Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars British film making at it's best...
The film is outstanding. Charlie Creed-Miles plays an ex-con trying to establish a relationship with his two sons. Will Poulter is his eldest at sixteen who is reluctant to form any bond. He is trying to go straight and provide for his new family. Of course it doesn't go to plan. Some of the scenes are very funny especially the end fight scene were we find out why he is...
Published on 24 July 2012 by Kevin O'Brien

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars How is this British film-making at its best?
Eminently watchable but not the hidden gem I was expecting having read other reviews. For me, Poulter was good but just too baby-faced to be believable in the role. Perhaps more my problem than his. Felt to me like there were more laughs to be had and that the film lacked the extra level of charm that really draws you in. Serkiss and Leo Gregory's characters were...
Published 1 month ago by IFP


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars British film making at it's best..., 24 July 2012
This review is from: Wild Bill [DVD] (DVD)
The film is outstanding. Charlie Creed-Miles plays an ex-con trying to establish a relationship with his two sons. Will Poulter is his eldest at sixteen who is reluctant to form any bond. He is trying to go straight and provide for his new family. Of course it doesn't go to plan. Some of the scenes are very funny especially the end fight scene were we find out why he is called Wild Bill, this had me howling. There are solid performances by all the cast especially the two mentioned and also excellent cameo's from Andy Serkis and Mark Warren.

By far the best film of 2012.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great British cinema, 24 July 2012
By 
J. Morris "Josh" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wild Bill [DVD] (DVD)
Wild Bill is the directorial debut of Dexter Fletcher (Soap from Lock, Stock) featuring Charlie Creed-Miles (Harry Brown) as Bill. Reformed, he returns home to his flat in a council tower-block after 8 years inside; Bill finds his 15 year-old & 11 year-old sons Dean (Will Poulter - Son Of Rambow) and Jimmy (Sammy Williams) alone. Abandoned by their mother who has fled to Spain with her lover, the boys have been looking after themselves for a while. Bill, initially keen to leave them to it, is dragged into looking after them by social-services and the details of his parole. But when 'old-friends' rear their head and implicate Jimmy, will Bill have to revert back to his Wild self to extricate his newly-found family from this mess?

A quality film from top-to-bottom; this is a genuinely warming film about family & the role a father plays to his children. We see the metaphoric & literal change in Bill as he starts providing for & defending his family despite having never known it himself. All of the cast provide excellent performances, especially the kids who have such a large percentage of screen-time and all of the villains are played by recognisable characters from the UK cinema scene (notably Neil Maskell from Football Factory). What follows is a touching tale of the interaction between a dysfunctional family & gangsters, with both halves of the plot providing propulsion for the other as the narrative oscillates back & forth - brilliant direction. This is what makes Wild Bill such a pleasure to watch for the 1hr34m duration.

Whilst this story might not be anything ground-breaking; the telling of it is impeccable. When this is teamed up with fantastic performances from the entire cast (bit-parters included) and a brilliant soundtrack (the musical timing is brilliant - the scene where Bill enters the old pub and the soundtrack stops dead is perfect) you have yourself one solid film. Highly recommended for the best British council-estate drama since Harry Brown but with a lot more heart & soul than your average gritty film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars British Cinema at it's Best., 11 Mar 2013
By 
Rick "RickAnne :o)" (Lincolnshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Wild Bill [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Wild Bill is a fantastic film by first time director Dexter Fletcher. The story tells of 'Wild' Bill coming out of prison & attempting to connect with his two boys after 'a leave of absence'. The film runs like a classic Western, & it works very well. The cast is top rate & fans of the British film Industry will most definatley recognise all the familiar faces onboard. Wild Bill, just works, & there are times I felt I was watching a slice of kitchen sink drama as well. Fans of Britsh Cinema will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 30 Jan 2013
This review is from: Wild Bill [DVD] (DVD)
Dexter Fletcher may have slipped up on his directorial debut,he has set the bar so high for himself,he will struggle to attain such heights in the future!.He made the decision to step away from the stereotypical British gangster movie and instead gave us a film about people trying to do the right thing when everything is going wrong around them.
Charlie Creed-Miles gives the performance of a lifetime and Will Poulter is superb as the son trying to hold things together.There are some great cameos but these add to,not overshadow,the central performances.
The final scenes culminate into a brilliant finale,and Fletcher keeps the excitement and pace right until the end.
Quite simply it is British cinema at the top of it's game,a great film...see it as soon as you get the chance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fatherhood, 23 Aug 2012
This review is from: Wild Bill [DVD] (DVD)
Set in the white underclass in the UK, which lives on welfare and criminal endeavour,occupying council estates,and preying on its residents, this film tells the story of a father coming out of a long stint in prison to find his sons not only have grown up without him, but have had to fend for themselves as their mother is long gone with another boyfriend.The 2 boys resent him, and his presence as he contributes nothing and they have little enough themselves as they conceal their parentless status from the socal services in order to avoid being taken into care.
The father who has led an irresponsible life gradually realises that just being a biological father counts for nothing with the 2 boys.Prodded by social services who think the boys will be better off in care anyway, he starts to take on the responsibility of being a father. It is really excellent acting to see the inch by inch small improvements he tackles, and the impact of this on the boys,as they stumble towards some kind of coming together.However the background of criminality is constantly a threat and rears its ugly head continuously and disruptively.The father realises that he has to "save" his sons from a life such as he has lived until then.Uneducated and limited, he does what he does best even if it may be his undoing ultimately,and places himself between his boys and the criminals seeking to exploit them. This is a gem of a film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars EVERYONE IS A PHILOSOPHER, 29 May 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Wild Bill [DVD] (DVD)
Wild Bill (Charlie Creed-Miles) has spent 8 years in prison. He has returned home and doesn't want to go back. He has discovered his wife has run off to Spain and his 11 an 15 year old sons James (Sammy Williams) and Dean (Will Poulter) are fending for themselves and would prefer not having their estranged father in their life. Bill wants to run off to Scotland and get away from everything, but child services has a different idea.

The family is thrust together and Bill tries to keep things clean in his old crack dealing neighborhood which doesn't go too well.

Like most UK productions the drama sometimes crosses lines with a twisted dark comedy that looks like tragedy. Good acting. Andy Serkis of LOTR fame has a small role as the big boss.

PARENTAL GUIDE: F-bombs, near sex, no nudity (bra /panties Charlotte Spencer) adult themes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good British film, 21 Jan 2013
This review is from: Wild Bill [DVD] (DVD)
Not sure if this is Dexters first attempt at directing, but on the whole a very good film and story line. In films like this you can normally guess exactly what's going to happen next, but this has a few little twists. The acting is also good, Will Poulter plays his role very well.
Reccommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Definitely a worthwhile film to buy and watch, 29 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Bill [DVD] (DVD)
Others, in their reviews, have told the story line. So I don't need to repeat it.

I give this film 4 stars rather than 5 because I think that, in real life, the father would probably have been bumped off by the heartless gangsters. That apart, I could believe in all the characters and there were some genuinely moving moments in the film. It was very well written and fantastically well acted. Whilst watching the film, I was completely drawn into the terrible circumstances that these people live in. If I had grown up from childhood in that environment, I'm sure I could never have escaped. Maybe I wouldn't even have survived. The story and characters stayed with me long after I had finished watching the film.

If you like gripping films with believable-in characters and a believable storyline I would definitely recommend this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars class! absolute class!, 13 Aug 2012
This review is from: Wild Bill [DVD] (DVD)
the acting and storyline is first class.didn't know dexter fletcher was a director,only seen him act.the east london location and dialogue was down to earth.superb!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CRACKING FILM, 1 Aug 2012
This review is from: Wild Bill [DVD] (DVD)
I HAVE WATCHED THIS FILM TWICE, IT IS SO GOOD.
STORY-BRILLIANT
ACTING-BRILLIANT
CASTING-BRILLIANT
IF YOU LIKED FOOTBALL FACTORY, NIL BY MOUTH, LOVE HONOUR AND OBEY,ETC, WATCH THIS FILM.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wild Bill [Blu-ray]
Wild Bill [Blu-ray] by Dexter Fletcher (Blu-ray - 2012)
6.73
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews