Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More monet than sense
A collection of short essays on how to buy ?the best? or at least the most expensive. Written with Mayle's usual light touch and humour. Not as fulfilling a read as the two books about setting up home in Provence.
Published on 7 Nov. 2009 by Ken Tyke

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Peter Mayle's take the high life
Interesting travel through the world of luxury lifestyle products by the author of a Year in Provence. Fine holiday read.
Published 20 months ago by Jacko


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More monet than sense, 7 Nov. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acquired Tastes (Paperback)
A collection of short essays on how to buy ?the best? or at least the most expensive. Written with Mayle's usual light touch and humour. Not as fulfilling a read as the two books about setting up home in Provence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pure decadence and charm, 3 Feb. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Acquired Tastes (Paperback)
Mayle's book on the best that money can buy is like living the lives of the rich without paying the large sums of money. His wordpainting is so vivid, I imagine I'm sitting in a room furnished with astronomically priced antiques, sampling caviar with my 50 servants by my side. Perfectly charming and entertaining. I recommend this book highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyed this!!!!, 3 April 2012
By 
Lucy Wilson (Granada, Spain) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acquired Tastes (Paperback)
This book is excellent- beautifully written of course since it is Peter Mayle and so funny. He draws you in to this wonderful world of luxury and you really are hooked. I particulary liked the chapter on The Connaught Hotel- he says well-trained, well-paid staff who know your name and what you love really are a luxury- so true.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another winner, 19 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acquired Tastes (Kindle Edition)
A most interesting read from a guy who so excels at his craft. Mr Mayle is always entertaining and such good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Living it up, 1 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acquired Tastes (Kindle Edition)
How to succeed in the world of the rich, or perhaps in the world of those who wish to have only the best, even in they can only afford a little of it. He knows his subject, of course, and his writing is superb, sarcastic and very funny. I recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Peter Mayle's take the high life, 30 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acquired Tastes (Kindle Edition)
Interesting travel through the world of luxury lifestyle products by the author of a Year in Provence. Fine holiday read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not My kind of read., 22 July 2013
By 
Mrs. Linda Wormwell (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acquired Tastes (Kindle Edition)
I thought it was a fictional story and found to my disappointment that it was just about someone else's view point on certain aspects of daily life, not my cup of tea at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More Please Peter, 19 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acquired Tastes (Kindle Edition)
Peter Mayle has the knack of writing informative, easy to read and funny books. This is book is no exception.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as his other books, 21 Nov. 2013
By 
M. Steinmann "Girl" (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acquired Tastes (Paperback)
I would-t particularly recommend it as I feel it-s not up to the standard of his other books.
`lots of bits and pieces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Pretty disappointing I have read many of Mr Mayle's books ..., 2 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acquired Tastes (Kindle Edition)
Pretty disappointing I have read many of Mr Mayle's books and this is the only one that I didn't enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews