Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant
I am a fan of the series but this is something special, an exceptionally well put together compilation of pure pleasure.
Published 22 months ago by Erto

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good Songs Treated Badly
I have a bunch of Late Night Tales CDs and while some of them are quite good in that they can contain some un-discovered gems and/or the tracks hang together quite nicely, this one is pretty awful and deserves a slating. To me the power of the DJ over the actual recording artist or band has become absurd and out of hand especially now that mainstream music is more and...
Published 11 months ago by C. N. Sandford


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 14 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Late Night Tales presents Music For Pleasure [selected and mixed by Groove Armadas Tom Findlay] (Audio CD)
I am a fan of the series but this is something special, an exceptionally well put together compilation of pure pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guilty Pleasure CD., 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Late Night Tales presents Music For Pleasure [selected and mixed by Groove Armadas Tom Findlay] (Audio CD)
As a child of the 70's I grew up listening to my Dads music and a lot of it is on here.

Really good songs - OK its not cool but who cares!!

Enjoy...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another late night classic, 15 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Late Night Tales presents Music For Pleasure [selected and mixed by Groove Armadas Tom Findlay] (Audio CD)
This series always produces quality albums and for me hardly ever disappoints.. Perfect for summer and whilst not being typical Groove Armada sounds, being a fan of theirs I wasn't disappointed at all. Superb stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best allbum I own, 18 Jun. 2013
By 
P. Hood (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Late Night Tales presents Music For Pleasure [selected and mixed by Groove Armadas Tom Findlay] (Audio CD)
Seriously - if you know and like music, you'll enjoy this. If you're just looking for superstylin x 18 may I recommend you towards the ministry of sound compilations...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Late Night Tales presents Music For Pleasure [selected and mixed by Groove Armadas Tom Findlay] (Audio CD)
This CD is a fantastic mix of mellow tunes which has rarely been off my car stereo. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good Songs Treated Badly, 2 July 2014
By 
C. N. Sandford "csandford2" (West Sussex UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Late Night Tales presents Music For Pleasure [selected and mixed by Groove Armadas Tom Findlay] (Audio CD)
I have a bunch of Late Night Tales CDs and while some of them are quite good in that they can contain some un-discovered gems and/or the tracks hang together quite nicely, this one is pretty awful and deserves a slating. To me the power of the DJ over the actual recording artist or band has become absurd and out of hand especially now that mainstream music is more and more being given the DJ treatment in playlist CDs such as these. Back in the days of early dance music you could forgive the meteoric rise of the "Superstar" DJ largely because the vast majority of early House and dance music was rubbish and therefore needed DJs to elevate the genre into something meaningful via the DJ Set. Now though, some DJs such as those on the Late Night Tales series append their names quite often to mainstream track lists that simply don't need DJ treatment and thus con the music buyer that we are getting a special insight into their personal tastes in music. Groove Armada, creatively speaking, are a mere shadow of 10cc and a number of the other artists on this CD. Creatively, they have nothing to add and this is clearly revealed by the fact that wonderful songs such as "I'm not in Love" are just crudely looped in one or two places to make it sound like Groove Armada have actually done something. There is also very little mixing going on because you can't mix em! They are individual songs written to be played in their entirety and here they are just lazily bumped into each other and often criminally shortened. Do yourself a favour, check the track list, download the individual songs and enjoy the true labour of the original artists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Late Night Tales, 24 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Late Night Tales presents Music For Pleasure [selected and mixed by Groove Armadas Tom Findlay] (Audio CD)
Late Night Tales a good mixture of enjoyable driving music, will play this album a lot. Melody A.M by Royksopp, this album would not play on any of my my equipment, am in the process of returning it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Easy to listen to but nothing special, 24 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Late Night Tales presents Music For Pleasure [selected and mixed by Groove Armadas Tom Findlay] (Audio CD)
Happy to have this as part of my Late Night Tales collection, but it didn't blow me away like some of the others have. The previous two Groove Armada Late Night Tales albums are excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars this is my all time favourite cd, rally off my car cd player, 7 April 2015
This review is from: Late Night Tales presents Music For Pleasure [selected and mixed by Groove Armadas Tom Findlay] (Audio CD)
Get a grip other reviewers, this is my all time favourite cd, rally off my car cd player. Every track just fabulous!! Highly recommend....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tom Findlay (from Groove Armada) 2012 music mix, 21 Feb. 2014
This review is from: Late Night Tales presents Music For Pleasure [selected and mixed by Groove Armadas Tom Findlay] (Audio CD)
Late Night Tales: Music For Pleasure by Groove Armada contains a wide mix of various soul pop songs from the 70’s. Robert Palmer, Michael McDonald, Toto, Bobby Caldwell, The Steve Miller Band, Bozz Scaggs, Hall & Oates, and other various musicians are on this music compilation. Tom Findlay also teams up with Tim Hutton for the music cover of “How Long” (under the music group name of “Sugar Daddy”). The theme for this compilation is listed to encourage the music listener to think of Laurel Canyon California.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews