Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant
I am a fan of the series but this is something special, an exceptionally well put together compilation of pure pleasure.
Published 15 months ago by Erto

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good Songs Treated Badly
I have a bunch of Late Night Tales CDs and while some of them are quite good in that they can contain some un-discovered gems and/or the tracks hang together quite nicely, this one is pretty awful and deserves a slating. To me the power of the DJ over the actual recording artist or band has become absurd and out of hand especially now that mainstream music is more and...
Published 3 months ago by C. N. Sandford


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good Songs Treated Badly, 2 July 2014
By 
C. N. Sandford "csandford2" (West Sussex UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Late Night Tales presents Music For Pleasure [selected and mixed by Groove Armadas Tom Findlay] (Audio CD)
I have a bunch of Late Night Tales CDs and while some of them are quite good in that they can contain some un-discovered gems and/or the tracks hang together quite nicely, this one is pretty awful and deserves a slating. To me the power of the DJ over the actual recording artist or band has become absurd and out of hand especially now that mainstream music is more and more being given the DJ treatment in playlist CDs such as these. Back in the days of early dance music you could forgive the meteoric rise of the "Superstar" DJ largely because the vast majority of early House and dance music was rubbish and therefore needed DJs to elevate the genre into something meaningful via the DJ Set. Now though, some DJs such as those on the Late Night Tales series append their names quite often to mainstream track lists that simply don't need DJ treatment and thus con the music buyer that we are getting a special insight into their personal tastes in music. Groove Armada, creatively speaking, are a mere shadow of 10cc and a number of the other artists on this CD. Creatively, they have nothing to add and this is clearly revealed by the fact that wonderful songs such as "I'm not in Love" are just crudely looped in one or two places to make it sound like Groove Armada have actually done something. There is also very little mixing going on because you can't mix em! They are individual songs written to be played in their entirety and here they are just lazily bumped into each other and often criminally shortened. Do yourself a favour, check the track list, download the individual songs and enjoy the true labour of the original artists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 14 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Late Night Tales presents Music For Pleasure [selected and mixed by Groove Armadas Tom Findlay] (Audio CD)
I am a fan of the series but this is something special, an exceptionally well put together compilation of pure pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guilty Pleasure CD., 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Late Night Tales presents Music For Pleasure [selected and mixed by Groove Armadas Tom Findlay] (Audio CD)
As a child of the 70's I grew up listening to my Dads music and a lot of it is on here.

Really good songs - OK its not cool but who cares!!

Enjoy...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another late night classic, 15 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Late Night Tales presents Music For Pleasure [selected and mixed by Groove Armadas Tom Findlay] (Audio CD)
This series always produces quality albums and for me hardly ever disappoints.. Perfect for summer and whilst not being typical Groove Armada sounds, being a fan of theirs I wasn't disappointed at all. Superb stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best allbum I own, 18 Jun 2013
By 
P. Hood (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Late Night Tales presents Music For Pleasure [selected and mixed by Groove Armadas Tom Findlay] (Audio CD)
Seriously - if you know and like music, you'll enjoy this. If you're just looking for superstylin x 18 may I recommend you towards the ministry of sound compilations...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Late Night Tales, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Late Night Tales presents Music For Pleasure [selected and mixed by Groove Armadas Tom Findlay] (Audio CD)
Late Night Tales a good mixture of enjoyable driving music, will play this album a lot. Melody A.M by Royksopp, this album would not play on any of my my equipment, am in the process of returning it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tom Findlay (from Groove Armada) 2012 music mix, 21 Feb 2014
This review is from: Late Night Tales presents Music For Pleasure [selected and mixed by Groove Armadas Tom Findlay] (Audio CD)
Late Night Tales: Music For Pleasure by Groove Armada contains a wide mix of various soul pop songs from the 70’s. Robert Palmer, Michael McDonald, Toto, Bobby Caldwell, The Steve Miller Band, Bozz Scaggs, Hall & Oates, and other various musicians are on this music compilation. Tom Findlay also teams up with Tim Hutton for the music cover of “How Long” (under the music group name of “Sugar Daddy”). The theme for this compilation is listed to encourage the music listener to think of Laurel Canyon California.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Real Artists or Not?, 13 Aug 2013
This review is from: Late Night Tales presents Music For Pleasure [selected and mixed by Groove Armadas Tom Findlay] (Audio CD)
Having played this i'm sure the tracks are not by the original artists but more akin to the TOTPs/Music for Pleasure LPs that were released in the early 70's on the back of original chart hits of the day. Am I correct. Can anyone say?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No Late Night Classic, 19 Jun 2012
By 
J. Chant (Bradford, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Late Night Tales presents Music For Pleasure [selected and mixed by Groove Armadas Tom Findlay] (Audio CD)
Loved the previous 2 Groove Armada Late Night Tales but this was a disappointment. Would be better entitiled 18 Best Ever Love Songs. Nothing like the previous 2 and definitely not a Classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Late Night Tales, 10 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Late Night Tales presents Music For Pleasure [selected and mixed by Groove Armadas Tom Findlay] (Audio CD)
I was disappointed with the CD because I thought it contained music by Groove Armada, who I love. However, the tracks were enjoyable enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews