Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good-sized rice cooker that looks attractive
If you've never thought about a rice cooker before, it's well-worth considering one. You're probably thinking "what's easier than cooking rice?" and you're not wrong - but actually as someone who's cooked his fair share of boiled-dry rice at one end of the scale, and over-watering it at the other, there is a wonderful convenience to just having a gadget that does the job...
Published 24 months ago by J. Baldwin

versus
41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A nice gentle stir-fryer, but not the most economical way to cook rice.
This `rice cooker' has a non-stick-lined inner aluminium pot sitting on a hotplate. In the centre of the hot plate is a sprung-loaded thermostat pad. The whole is enclosed in a similarly shaped painted aluminium bowl standing on four small rubber feet. The mains supply is connected via a standard 10Amp plug-in IEC lead.

There is an instruction book with a...
Published on 24 Oct 2012 by R. F. Stevens


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A nice gentle stir-fryer, but not the most economical way to cook rice., 24 Oct 2012
By 
R. F. Stevens "richard23491" (Ickenham UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Crock-Pot 1.8L Saute Rice Cooker Black (Kitchen & Home)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This `rice cooker' has a non-stick-lined inner aluminium pot sitting on a hotplate. In the centre of the hot plate is a sprung-loaded thermostat pad. The whole is enclosed in a similarly shaped painted aluminium bowl standing on four small rubber feet. The mains supply is connected via a standard 10Amp plug-in IEC lead.

There is an instruction book with a few recipe examples based on American `cup' measurements. Alas, it is very poorly written and the recipes need to be interpreted into plain English with knowledge of how to cook with the pot and a proper understanding of how it works - which is not well explained in the book.

So then: How Does It Work?

The cooker has three heat functions:
1. rice cooking, when the paddle switch has been depressed (yellow light)
2. keep the rice warm, all the time when neither sautéing nor `rice cooking' (green light)
3. sauté, when the push button is depressed (red light).
Since one of these modes is always active, it is necessary to switch off the mains at the wall or unplug the lead when the cooker is not in use.

The automatic end of `rice cooking' depends on the temperature of the bottom of the inner pot suddenly rising, typically as the last of the water is taken up by the rice, or if it boils dry - a useful safety feature. There is no timer for the `rice cooking' function; it just keeps on boiling at the full power until dry and is no longer being cooled by the boiling water.

The sauté function merely bypasses the thermostat, and applies the full power all the time until the sauté button is pressed again to release it. Beware, check the red indicator light beside the button; this is a simple push-on-push-off switch, and it remains in the last used position even when there is no mains, and the next time the cooker is used it might be already in the full-power unprotected sauté mode.

I measured the power levels on my sample, and they are:
Plugged in, 30 Watts,
Keep warm, 30 Watts,
Rice cooking, 595 Watts,
Sauté, 595 Watts.

I measured the power usage when cooking the same amount of rice (160gms of WR Basmati for two people - a `cup' and a quarter, plus two `cups' of water) in the cooker and also in a saucepan on my induction hob, reducing the heat to a gentle simmer as required. The hob was quicker to the boil than the rice cooker, twenty seconds at 1780W vs five minutes at 595W; and then the hob was also more economical on the cooking, average 128W vs steady 595W for twelve minutes each; thus the costs at 13p a unit work out at about 0.5p vs 2p.

In Use.

When cooking the rice, the full power boils the water faster than the vent in the glass lid can allow the steam to escape, so the rattling lid is telling us that the rice is being cooked, and when it stops there is no more steam, so the rice must be done. However, a lot of water also escapes around the edges and splatters across the worktop, so I park the lid at a slight angle to allow the steam to escape in a more civilised manner.

The inner pot gets boiling hot, as one might expect, and the exposed lip can scald fingers, so do not be tempted to try lifting it out. The metal rim of the lid is a loose fit to the glass, and more boiling hot water than one might expect is trapped in the grooved gap between them. The outer casing also gets hot, but not enough to damage skin, and the pair of handles enable it to be comfortably carried to the table to serve the rice.

I was disappointed by the rice cooking; it was no different in result to our usual way of cooking rice. And the instructions are very explicit in that it should not be used commercially; it is domestic only. I guess it only really comes in handy when you have lots of people round for dinner and the hob is full of everything else being cooked.

But as a very basic simple stir fry using the sauté function it works quite nicely, and the large volume encourages one-pot cooking for a quick dish. For example when I had the cold end of a very tasty roast leg of pork left over. I diced two onions, thin sliced four medium mushrooms, some garlic, softened all these in some olive oil in the pot. I cut the pork into bite-size bits and added them to the pot after the onions were beginning to brown. Then I stirred in some hot vegetable stock, and allowed it to mingle for a few minutes, meanwhile a half each of left-over sweet red and green peppers had been diced and softened in the microwave. These were added, and finally I stirred in enough rice for the two of us. Of course it needed stirring again a bit, and checking the water, but the rice thickened it nicely, and some seasoning and five spice at the end before serving produced a nice evening meal from left-overs in about half an hour. Using the hob would have taken a similar time, and only a little less power, but a saucepan doesn't look as good on the table.

Conclusion.

I would have liked it to control the power better, but I don't really see how it could do this automatically. The recipe book is poor. This was a Vine offering, but I don't think I would ever bother to buy one. The stir-fry ability rescues it a star.
Perhaps having two cooking heat levels could have been a useful option, because half the power would have been perfectly adequate for cooking the rice once up to boiling temperature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good-sized rice cooker that looks attractive, 28 Dec 2012
By 
J. Baldwin "Reader" (Dundee, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crock-Pot 1.8L Saute Rice Cooker Black (Kitchen & Home)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
If you've never thought about a rice cooker before, it's well-worth considering one. You're probably thinking "what's easier than cooking rice?" and you're not wrong - but actually as someone who's cooked his fair share of boiled-dry rice at one end of the scale, and over-watering it at the other, there is a wonderful convenience to just having a gadget that does the job for you.

(If it helps convince you, I know a lot of Chinese people in the UK and have visited China a couple of times - a rice cooker is an essential bit of kit, so learn from the masters...)

This cooker is big. If you're on your own or cooking for two, find a smaller cooker (if not on Amazon then at a Chinese supermarket) because you can't really use this for single or double portions.
You put the rice in, add water up to the line, turn it on and wait. After a while the cooker is finished and keeps your rice warm for you until you're ready. (If you're using it in stir fry, do it the day before and let it go cold).

You can use the cooker to make various rice dishes, adding ingredients to create a jumbalaya or congee. It's really handy for doing large portions of rice for the family or for guests. The only downside is the size so either make sure you've got the space for it, or can store it away. Its black finish makes it more attractive than some of the more clinical devices that are out there, which look like they belong in a lab.

So if you like rice, or want to eat more as part of your low-fat diet, this is a great gadget to have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gets the job done, could be better, 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crock-Pot 1.8L Saute Rice Cooker Black (Kitchen & Home)
I've had this cooker for a few weeks now and using it is very simple - just add the rice and water, flick the switch and it cooks until the auto keep warm timer kicks in. I've used is for white, brown and quinoa - the result is perfect every time.

The one issue I do have with the design is that the lid does not fit snugly over the rice as it steams, this leads to steam escaping over the edge which then condenses and drips onto the counter. I just put a tea towel over the gap if this happens which soaks everything up, not an ideal solution and a silly design flaw.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Crock Pot 1.8L, 9 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crock-Pot 1.8L Saute Rice Cooker Black (Kitchen & Home)
I love it but my hubby is not too convinced. Yes the saute function though handy is a bit slow but love the fact you can do other rice type dishes instead of plain white rice. The cup is only 160ml but it is more than enough for 2-3 people if you follow their ratio of rice:water.
Like the design, it actually sits quite nicely in the kitchen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Instructions need to be improved, 22 Oct 2012
By 
Darren Watkins (Newcastle upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crock-Pot 1.8L Saute Rice Cooker Black (Kitchen & Home)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I was really looking forward to using the rice cooker, especially after reading you can cook all sorts of different dishes in it, not just rice, but pasta and oat based items (I assumed porridge).

So onto the rice. I was expecting that you would dump rice in the bowl, add water, switch it on and it would tell you when it was ready. No. You do add rice and water, but fifteen minutes after you switch it on you have to stir the rice. It's not a major issue, but when it is sold as automatic you don't think you would have to do that.

Cooking the rice could be a guessing game too. The recipe book clearly states that for every one cup of rice (using the cup provided) add 1 - 1 ½ cups of water, but for stickier rice add more water, for fluffier rice add less water and for brown rice add more water. What it doesn't say is roughly how much more water or how much less water. Yes, I do know that it's down to personal taste, but it's going to take a lot of experimenting to get the rice how you like it.

Onto the recipes in the booklet, well, they may as well have not bothered. There are eight recipes, most of them being rice based. One of them for rice pudding is a real mess on. I don't know who came up with it but there are much more simpler recipes out there.

But getting onto using the cooker. It is really easy to use, you add the rice, add the water, put it on, stir them wait for it to cook. Once the rice is cooked the keep warm facility kicks in. It will keep it warm until you unplug it, could be potential for burning here. The recipe book also tells you how you can reheat cold rice. All I will say is, if you do decide to reheat rice make sure it has really cooked through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars thank god amazon with its excellent service agreed for me to return the product, 28 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crock-Pot 1.8L Saute Rice Cooker Black (Kitchen & Home)
PLS DONT BUY THIS RICE COOKER..

on the first day of use,i just tried to cook 2 cups of rice.after 10 mins, water started splattering to such an extent that it started going into my plug points.it also made lots of unpleasant sounds.i read similar problems on many other amazon reviews but ignored it..i definitely made a mistake.thank god amazon with its excellent service agreed for me to return the product..believe me i have used at least 3 other rice cookers.none of them have this type of problem..this is hugely defective product..pls do not buy..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best rice cooker in the world, 8 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crock-Pot 1.8L Saute Rice Cooker Black (Kitchen & Home)
This rice cooker makes very good rice
Crock pot is the best
This rice cooker makes rice in 15 min
Do buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars does what it says, 15 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crock-Pot 1.8L Saute Rice Cooker Black (Kitchen & Home)
good cooker and saute is also very helpful.
and if using little less rice (like 6 or 7 cup instead of 10 cup) it never spills out as some wrote.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars which I loved but the non stick coating had started to come ..., 6 Nov 2014
This review is from: Crock-Pot 1.8L Saute Rice Cooker Black (Kitchen & Home)
Bought this to replace a cheap Ikea rice cooker I had had for years, which I loved but the non stick coating had started to come away.

I just can't seem to get the rice to cook right with this rice cooker. We eat quite a lot of rice, so I've tried a number of times, adjusting water levels etc. We use basmati rice most of the time.

The temperature just seems to be too fierce. Every time we lose a great chunk of rice which has stuck to the bottom of the rice cooker. I tried the sauté function with veg and curry paste and threw the rice and stock in on top - when it clicked to warm there was a crisp burnt layer on the bottom which means the pot is currently soaking in the sink.

The instructions are almost unintelligible. If anyone can suggest what I am doing wrong, it would be appreciated!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars It's useless. It doesn't cook evenly so we get hard ..., 18 Nov 2014
This review is from: Crock-Pot 1.8L Saute Rice Cooker Black (Kitchen & Home)
We bought this to replace our trusty 10+ year old tefal rice cooker. We use our rice cooker most days, or at least we did until we bought this one. It's useless. It doesn't cook evenly so we get hard grains on the top, and it has a design flaw such that the condensation that builds up runs down the inside of it, leaving the rice around the edge to because a mushy soup. Soggy rice is grim! The non-stick pan sticks too, so if you leave rice on the keep warm funciton, the bottom because brown and crisp, the sides are mush and the top's not cooked.

A couple of months in and we're about to bin it and look for a replacement. I expect we'll go for another tefal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Crock-Pot 1.8L Saute Rice Cooker Black
£27.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews