Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read
I really enjoyed this book it goes into great detail about the murderer, the victim and why if there is a reason why the crime is committed.
Published 16 months ago by Bernie

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars what a misleading title.
This book looked fantastic. They might be horrific murders but if you were expecting detailed info about the crimes, forget it. I was expecting the real horror but this book was mainly about the relatives and their speeches in the court after the trials. Yes, they were awful crimes but more information could be read about these cases in the newspapers than in this...
Published on 2 April 2012 by Ann M. Owen


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars what a misleading title., 2 April 2012
By 
Ann M. Owen "anne" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book looked fantastic. They might be horrific murders but if you were expecting detailed info about the crimes, forget it. I was expecting the real horror but this book was mainly about the relatives and their speeches in the court after the trials. Yes, they were awful crimes but more information could be read about these cases in the newspapers than in this book.I wish I had known this beforehand as I would not have bothered to buy the book. When you had read the statement of one grieving relative you basically had read them all. I do not wish to sound harsh but it was not what I was looking for. I have cried over some of these crimes when they happened but this is an awful intrusion into the families grief and this book leaves me cold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Okay..ish!, 9 Aug 2009
I don't really know what i was expecting, but after reading the first few chapters, this wasn't it. I'm into true crime and find things like that fascinating..but this book almost makes the crime into a story, by adding what type of person the victim / criminal is, also the families views and how the victims family reacted in the courtroom etc..

Maybe good for some, but not if you want to know what drives the criminal into doing this..because there isn't really any explanations..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More a book of family remembrance than a book for the criminologist., 14 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book is more of an epitaph for the victims from family and friends and goes into great lengths to detail Court statements from them. For me, it was more a book of remembrance than a book for the criminologist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 6 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Torn Apart - The Most Horrific True Murder Stories You'll Ever Read (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book it goes into great detail about the murderer, the victim and why if there is a reason why the crime is committed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Torn apart, 30 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Torn Apart - The Most Horrific True Murder Stories You'll Ever Read (Kindle Edition)
Interesting book, enjoyed the statements made by the relatives and great to be able to read a chapter and complete the story in a short time , because each story is gripping you don't want to put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Torn apart., 15 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Torn Apart - The Most Horrific True Murder Stories You'll Ever Read (Kindle Edition)
Tim miles gripped from beginning till the end of this. Such a great author. His attention for detail is dam right good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Torn apart, 14 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Torn Apart - The Most Horrific True Murder Stories You'll Ever Read (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed reading that book, The most interesting was following the victims families to the trials and finding out how this trials changed criminal law. I think it's worth reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow! What a fantastic read!, 4 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Torn Apart - The Most Horrific True Murder Stories You'll Ever Read (Kindle Edition)
This was an impulse buy and I'm so glad I bought it! I was hooked from the start, bite sized chapters about various true crimes, including Sally Ann Bowman, Levi Belfield and a few I was not aware of. The victims impact statements had me reaching for the tissues and all the victims families portrayed showed great courage and conviction some were tireless in their campaign for justice. A different slant on usual true crime tales, leaves you feeling the pain of their loss but happy they brought the perpetrators to justice. Makes me wish the government would bring back the death penalty. Well done Tim, a well crafted book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyed this book, 30 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Torn Apart - The Most Horrific True Murder Stories You'll Ever Read (Kindle Edition)
I did enjoy reading this as I liked the way the crime was told in a sensitive and journalistic manner. The story brought the victims families to the fore giving us an insight into the feelings and hardship caused to them by killers such as those listed in the book. I would definitely recommend this book if you are interested in true crime and its consequences for all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars poor, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very misleading title, not about the murderers but the families of the victims. Good to have a different perspective on murder but it was poorly written in parts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb156424c)

This product

Only search this product's reviews