Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good-sized rice cooker that looks attractive
If you've never thought about a rice cooker before, it's well-worth considering one. You're probably thinking "what's easier than cooking rice?" and you're not wrong - but actually as someone who's cooked his fair share of boiled-dry rice at one end of the scale, and over-watering it at the other, there is a wonderful convenience to just having a gadget that does the job...
Published 20 months ago by J. Baldwin

versus
31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A nice gentle stir-fryer, but not the most economical way to cook rice.
This `rice cooker' has a non-stick-lined inner aluminium pot sitting on a hotplate. In the centre of the hot plate is a sprung-loaded thermostat pad. The whole is enclosed in a similarly shaped painted aluminium bowl standing on four small rubber feet. The mains supply is connected via a standard 10Amp plug-in IEC lead.

There is an instruction book with a...
Published 23 months ago by R. F. Stevens


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A nice gentle stir-fryer, but not the most economical way to cook rice., 24 Oct 2012
By 
R. F. Stevens "richard23491" (Ickenham UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crock-Pot 1.8L Saute Rice Cooker Black (Kitchen & Home)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This `rice cooker' has a non-stick-lined inner aluminium pot sitting on a hotplate. In the centre of the hot plate is a sprung-loaded thermostat pad. The whole is enclosed in a similarly shaped painted aluminium bowl standing on four small rubber feet. The mains supply is connected via a standard 10Amp plug-in IEC lead.

There is an instruction book with a few recipe examples based on American `cup' measurements. Alas, it is very poorly written and the recipes need to be interpreted into plain English with knowledge of how to cook with the pot and a proper understanding of how it works - which is not well explained in the book.

So then: How Does It Work?

The cooker has three heat functions:
1. rice cooking, when the paddle switch has been depressed (yellow light)
2. keep the rice warm, all the time when neither sautéing nor `rice cooking' (green light)
3. sauté, when the push button is depressed (red light).
Since one of these modes is always active, it is necessary to switch off the mains at the wall or unplug the lead when the cooker is not in use.

The automatic end of `rice cooking' depends on the temperature of the bottom of the inner pot suddenly rising, typically as the last of the water is taken up by the rice, or if it boils dry - a useful safety feature. There is no timer for the `rice cooking' function; it just keeps on boiling at the full power until dry and is no longer being cooled by the boiling water.

The sauté function merely bypasses the thermostat, and applies the full power all the time until the sauté button is pressed again to release it. Beware, check the red indicator light beside the button; this is a simple push-on-push-off switch, and it remains in the last used position even when there is no mains, and the next time the cooker is used it might be already in the full-power unprotected sauté mode.

I measured the power levels on my sample, and they are:
Plugged in, 30 Watts,
Keep warm, 30 Watts,
Rice cooking, 595 Watts,
Sauté, 595 Watts.

I measured the power usage when cooking the same amount of rice (160gms of WR Basmati for two people - a `cup' and a quarter, plus two `cups' of water) in the cooker and also in a saucepan on my induction hob, reducing the heat to a gentle simmer as required. The hob was quicker to the boil than the rice cooker, twenty seconds at 1780W vs five minutes at 595W; and then the hob was also more economical on the cooking, average 128W vs steady 595W for twelve minutes each; thus the costs at 13p a unit work out at about 0.5p vs 2p.

In Use.

When cooking the rice, the full power boils the water faster than the vent in the glass lid can allow the steam to escape, so the rattling lid is telling us that the rice is being cooked, and when it stops there is no more steam, so the rice must be done. However, a lot of water also escapes around the edges and splatters across the worktop, so I park the lid at a slight angle to allow the steam to escape in a more civilised manner.

The inner pot gets boiling hot, as one might expect, and the exposed lip can scald fingers, so do not be tempted to try lifting it out. The metal rim of the lid is a loose fit to the glass, and more boiling hot water than one might expect is trapped in the grooved gap between them. The outer casing also gets hot, but not enough to damage skin, and the pair of handles enable it to be comfortably carried to the table to serve the rice.

I was disappointed by the rice cooking; it was no different in result to our usual way of cooking rice. And the instructions are very explicit in that it should not be used commercially; it is domestic only. I guess it only really comes in handy when you have lots of people round for dinner and the hob is full of everything else being cooked.

But as a very basic simple stir fry using the sauté function it works quite nicely, and the large volume encourages one-pot cooking for a quick dish. For example when I had the cold end of a very tasty roast leg of pork left over. I diced two onions, thin sliced four medium mushrooms, some garlic, softened all these in some olive oil in the pot. I cut the pork into bite-size bits and added them to the pot after the onions were beginning to brown. Then I stirred in some hot vegetable stock, and allowed it to mingle for a few minutes, meanwhile a half each of left-over sweet red and green peppers had been diced and softened in the microwave. These were added, and finally I stirred in enough rice for the two of us. Of course it needed stirring again a bit, and checking the water, but the rice thickened it nicely, and some seasoning and five spice at the end before serving produced a nice evening meal from left-overs in about half an hour. Using the hob would have taken a similar time, and only a little less power, but a saucepan doesn't look as good on the table.

Conclusion.

I would have liked it to control the power better, but I don't really see how it could do this automatically. The recipe book is poor. This was a Vine offering, but I don't think I would ever bother to buy one. The stir-fry ability rescues it a star.
Perhaps having two cooking heat levels could have been a useful option, because half the power would have been perfectly adequate for cooking the rice once up to boiling temperature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good-sized rice cooker that looks attractive, 28 Dec 2012
By 
J. Baldwin "Reader" (Dundee, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crock-Pot 1.8L Saute Rice Cooker Black (Kitchen & Home)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
If you've never thought about a rice cooker before, it's well-worth considering one. You're probably thinking "what's easier than cooking rice?" and you're not wrong - but actually as someone who's cooked his fair share of boiled-dry rice at one end of the scale, and over-watering it at the other, there is a wonderful convenience to just having a gadget that does the job for you.

(If it helps convince you, I know a lot of Chinese people in the UK and have visited China a couple of times - a rice cooker is an essential bit of kit, so learn from the masters...)

This cooker is big. If you're on your own or cooking for two, find a smaller cooker (if not on Amazon then at a Chinese supermarket) because you can't really use this for single or double portions.
You put the rice in, add water up to the line, turn it on and wait. After a while the cooker is finished and keeps your rice warm for you until you're ready. (If you're using it in stir fry, do it the day before and let it go cold).

You can use the cooker to make various rice dishes, adding ingredients to create a jumbalaya or congee. It's really handy for doing large portions of rice for the family or for guests. The only downside is the size so either make sure you've got the space for it, or can store it away. Its black finish makes it more attractive than some of the more clinical devices that are out there, which look like they belong in a lab.

So if you like rice, or want to eat more as part of your low-fat diet, this is a great gadget to have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gets the job done, could be better, 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crock-Pot 1.8L Saute Rice Cooker Black (Kitchen & Home)
I've had this cooker for a few weeks now and using it is very simple - just add the rice and water, flick the switch and it cooks until the auto keep warm timer kicks in. I've used is for white, brown and quinoa - the result is perfect every time.

The one issue I do have with the design is that the lid does not fit snugly over the rice as it steams, this leads to steam escaping over the edge which then condenses and drips onto the counter. I just put a tea towel over the gap if this happens which soaks everything up, not an ideal solution and a silly design flaw.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Crock Pot 1.8L, 9 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crock-Pot 1.8L Saute Rice Cooker Black (Kitchen & Home)
I love it but my hubby is not too convinced. Yes the saute function though handy is a bit slow but love the fact you can do other rice type dishes instead of plain white rice. The cup is only 160ml but it is more than enough for 2-3 people if you follow their ratio of rice:water.
Like the design, it actually sits quite nicely in the kitchen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Instructions need to be improved, 22 Oct 2012
By 
Darren Watkins (Newcastle upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crock-Pot 1.8L Saute Rice Cooker Black (Kitchen & Home)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I was really looking forward to using the rice cooker, especially after reading you can cook all sorts of different dishes in it, not just rice, but pasta and oat based items (I assumed porridge).

So onto the rice. I was expecting that you would dump rice in the bowl, add water, switch it on and it would tell you when it was ready. No. You do add rice and water, but fifteen minutes after you switch it on you have to stir the rice. It's not a major issue, but when it is sold as automatic you don't think you would have to do that.

Cooking the rice could be a guessing game too. The recipe book clearly states that for every one cup of rice (using the cup provided) add 1 - 1 cups of water, but for stickier rice add more water, for fluffier rice add less water and for brown rice add more water. What it doesn't say is roughly how much more water or how much less water. Yes, I do know that it's down to personal taste, but it's going to take a lot of experimenting to get the rice how you like it.

Onto the recipes in the booklet, well, they may as well have not bothered. There are eight recipes, most of them being rice based. One of them for rice pudding is a real mess on. I don't know who came up with it but there are much more simpler recipes out there.

But getting onto using the cooker. It is really easy to use, you add the rice, add the water, put it on, stir them wait for it to cook. Once the rice is cooked the keep warm facility kicks in. It will keep it warm until you unplug it, could be potential for burning here. The recipe book also tells you how you can reheat cold rice. All I will say is, if you do decide to reheat rice make sure it has really cooked through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best rice cooker in the world, 8 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crock-Pot 1.8L Saute Rice Cooker Black (Kitchen & Home)
This rice cooker makes very good rice
Crock pot is the best
This rice cooker makes rice in 15 min
Do buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars does what it says, 15 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crock-Pot 1.8L Saute Rice Cooker Black (Kitchen & Home)
good cooker and saute is also very helpful.
and if using little less rice (like 6 or 7 cup instead of 10 cup) it never spills out as some wrote.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars looks aren't everything, 7 Nov 2012
By 
Su (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Crock-Pot 1.8L Saute Rice Cooker Black (Kitchen & Home)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
It looks stunning and I was delighted when I first saw it, unfortunately it provides the old adage "looks aren't everything".

I tried several times to make some boiled rice and there were a number of issues.

- There is no automatic turn off. On my previous machine there is an automatic cut off, like a safety switch.

- The lid has a very loose fit, and under the rapid boil it has a tendency lift and rattle. Even though there is a vent the rapidity of the boil overwhelmed the outlet.

- There is no temperature control; it is on a full, flat-out, continuous rolling boil. This means that rather than simmering the rice/pasta it is boiled to paste (if you're not careful).

- There is a degree of rice water splatter due to the ill-fitting lid and the rapid boil. This needs to be wiped up before it dries as when it dries it becomes a problem.

- When the water boils down the rice can catch and burn.

The recipe section of the instruction book is very poor. There are recipes that end up almost completely inedible - I would advise against the rice pudding recipe. As I looked at each of the recipes I began to wonder if they had been tried and tested or were just somebody's best guess.

These machines are supposed to make life easier, they are supposed to allow you to sit down and have a minute to yourself rather than standing over a pan making sure that it doesn't boil dry. Except in this case you will need to stand over the cooker because of the rapid boil.

If you are using all the rings on your stove then this is worth using, but other than that I will be sticking to my faithful Breville 4-in-1 or a pan to make my rice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great product, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crock-Pot 1.8L Saute Rice Cooker Black (Kitchen & Home)
fast and great rice cooker. I recommend it to all friends and family. cooks the rice nice and fluffy and Basmati comes out perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy you won't regret it, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crock-Pot 1.8L Saute Rice Cooker Black (Kitchen & Home)
I read some of the reviews after I purchased so was a little worried, but I've just used and I have to say I'm very impressed perfect fluffy basmati rice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Crock-Pot 1.8L Saute Rice Cooker Black
35.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews