to know more about he's life and how the mind behind the music worked.
What I read made me understand the man more and respect him for what he has attempted to do! The press are very narrow minded on subjects such as "shock-rock" stars and they, along with Christian groups, parents and many others are very quick to jump to conclusions with regard to how these public images/icons have influence over the youth of today!!!
I have passed this book on to many of my friends that are not interested in Marilyn Manson...they have all returned the book, saying how good it was and how much they enjoyed reading it-even though it was something they wouldn't usually have any interest in reading!
I think anyone whom has an opinion of Manson whether it be positive or negative should take some time to read the book and get some understanding before they start judging!
On the whole the book was a bit of a roller-coaster ride...it was shocking, disturbing, funny, serious, exciting and enlightening all mixed together, I don't believe I will read a book to equal this in a long time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book equalled in brillance only by Manson's music, 18 Oct 2000
By A Customer
Wow. I started reading this book in the suitably dark and empty early hours of this morning, and haven't been able to put it down. Manson, with the benefit of a background in journalism, writes with a style which invites the reader on a stomach churning but compelling journey into an underworld of sex, drugs, and rock and roll. From his disturbing childhood recollections, through to his ascent to being the 'antichrist superstar' of his own creation, Manson's autobiography is a fascinating insight into a world of depravity and excess, which is preferable to watch from afar. Being a huge fan of Marilyn Manson primarily compelled me to read this book, but this is not a prerequesite to enjoy the excellent book. Highly reccommended, but a strong stomach is at times necessary!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa92769cc)

This product

The Long Hard Road Out of Hell
4.35
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews